We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”
Review of Dotonbori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dotonbori Hotel
Ranked #11 of 303 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We arrived at the Dotonbori Hotel and were warmly welcomed, they even gave us a gift as they knew it was our wedding anniversary. The standard double room was quiet, clean and tidy. The room had aircon and as with most rooms in Japan it was a little on the small side compared to UK rooms, but we did not plan to sit in our room much so this was fine. The hotel was ideally located in Dotonbori just off the main shopping street in the middle of Osaka. It is situated 5-10 minutes walk from Namba and JR Namba train stations. Note, all the books plug the aquarium; we did it and agree it was excellent! There were lots of little streets with small cafés and restaurants in the area which reminded us a little of Amsterdam, probably the canals running around the city. Even though this is not a large hotel they really looked after us and there were lots of extra toiletries in the bathroom eg. brushes, toothbrushes, gels etc. There were ice and vending machines on most floors if you need anything extra. The hotel front is unique with big statues and so easy to find, the lobby had all kinds of extras. Sounds a bit quirky but it was nice to have, everything from massage chairs, free tea and coffee and a candy floss machine, a games console and best of all they gave a free 5 minute international call to each of us so we could inform family we had arrived OK. Breakfast was a mixture of Japanese and western food in a buffet style. It was adequate and there was probably something there for everyone.
If you aren’t after a large room to relax in but more a go out and see the town kind of place to stay this is ideal.

Room Tip: Japanese hotels are a little on the small size so choose a twin for the extra space if needd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nile_Geordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and comments about your experience in our hotel.
We are very pleased you had a comfortable stay in our Dotonbori Hotel.

We are looking forward to your next visit in the near future.
We are always trying to meet the needs and wishes of the guests, so please do not hesitate
to contact us. We are at your disposal.
Thank you,
Uro / Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    238
    56
    4
    1
See reviews for
115
197
55
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Dotonbori hotel is in the best location, an easy walk from Namba station and so close to the shopping and lights of Osaka. Its tucked down a side street so its quiet. The staff are extremely helpful and speak very good english. The room and bathroom was very small but we knew this in advance and it didn't bother us at all. I was happy to sacrifice room size for value and location. We unfortunately had to cut our holiday short and had to change our booking - this was not a problem for the staff. We're planning another trip to Japan and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your recent experience with us.
I am pleased that choosing the Dotonbori Hotel gave you a great location in between Namba and Shinsaibashi with plenty of restaurants and shops.
We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Reception
Orio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It was the overall experience of the hotel that made it an amazing one! From relaxing in the massage chair to the free somen they had on Tuesday afternoons and the friendly polite staff that go out of their way for you if you need anything!

We arrived before check in time on a very hot 35 degree celsius day and I was desperate for a shower. They made a room available for us earlier than check in time and I could have my refreshing shower!

We also made most of the tea/coffee machine that was available with hot/cold options, as well as the massage chair after a long full day of exploring Osaka.
Rooms had everything you need in terms of toiletries, very helpful! The size of the room is as expected in Japan so no complaints there.

When we left the hotel to the airport, I realised I accidentally left my wedding ring in the accessory box and panicked frantically. I called up the hotel and they found the ring and subsequently air mailed my ring back to our home in New Zealand very promptly! Thank you again so much!!

We will definitely stay again when we come back to Osaka!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, レセプション at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting us excellent review.

We appreciate your help that you sent us needed information for shipment.

All guest has same important things as like your ring.

Therefore,we really glad.

We really hope you to back to Dotonbori hotel in the future.

Reception:Sakamoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I am so happy we chose the Dotonbori Hotel. Having never been to Japan before, I was very nervous about the language barrier and being able to find my way around. But the Dotonbori Hotel was very easy to get to from the airport (only about 30 min on the express train, and a 5min walk from the Namba station), and was located steps away from the Dotonbori shopping/tourist area. There was a wide variety of restraunts and entertainment, many with English speaking staff and English menus.
The hotel offered everything you could need, including tourist info, free coffee/tea in lobby, free 5 min international phone call for each guest, free wifi in room, every amenity you could think of, wii competitions with prizes, and a very good warm breakfast buffet (which included traditional Japanese and western options). This hotel was also very kid-friendly, and very clean.
I will definitely be staying at the Dotonbori Hotel during any future visits to Osaka.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, front staff at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your staying our hotel, and gave us a kindly comments!

Location, Our Hotel facicility, free wifi, You name it!

Your comments gives us a chance to stage up more higher place

We do hope You have a chance to visit to japan, and Osaka, We are looking forward to

serving you !

Doutonboti-hotel front staff Ishii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel from July 25th through July 27th. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling just for a few days or a few weeks. The location is in the center of one of the busiest shopping and dining areas and very easy to get to from the airport. The amenities were amazing, from free bottled water every day, toothbrush, toothpaste, cotton swabs, hair brush, shaving cream, razor, Shiseido shampoo, conditioner and body wash to free bike rental, laptop rental, free 5min international phone calls, free massage chairs and the list goes on. They were face lotions, facial relaxation masks, cooling leg sheets, free slippers, bath robes, air purifier, humidifier and coffee. Not sure if I forgot something but the amenities this hotel provides far far outweigh the tiny rooms. And for people that complain about the rooms on here...this is to be expected in Japan and people need to do their research before going on any trip. I will definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrahgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at the Dotonobori Hotel ; it was such a pleasure to read.
We try hard to make our guest comfortable and happy, so comments like yours make all our efforts evern more worthwhile.
I truly hope we will have the pleasure fo seeing you back soon.

Thank you,

Reception
Orio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We chose this hotel after reading several positive reviews and were given a room on the 6th floor, room 630. In a nutshell, this hotel was excellent. The pros far outweigh the few cons and the service provided was impeccable on every level!

Pros:
1. Everything is really, really clean. You could practically eat off the floor!
2. Location, location, location! The hotel is 2 minutes walk from one of the biggest food districts, and 5 minutes from Namba station. There's a 24-hour Lawsons convenience store right across the street from the entrance and a 24-hour McDonalds around the corner.
3. Bed and pillows are firm and very comfortable. (Like how they give you 2 type of pillows.)
4. Shower has solid water pressure. Shiseido shampoo, conditioner and body wash add a nice touch and smell really good. (Pleasantly surprised at how many toiletries were provided - Toothbrushes, hairbrushes, shaving cream, razors, cotton buds... And these were replaced daily!)
5. Wi-fi is good and fast, and available even in the rooms. So many hotels in Japan don't offer wi-fi throughout the hotel, only in the lobby...
6. Thoughtful amenities made all the difference. From the bag full of cleanser and moisturiser satchets, face masks and hairband presented to the ladies during check-in... To the humidifier and air purifier in the room... To the bottles of water that get replenished daily...
7. The washing machine and dryer are pretty useful for people who prefer to travel clean and light. (We were there in June. The weather was pretty hot and we found ourselves changing clothes quite often... Which meant that we ran out of clean clothes by day 3.)
8. Light switches with a dimmer, right by the bed! This might seem like a small detail but it's a convenience so often overlooked. No need to get up and walk across the room to switch off the light before you fall asleep.

Cons:
1. The room is tiny. 13 square metres. Then again, most hotels in Japan are so this wasn't unexpected. We managed quite well, even with a huge suitcase, 2 laptop bags and an overnight carry all.
2. No power sockets by the bed, only by the desk, which is a little inconvenient. Thankfully, since the small room meant that our laptops could still reach us. Hehe...
3. No safe in the room. Not a big con, just something to note. We just locked our valuables in our suitcase whenever we headed out.
4. Hardly any natural light. The room has a small frosted window which opens out to an alley.
5. Limited international channels on TV. (Not that we spent much time watching TV...)

Other things to note: Lawsons across the street sells really yummy sandwiches and desserts, for as little as 100 to 300 yen - Perfect for late night snacks or breakfast.

We would like to extend a big, personal thank you to some of the staff at the front desk:
1. Hamada, one of the managers, was extremely helpful in assisting with a problem I had regarding some lost concert tickets. He spent almost 30 minutes on the phone, and even wrote me a note in Japanese explaining the situation, for me to present to the theatre staff. Talk about going above and beyond!
2. Lawson's sold tickets to Universal Studios via a ticketing machine. Unfortunately, everything was in Japanese and we couldn't figure out what to do. Lee, another one of the managers, was kind enough to come with us across the street to help us out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a long review.
You have pretty much described everything about our hotel.
Yes, we have pros and cons. However like you have mentioned, those few cons are outweighed by the pros. We get lots of positive reviews about our location and free services.
I was glad to help you out with the concert ticket and you were able to get in.
Although you had a difficult time with the language, you seem to have enjoyed your trip overall.
If you have a chance to come back to Osaka again, please stay at Dotonbori Hotel.

Sincerely,

Hamada
Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldives
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My boyfriend and I were surprised with their services at Dotonbori Hotel. I choose this hotel because it is very closed to Dotonbori street (very very close). It was the best choice not because of their location. They had free coffee, tea matchine, internet lounge, massage chair(this was great!), game-Wii, 5min free international call...they exchange money at reception without commission, same rate as bank. The room and bathroom were small but you know Japanese are also small, but friegde, water boiler, hair dryer, toothbrush, shaving kit and free water to drink....wow! with the price we paid, we got so many things. The receptionists seems to speak English, Chinese and Korean very well. It was so convenient for us to stay in Osaka, we extended the stay. If we go back to Osaka, we will definitely stay at Dontonbori Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kudarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロントデスク at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your excellent review.
We are really glad to meet you.
According to your sentence,you extended stay with us.
we appreciate your decision.
Dotonbori Hotel is encouraged by guest's review.
You will welcomed by us next visit,too.

Frontdesk:Sakamoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#9 of 303 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#27 of 303 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Namba Oriental Hotel
#30 of 303 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotonbori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotonbori Hotel

Property: Dotonbori Hotel
Address: 2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Osaka
#13 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dotonbori Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dotonbori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dotonbori Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing