We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Well Priced” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dotonbori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dotonbori Hotel
Ranked #15 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Convenient and Well Priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

It was our first ever trip to Japan, and having landed in Osaka, found this hotel a little tricky to get to. But once you're there, the hotel is in the heart of a lively strip. We had free PC hire and found the hotel comfortable. Service is polite and helpful and I thought for the price, it was fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carooolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    230
    56
    4
    1
See reviews for
111
190
54
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

i find this hotel amazingly innovative, plus value and services beyond expectations and most of all very reasobaly priced...

the perks:

strategically located in Osaka's liveliest location, Dotombori...
shopping and eating heavens

Namba station connects you well for shinkansen, airport and kintetsu/meitetsu lines for easy access

free international calls, WIFI at rooms, bicycles for city roaming, drinks and parties...

english speaking staff...

WOW factor plus, plus, plus
good ameneties

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilHTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shillong, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

The Dotonbori always had a lot of staff at the reception who were very helpful and courteous. The room was a bit small yes but I guess that is for most ciites in Japan. The free internet was super fast and it was great the room had all the facilities like tea/coffee maker, fridge, TV and toileteries. The location is great for shopping and eating out. The breakfast was average and there are lot more choices around if you don't want to eat breakfast in the hotel. We only had breakfast one day. It definitely offers value for money and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank habari12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed in Dotonbori for 3 nights at 11,000 yen/night (twin room with pillar). It was really worth the money, considering Japan's high cost of living. Dotonbori hotel is located right in the heart of Namba, with approx 3-min easy stroll to Namba station & approx 5 mins to the famous Glico guy at Dotonbori street. The room is commonly compact but very clean & comfortable. The mini-size bathroom surprisingly contains a bath tub for a nice hot soak after a long day. Hearty amentities are provided upon check in and free internet is available at lobby. Staff are friendly, helpful and English proficient. I highly recommend this hotel for a nice trip in Osaka.

Room Tip: the twin with pilar is a bit cheaper than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. the location is excellent. so close to the subway, and train stations. they also offered a special offer for the osaka aquarium which was handy. free wifi was available in our room. you can also "rent " a laptop for free if you let hem see you r passport at the front desk. the bathroom was tiny, but overall is manageable - my husband 6 foot 4 and we survived perfectly fine. i did not try any food at the hotel so cant comment on it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zpmBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

First of all, i wouldnt expect too much from a budget hotel (considering cheap since its in Japan), paid 22K Yen for 3 nights in total, theres a promo price if u book more than 3 consecutive nights i think.

It totally exceed my expectation.

The room, although small have everything essential and more.

1. Phone chargers - with multiple ports, able to charge diff models, including iPhone
2. LAN cable with high speed internet.
3. Basic bathroom amentities - toothbrush, shower caps, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, auto mated toilet bowl.
4. Bed is comfy! they say they use SERTA mattress, which my boyfriend loves. Comfy mattress & pillow.

And the hotel is so sweet to provide:

1. Free INTERNATIONAL CALL! totally helpful for budget travellers like me who need to report to mommy to make sure i am safe every single night.
2. Free flow green tea and coffee making machine at the lounge while u make ur call
3. Laundry area
4. A self made guide with manager recommended places around the area and even advise u of rainy day plans. awesome.

Hotel is 5 mins walk to Namba station and Dotonburi area where all the shops are! A good 15 - 20 mins walk will get you to Amerika-mura, American Town in Osaka.

Will definitely stay there again the next time!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eneres1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We picked to stay at the Dotonbori hotel because of its location and cheap rates. When we got there, we were surprised by how small the rooms are - but this is Japan in the center of Dotonbori so what else can you expect. The rooms were clean, my girlfriend got a welcome gift bag full of girly lotions etc, the location was excellent - we hardly took the train anywhere because most of the places we wanted to go were in walking distance.

Free internet in the rooms via cable, and free wifi in the lobby. Free tea and coffee, computers for guests to use, and there are phones which the guests can make free international calls in the lobby also. Was really useful to call family to say we arrived.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#28 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Namba Oriental Hotel
#30 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotonbori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotonbori Hotel

Property: Dotonbori Hotel
Address: 2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Osaka
#13 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#24 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dotonbori Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Dotonbori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dotonbori Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing