We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Dotonbori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dotonbori Hotel
Ranked #8 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Macau
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The location is great, very convenience for shopping, food, MTR or shuttle bus to the airport. Service of the hotel is good too. They have staff that speaks English & Mandarin too. They offer free gifts for ladies which is a bit suprised and very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LL730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very pleased you had enjoyed the stay in our hotel and Osaka.
We are always trying to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable with our hearty services,
so that you can feel relaxed.

Thank you very much for having stayd in Dotonbori Hotel,
and looking forward to your next visit in the near future.
Sincerely,
Uro / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    242
    56
    4
    1
See reviews for
121
200
57
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I am very pleased to stay at this hotel, it's not fancy but is is pleasantly unique :)

1. The location. Can't beat the location. Very close to the exit 25 of Namba Midosuji Subway. Lawson right in front. Restaurants literally everywhere. The hotspots of Namba, Dotonbori and Shinsaibashi are all within walking distance.

2. Price. Considerably lesser than others in the area.

3. Those thoughtful little details.
They literally offers thoughtful extra services for free :) from the free phone calls at the lobby, free beer and japanese tea at the lobby, free ramen, free bike-rental and a lot more things offered.
The lobby is so lively (in a lovely way), especially at night. Guests sit there and enjoy themselves, from chatting, eating and drinking free food and drinks, making candy floss (yes), playing console games, and enjoying the massage chairs provided.
The staffs are all so so nice :) they willingly help you whether is for answering questions, giving directions, assisting in delivering luggages even making reservation for restaurants.

4. The only minor is the size of the room. It is very very small, especially the bathroom. But really you'd forget about it :)
The amenities they provide are also very good from complimentary water to toiletries to charger :)

I'd be glad to stay again when in Osaka :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachicato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews.
We are very pleased you enjoyed the stay in our hotel and Osaka.

As you commented, the rooms and its bathrooms are rather small and tight,
so instead, we are trying to offer good and hearty services at front desk and in the lobby.
We are always trying to make your stay more pleasant and relaxing.

So we hope you had spent comfortable in our hotel.
Thank you very much again for having stayed in our hotel,
and looking forward to seeing you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Uro / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great location - on the quiet end of the famous Night Food Street only minutes from Namba station
Great amenities - free wifi, beer, phone-call etc.
Great service - staff are friendly and well versed in English

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very pleased you had a good time in our hotel.
We hope you enjoyd our various hearty services.

Thank you very much for having stayed in our hotel,
and we are looking forward to your next visit to Osaka in the near future.
Sincerely,
Uro / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is like staying at your crazy Auntie's house - it's welcoming and comfortable with lots of distractions, like the many ornaments you might find in your Auntie's living room. We stayed in a room with a column, with a double and a single bed. The extra bed provided a bit of extra space for luggage and clothes storage if you're travelling as a couple. The bathroom was standard Japanese capsule style and perfectly clean.

Breakfast was a highlight, one morning I noticed some nice piano music playing in the background...and then realised it was live. A wonderful touch. There's an excellent spread incorporating western staples and many other things to try. There's also a self-serve coffee machine,with takeaway cups at the ready if you need just one more to get you out the door!

The location, as others have said, is key. It was super easy to find using the hotel's map and so close to the subway station we nearly walked right past the turnoff into the street. It's also within easy walking distance of Dotonbori eating street, the too cool for school Amerika-mura and the phenomenal shopping of Shinsaibashi. An excellent place to stay that encapsulates everything that's great about Osaka.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 36views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are always try to make the stay more comfortable and enjoyable for the guests,
we are very happy to hear you spent a good time in our hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel in the near future.
Thank you very much again for having stayed in Dotonbori Hotel.
SIncerely,
Uro / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Service is good. Staff are friendly. Free wifi, free ramen/beer & wine at 1030pm in the lobby. Free coffee& tea in the lobby. Free international phone call in the lobby(limit to 5min). 5 mins walking distance to Namba station. What more can u ask for.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gim1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you vey much for your comments.
We are very pleased you enjoyed the stay in our hotel.
We always try to make the stay more comfortable for the guests with hearty services.

Thank you very much again for choosing our Dotonbori Hotel,
and we are looking forward to your next visit in the near future.
Best Regards
Uro / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Cannot express how much we enjoyed our brief one night stay at the Dotonbori. We were greeted by friendly staff who gave us welcoming "ladies packs" of quality cosmetics and a helpful guide to the hotel and surrounding attractions and places of interest. Our room was furnished in modern style with little touches like a shoe shine station, air humidifier and quality Shiseido bathroom products. Also the comfiest pillows you are ever likely to get in a Japanese Hotel. Free wi-fi worked well. Our room didn't have a view, but that was no problem as we were only there to sleep! Within walking distance of the main shopping and restaurant areas including the incredible Dotonbori shopping street - you just have to see shops and neon and giant animated crabs to believe it! I really wish we had spent longer in Osaka and would definately recommend staying at the Dotonbori Hotel.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are good rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XAGTKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very happy to hear you had enjoyed the stay in Osaka and our hotel.

We are always try to make your stay more comfortable and relaxing.
We hope you enjoyed our services.

Thank you very much again for having stayed in our hotel,
and looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Best Regards
Uro / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were intended to stay in Dotonbori Hotel for 2 nights, 2 rooms, during our holiday in Osaka. Unfortunately, during check in time, we had been told by the receptionist that they have to transfer us to another hotel due to the rooms under maintenance. Under the care of the hotel manager, he has escorted us to the a luxury 5 star hotel which they are going to compensate us. Due to the high occupancy, we had been upgraded to Deluxe Suite(or Executive Club Suite), which may cost more than a thousand Singapore Dollar per night. We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere gratitude to Dotonbori Hotel, especially the Hotel Manager for the excellent services and fantastic arrangement. The attention given to us was just overwhelming. Your generosity would not be easily forgotten, and we would recommend your hotel to anyone who is looking for accommodation in Osaka. We will certainly be back for more of the same. Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaycorp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Sir .Jaycorp86,

Thank you very much for using your precious time and giving your comment.


Even though you choose our hotel from thousands and milions of hotels,we had to ask you to move to another hotel,this is really regretting for us.

We have to apologize this inconvenience that you had to move and to prepare the hotel is just our responsibitlity we have to take.



We will try not to let this happen again.

We hope you enjoyed the stay at that hotel and sightseeing in Osaka safely.

Thank you very much for your choosing our hotel and giving us comment again.

I hope we can serve you at our hotel some other day.

Dotombori hotel
Satoru Hirano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,351 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 307 in Osaka
757 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#30 of 307 in Osaka
627 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotonbori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotonbori Hotel

Property: Dotonbori Hotel
Address: 2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Osaka
#13 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#26 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dotonbori Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Rakuten, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dotonbori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dotonbori Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing