We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and considerate amenity”
Review of Dotonbori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dotonbori Hotel
Ranked #8 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Location and considerate amenity”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is unbeatable, everything are just next door. Within 5 mins, you can walk to the shopping areas, subway stations, train stations. It is so convenient. Also, the hotel amenity are very good, the body soap and shampoo are Shesido, free wifi, free, free drinks (coffee and tea) at the lobby. The staff were also very helpful. The only drawback is the room is pretty small but can't complaint as we were in Japan.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_HK_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are very pleased you had enjoyed our hotel and our services.
As you found out, our hotel is located in the very convenient and good place for the business person and tourists.
We are sorry,as you mentioned our rooms are actually quite small.However, we are trying to make your stay more comfortable and interesting with our hearty services.Anyway, we appreciate very much your understanding.

Thank you very much again for choosing Dotonbori Hotel.
Sincerely,
Kobayashi / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    242
    56
    4
    1
See reviews for
121
200
57
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel puts a lot of thought into pleasing the customers, starting with the wonderful lounge - free drinks, massage chairs, internet access and relevant and helpful brochures. When you check in, they will also provide a folder with tips for shopping and eating in the vicinity and how to get around Osaka. An example of how thoughtful they were was when they were about to clean the room (could hear housekeeping) but they called my room to check when it would be a better time.

Keep in mind that the single room has very little floor space, so pack light! The room was also well-equipped but furnishings are a little dated (parquet floor!) Also, don't expect a much of view; my window overlooks 2 love hotels (which are concentrated in the Dotonbori area).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying us.
Our original guide book has much information,we hope it was useful for your trip.

As you mentioned our rooms are actually quite small.However, we are trying to make your stay more comfortable and interesting with our hearty services.
Thank you very much again for choosing Dotonbori Hotel.
Sincerely,
Kobayashi / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed 4 nights here with my family and the overall experience was excellent. The hotel staffs are friendly and we love the free Ramen, free flow of red wines and beer provided at the lobby every night, 10pm. If you are adventurous, just rent a bicycle at no cost and start cycling around or even farther, you will see something different that most of the tourist don't see. The hotel room is small, bath room is small and basically there is no much space left after you put in your luggage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvinchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the reviews.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us.
The free lental bicycle is one of our most popular services.

As you mentioned,our rooms are quite small,it cannot be denied.However we are always trying to make guests feel comfortable and enjoyable with various services.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kobayashi / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Female guests will receive a complimentary bag of beauty essentials and guests will also receive a set of key chains featuring the 4 unique statues of their front facade. The lobby also has free beverages from vending machine, massage chair and computers with printers for use. There is also free IDD calls to any country for the first 5 mins.They even invited a sushi master to demonstrate for us in the hotel lobby and we had fresh sashimi complimentary from the hotel after that! For all the great service and perks we receive, we are more than willing to overlook the extremely small room size (difficult to even open your luggage) and tiny toilet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vetleow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the reviews.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our seivices.

We all the staffs are always trying to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.Our seasonal events are always renewed.And fortunately,the key chains of four statues are sold out.They were so popular.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kobayashi / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We've stayed in this hotel for 5 days, we truly appreciate the way they handle their guests. The front desk personnel are very accommodating and friendly. We loved their freebies such as candies, coffee, tea, water, cotton candy and free international calls. The 3 massage chairs in the lobby is very helpful in relaxing after a very tiring day, the hotel should add more.Every 10:30 pm they served very delicious hot noodles. The room is very clean with soft bed and pillows, but quite small which I think is a standard in a Japanese hotel. They provide guest with unlimited Shiseido shampoo, conditioner and body wash with a very good scent. Ask the reception area for free postcard with your picture on it or their ready made postcard. Every Wednesday at 10:00 am, they offer free used of Kimono and have your photo taken by them for free. It's very near to lots of restaurants and shopping area. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for the reviews.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our seivices.

We all the staffs are always trying to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel.
and looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kobayashi / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very old with noisy air con and very small bathroom. Although the service and location are good, I am still quite disappointed at the condition of the hotel. I stayed one night at the other hotel: daiwa roynet osaka, and frankly I was much more satisfied than Daiwan than Dontonburi.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren_yuyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing Dotonbori Hotel for this visit to Osaka this time.
And we appreciate very much for your comments.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the hotel and disappointed.
As you pointed out, it cannot be denied that the hotel is old and rooms are rather small.
However, we are always trying to make the guests feel comfortable and enjoyable with various services.
And the hotel is now carring out renovation works of the rooms little by little, although the size of the rooms cannot be changed.......

Anyway, thank you very much for your opinion, valuable feedback.
Sincerely,
Uro / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed 6 nights at the hotel.

We enjoyed the hotel quite much mainly because the location is great as the hotel is very close to Namba station, Dotonbori and Shinsaibashi.

However, the toilet is quite small.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCTW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
道頓堀ホテル, フロント at Dotonbori Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We hope you had enjoyed the stay in our hotel and in Osaka.

We will continue to strive to satisfy the customersin the future.
Thank you very much again for choosing Dotonbori Hotel.
Sincerely,
Uro / Dotonbori Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,351 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 307 in Osaka
757 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#30 of 307 in Osaka
627 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dotonbori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dotonbori Hotel

Property: Dotonbori Hotel
Address: 2-3-25 Dotombori, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0071, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Osaka
#13 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#26 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dotonbori Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dotonbori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dotonbori Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing