We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaneyoshi Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaneyoshi Ryokan
Ranked #80 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

A great place to stay, great value for money. The staff were so friendly and helpful (even looking up our onward train times and printing them out for us). The room was excellent, spacious, clean and comfortable. The public bath was lovely too - superbly clean and a good size, with everything provided (such as shampoo, towels and even razors). There was an internet terminal by recpetion, and wi-fi in the reception. The location is excellent, in a lively area with lots of nice bars and restaurants. We didn't find the noise at night a bother, but we had a room at the back facing the river.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorwinged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    52
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
55
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The communal hot bath is great as is the traditional room. The staff were helpful the room was clean and although the lobby is small there is free wifi but smoking is allowed there. The property runs between a busy street in a nightclub and bar area and backs onto a canal. Get a room that faces the rear and you will be fine. The street was noisy till very late in the morning with revellers. There are plenty of shops, department stores and markets and places to eat close by. The metro stations are a five minute walk. On checkout we were given some trinkets by the manager which was a nice touch. The room was great for my 2 teenage boys and myself. I did sleep better with 2 mattresses the second night. The bathroom was ample for our needs. Electric toilets are great in Japan. there are plenty of nice hotels in the area but the traditional bedding makes a nice change

Room Tip: Rear or canal facing rooms will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Staff did go out of their way to provide service. Picked up forgotten purse with passports and delivered it to the taxi door seconds before departure to airport. Hotel is located in lively Namba neighbourhood. Room included big windows that could actually open wide, fridge and plenty of cokets for electrical appliances.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed at Kaneyoshi Ryokan with my wife and her aunt in February 2012. We had a lovely stay and were very impressed with the friendly service and the lovely breakfast.

The Ryokan is in a fantastic location for sightseeing and for access to the train stations.

The gentleman at reception was extremely helpful with directions, train times and general recommendations and was genuinely interested in discussing our planned trip around Japan.

The ryokan was excellent value and very comfortable for japanese standards. Next time I am in Osaka I will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTrip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed 1 night in this Ryokan after reading the reviews here. I would have to say I disagree with the views expressed here. It's an old, tired Ryokan and I had a most uncomfortable stay. The only good thing I can say is its good location and proximity to Dotombori. The price is very expensive, food is average and the Japanese bath is old and not well maintained. Fortunately we only stayed for 1 night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagicBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Barker, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

wish I could have stayed longer. Great location in the heart of Dotombori and 2 mins walk from Nipponbashi Tube station. the rooms were big, traditional and clean. The staff was so helpful, going above and beyond what was expected. The evening guy at the desk helped us plan our journey to the airport the following day and we didn't even ask him. Great value for money, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurence_baillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I chose this ryokan for a few reasons...including ease of access and proximity to Osaka sites. I really wanted a traditional place to stay and he really wanted a Western bathroom attached to the room. This ryokan offered both and we absolutely loved it!

February is pretty chilly in Osaka but much more mild than the New England weather we're used to, and surprisingly it snowed about 3 out of the 6 days we were there (very unusual!). The in-room units may be older, but they work like a charm and our room was toasty and comfortable in a matter of minutes. The staff was wonderful and the front desk clerk gave us cute erasers when we checked out.

This hotel is right in the heart of Osaka and close to a Subway station, and is easily accessible from the airport. We spent 2 nights in Osaka before moving to Kyoto for the next 4 nights, and we knew that after getting off of a plain we would really want some comfort and relaxation. We were so glad we chose this place and were sad to leave, but we'll definitely visit again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Ibis Styles Osaka
Ibis Styles Osaka
#56 of 298 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Midosuji Hotel
Midosuji Hotel
#92 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 298 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Yamatoya Honten
Yamatoya Honten
#181 of 298 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaneyoshi Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaneyoshi Ryokan

Property: Kaneyoshi Ryokan
Address: 3-12 Soemoncho Chuoku, Osaka 542-0084, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaneyoshi Ryokan 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaneyoshi Ryokan is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Osaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaneyoshi Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaneyoshi Ryokan Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing