We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ark Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi
Ranked #151 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very handy to all amenities. Coffee shop is good. Restaurants all around the hotel so no need for one within. Very clean. We had a twin room which was very comfortable however the bathroom was very small, although that is the theme through Japan. Staff speak passable English and were so very helpful. Made you feel welcome! Directly above Nagahoribaishi Station. 7/11 across the street. Easy to walk to Shinsaibaishi and Crysta shopping areas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed there for three day in Osaka. this is only 10 minutes walk to the Dotombori, the shopping district. the hotel is very clean. the domestic change my bath robe everyday. as usual, hotels room size in Japan is small but essential. I booked with hotel.com via tripadvisor which include breakfast! each room with an electric heated toilet.
staff speak well in England and has helped us to book dinner table and provided us directions to sightseeing.

There are a few restaurant outside the back door of the hotel. the food is excellent and value for money. you could have rice refill for free.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is excellent for touring Osaka. Its only a few stops away by subway to most attractions around town and it sits on the line towards Kyoto in case that is also in your itinerary. The rooms are small but average for Japan. The bathrooms are the standard business as well. We were able to get a great deal ($50) for the room which I think is a pretty good deal considering what you really need.

There are also a lot of bars/resraurants around the area that closes late so theres always something to do.

The only complaint I would have is that they allow people to smoke in the lobby but it didnt really bother me that much.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank touristwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Ark Hotel is really accessible. Nagahoribashi Station is right beside the hotel. The hotel's location is superb as it is walking distance from Shinsaibasi, Osaka's main shopping district. Upon arrival, check-in was swift and we soon settled in our rooms. The rooms' size was reasonable. The toilet, like other Japanese hotels, was unsurprisingly small. For the price I paid at just below S$400 for 4 nights for a twin room, I can't really complain. One thing that I didn't really like were the beds. They were too hard for my liking. But because we are travelling all day and tired at the end, getting deep and good sleep isn't an issue. There's a very nice Japanese restaurant just beside Yoshinoya. You will see it if you use the main entrance of the hotel. For just ¥370, you get a Saba (Mackerel) fish set, rice, miso soup, tofu only for breakfast. It was really worth the money so we had it for breakfast on all occasions. Good choice if you are tight on budget! The staff was also helpful when we wanted to get a cab at 4am in the morning to get to the Osaka Central Wholesale Fish Market to witness the live auctions. The staff assisted us by writing the name of the place so that we could pass it to the taxi driver, saving us the trouble to explain where we wanted to go to the taxi driver. Even though the beds were not fantastic, but our stay at Ark Hotel Shinsaibashi was definitely fulfilling!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ckzx93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We love Ark Hotel, The hotel just a step away from Nagahoribashi station exit 4 (go out use the stairs and the hotel next to the station at the left). The hotel also exactly at front of Yosinoya restaurant and just 2 minute walk to lawson minimarket. We love the room, because with the affordable price we get a double/twin room full with ammenities including the towel,and small electric kettle, If you want to go Shinsaibashi shopping street, namba and dotonburi, just walk a blok away from the hotel. Fantastic

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhe_mulyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, never expect it to be too good, but it turns out of our expectation. With the cheap rate, the room is spacious enough to accommodate 3 of us. Very near to Nagahoribashi station and its walking distance to Dotonbori shopping area. Buffet breakfast is reasonable at 1000 yen per person with variety of food. Staff is friendly and speak good english. Only complaint is the bed its too hard...not springy at all.

Room Tip: Twin room is spacious and more comfortable than double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SweetMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed for 4 nights here and wasnt expecting too much. Hotel is very well located, especially if u have the JR pass, you can get from kansai int. To Shinsaibashi stn. Otherwise the subway is almost next to the hotel and will cost around 230 yen for a trip locally. The major shopping, eating and entertainment areas are close by... but prepare yourself for plenty of walking as there are so many brilliant side streets. I found it safe as a solo traveler, even at odd hours due to many people still out and about.

The hotel cafe offers smoking or non smoking sections which makes no difference. Opposite the main entrance is are 2 japanese restaurants really well priced.

Reception spoke enough english to get by and were always very polite as you would expect from japanese service. I asked for an int. Adaptor and although the male receptionist said they didnt have one, he asked me to wait and within minutes he returned with one.

Breakfast is typical japanese style.
Internet was fast when the signal was strong, however it drops out frequently. May be due to high traffic and low bandwidth.

4 stars for exceeding my expectations and finding me an adaptor.

Will stay again when im in osaka next year.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank SoloManAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Nest Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hearton Hotel Shinsaibashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Nishitetsu Inn Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Chisun Inn Osaka Hommachi
Chisun Inn Osaka Hommachi
#134 of 333 in Osaka
216 reviews
Hearton Hotel Minamisenba
#138 of 333 in Osaka
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ark Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi

Address: 1-19-18 Shimanouchi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0082, Osaka Prefecture (Formerly アークホテル大阪)
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: £48 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi 3*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ark Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing