We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location with a decent price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shin Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shin Osaka
Ranked #137 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
San Francisco
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good location with a decent price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

We chose this hotel due to it's proximity to the Shin Osaka JR shinkansen station. Also because availability was very limited during our visit due to many festivals. The location was great for us, as we were mainly visiting Kyoto, which was only 15 minutes away by train.
The hotel is a little on the tacky side, but o.k. for the price. It is clean, has basic amenities, and the staff is friendly. Finding the entrance to the hotel was a challenge, as it is a very small entrance hidden between the stores. Once you go in, you walk into this long hallway to the main hotel lobby.
If you're looking for a budget hotel with a good location, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    54
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
31
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

I chose this hotel because of its location and because nearly all other hotels were already booked.

The location is extremely convenient if you arrive via shinkansen. The hotel was right across the street from the east exit (don't be sketched out by the appearance, it's nicer inside), which now has a functioning elevator. After ditching your bags, it's easy to catch either the JR line into Osaka or the Midosuji line.

The room and hallways smelled strongly of slightly-used cleaner, which I suppose is better than smelling like urine like someone else mentioned, but I never got used to it. My bathroom was pretty dingy, and the shower curtain had lots of mold at the bottom. Everything else seemed clean and in good shape, if time worn.

The one thing that made this hotel stand out was the massage chair. When I first went up to my room, it seemed kind of odd and out of place - especially since there wasn't a lot of free room to start. After tromping all around Osaka and dragging my sore and tired feet back to the hotel, that chair was a *blessing*.

Note - I had a "Good-night Single", which I think was a few extra dollars than a normal room.

My advice is to shop around and see if you can find a place that's a little newer and a little cleaner, but if this is all that's available, it's not a bad choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soah_kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Me and my partner stayed for three nights in the Shin-Osaka Hotel, the room was roomy with two big sized twin beds , no wardrobe for hanging clother but coat hangers and hooks on the wall. . It is in a very good location just being opposite the Shinkenshen JR station(the reason we booked here) Not too many staff spoke English, but we got by . While the room and the bathroom looked clean the bathroom had a strong smell of urine. Possibly because the shower area was actually outside the bath, After running shower for sometime we got rid of most of the smell, but think a build up over time has made it difficult to completely remove . as we were out most of the day and nights we were there we did not complaint to the management , on reflection we should have.the onlyhotel we stayed at in Japan that offered us a free breakfast. . Would possibly stay here again if only for the location and the ease to catch Shinkoshen . Recommend with reservations Les Breen

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les Breen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

I was looking for a cheap, safe hotel near Shin-Osaka train station and this fit the bill. As noted by other reviewers you need to take the East exit from the train station - in May '09 this was undergoing renovation, and there are a lot of steps to take with a suitcase. To get back in, I went under the railway tracks (bridge) and there was temporary wheelchair access up a long ramp. The entrance near the railway is down a long corridor which looks a little odd, but the hotel is fine. The room was basic but fine. Bigger than I expected (especially for a single), with space for a suitcase. No wardrobe however - just some hangers on the wall. A desk was provided, with free internet access, and a kettle-like heater for tea. Air-conditioning, and a fridge. The staff were friendly with enough English to communicate, and were disappointed that I didn't have time for the included breakfast the following day. It was a brief visit and I didn't walk around much, but being close to the station is great. I'd have no hesitation using this as a base.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2007

Located close to the east exit of the hotel, but beware there are two east exits- take the larger one and it is literally across the road.
Basically it is just your average business hotel, with bathroom, clean bed, desk and a tiny amount of space left over.
This hotel is probably more dated than other hotels we stayed in, and the smoke smell was worse, but other than that, it is a convenient place to crash after a flight into Osaka.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank sashmanash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2007

We stayed in this hotel on our first night in Japan, after arriving on a late evening flight into Kansai airport. The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from the Shin-Osaka JR train station, which is why we chose it. The location was extremely convenient for us – we were less than an hour train ride from Kansai airport, and then the next day we jumped straight on the Shinkansen to Tokyo, the first sightseeing stop on our trip. This hotel was also much cheaper than the hotels located close by to Kansai airport, and being able to book online is excellent.

The hotel was clean and inviting and the staff very friendly, and able to communicate in English, making it a great place for foreigners
to stay. The hotel restaurant is able to provide meals, although we didn’t have a chance to eat there. The room was excellent value for money – with a small ensuite bathroom and TV, desk, alarm clock etc. We opted for the ‘couple plan’, which gives you a bed slightly smaller
than the standard double bed – the dimensions are clearly stated on the website. This saved us about 4000yen and was plenty big enough for 2 average-sized Australian adults. While the décor in the rooms is not brand new, and the rooms are not particularly large, everything
is perfectly acceptable given the price and we had a very comfortable and convenient stay at Hotel Shin-Osaka while in Japan. We would stay there again on future trips to Japan.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank KellyK79_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2006

We have returned from our 1 week trip to Osaka/Himeji/Nara/Kobe/Kyoto. We stayed at Hotel ShinOsaka booked on [--]. Reservations are prompt and provided advise on room types and hotel access information. Rooms and toilet are clean. There's a nice selection of shampoo, soap and conditioner (unlike those that comes with other hotels we stayed before). The furnitures and carpet are a bit dated. We booked a semi-twin room which is actually a semi-double room with one additional single bed, that makes the room a bit squeezed. There's only a small 1.5 foot walkway between the bed and desk after they put in the additional single bed. Hotel provides good breakfast (though limited choice of western and japanese breakfast). The japanese breakfast is good, must try if you stay there. The smoking area at the cafeteria is too near the non-smoking area. The hotel front faces some apartment and parking building. The back faces the East Exit of JR ShinOsaka station. Its great since we travels on JR trains, subway and shinkansen lines. The station has shops that opens late till mid night. There's also a 24 hours convenience store on the back side of the hotel. They heat up the food for you too. There's a flea market on Saturday morning at the East Exit of the JR ShinOsaka station. A nice hotel with good location to connect on trains/subways, but nothing much to see nearby.

  • Liked — Clean and near train station
  • Disliked — Dated furniture and small room
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shin Osaka / North Area
Shin-Osaka Station Hotel
Shin Osaka / North Area
Via Inn Shin-Osaka
Via Inn Shin-Osaka
#73 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Shin Osaka / North Area
New Osaka Hotel
New Osaka Hotel
#207 of 296 in Osaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shin Osaka / North Area
Shin-Osaka Station Hotel Annex
Shin Osaka / North Area
Shin Osaka Washington Hotel Plaza
Shin Osaka / North Area
Step Inn Shin-Osaka Higashiguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shin Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shin Osaka

Property: Hotel Shin Osaka
Address: 1-20-33 Higashi Nakajima Higashi Yodogawa-ku, Osaka 533-0033, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shin Osaka / North Area
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shin Osaka 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Rakuten and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Shin Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing