We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top hotel for your Shinkansen needs !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shin Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Shin Osaka
Ranked #138 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Top hotel for your Shinkansen needs !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We liked this hotel a lot as it is very convenient for Shinkansen travel. It is next to the Shin Osaka station, in 10-15 mins you can be inside a Shinkansen ready to travel around Japan. If you like to travel around Osaka you can also use the Shin Osaka station (metro line).

We also liked the included breakfast, they have a comprehensive Japanese selection which is very good and they have basic western selection there too !

The rooms are quite small - however this is Japan. The largest bed they have is like a double.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FL360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    55
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
31
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Noosaville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

If you have a JR pass and are planning to travel using Osaka as a base, this hotel is a great choice. It is literally over the road from the huge Shin Osaka station. As such, it is also close to all the shops and restaurants within the complex, and a subway ride to Osaka central. We had a late airport arrival and it was great to be able to get off the train and find it so easily. Beds were comfortable, and rooms were quiet despite the proximity to the station. If you are a non-smoker, make sure to request a non-smoking room. We forgot on the first night and nearly died (there were no other rooms available). But they changed our room without fuss the next day, so I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoosaCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sriracha, Chon Buri, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

The location for train trip was great either Shinkanzen or normal local train. We stayed in 3-bed economy for 5 nights. Room is okay as usual JP standard but got some small difficulties about Japanese on air-con remote control.
We made a reservation via japanhotel.net and got speedy response from JP staff. The rate was included JP business style breakfast.
Close to the hotel at train station side, you'll find a good 24-hrs food shop of beef rice.

Room Tip: You may find the room type in many hotel booking website from agoda > many Japanese websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPAsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Located just steps way from JR Shin Osaka station. This is my second times here and absolutely will be my third!! I found that the room were just renovated, this made them much better than my last time here. Room are clean and have nice bed. Hotel staff still friendly and helpful. There is a 24 hours restaurants open just opposite the station exit near the way to walk to hotel, very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kwanvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

my kids and i stayed this hotel when we came to Osaka.
The room is clean and so confortable.
really close to go to ShinOsaka sta,
We definitery will stay this hotel again!! we love it!

be careful parking lot will close 2300.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiemii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I picked this hotel for it's location as I needed to catch a 6am shinkansen to Tokyo. It's very conveniently located just footsteps away from JR Shin Osaka's east exit. The single room was spacious, and the super single bed was very comfortable.

There are 2 convenience stores along the street and downtown Osaka is just a few stops away by metro/JR train, so this is a pretty good location

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloodbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
258 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed as a family of 4 for 2 nights at the end of 2 weeks in Japan. We had booked a double and twin before we left Australia, and confirmed our booking when in Japan. We had been clear that we were a family of 2 parents and two primary school age kids, and wanted adjoining rooms. On arrival we were advised our rooms were ready - but were on different floors! Not happy at all, we asked if there were any options that would see us on the same floor. Yes there were 2 twins available but we would need to fork out another 4,000 yen. Well we were far from pleased but agreed to these rooms. On the upside, the rooms are large enough by Japanese standards, and are clean. The staff are responsive. The beds are comfortable. On the downside, the bathroom is a drop-in donga style effort, and reminded me of some very basic and utilitarian setups I had experienced in the army a long time ago! This hotel does have an excellent location if you choose to stay in Shin Osaka, but for us it ended up being our most expensive and poorest bang for buck accomodation for the whole of our trip. Caveat emptor!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickyKnees63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Osaka hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shin Osaka / North Area
Shin-Osaka Station Hotel
Shin Osaka / North Area
Via Inn Shin-Osaka
Via Inn Shin-Osaka
#78 of 298 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Shin Osaka / North Area
Shin-Osaka Station Hotel Annex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shin Osaka / North Area
New Osaka Hotel
New Osaka Hotel
#203 of 298 in Osaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Shin Osaka / North Area
Step Inn Shin-Osaka Higashiguchi
Shin Osaka / North Area
Shin Osaka Washington Hotel Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shin Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shin Osaka

Property: Hotel Shin Osaka
Address: 1-20-33 Higashi Nakajima Higashi Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 533-0033, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shin Osaka / North Area
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shin Osaka 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Rakuten, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Shin Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing