We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for budget traveller”
Review of Hotel Raizan South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Raizan South
Ranked #56 of 316 Speciality lodging in Osaka
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed in the individual room on the 7th floor (female floor) and overall the place is clean. For room cleaning, you have to let the reception know before 9AM in the morning and they will sent someone to clean for you. The location of the hotel is very convenient as it is very near to a JR station and a few convenient stores around the hotel. Besides, there is also Lawson nearby (convenient store where you can but all sort of entrance ticket). Furthermore, the hotel also near to one of the attraction - Shinsekai.
The only drawback is that the hotel only have 2 shower rooms (mixed) and 2 share big bath room (female and male each), which located on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is Japan, and you have to set your mind accordingly, everything is overpriced and small to the point of claustrophobia. While I can survive in limited space for a right price, $20 (2000 yen) a night is a bit to much. O, I've forgot its Japan that is very cheap! Only it is not, if many hotels in that area charge around 1200-1500 yen per night, so better going there without booking and ask in few hotels on the way. Limited space is here a norm, worse was the need to go down 8 floors to have a shower! Unpleasant experience. After a while you will be happy that toilet is on your floor. Staff was not interested in anything unless you ask first which is I guess Japanese custom. They also have quite early check-out time of 11 am, and get 1000 yen key deposit so be prepared. The only good thing was good internet in rooms, if you can call them that.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank MaRaS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

it's my second stay at Hotel raizan South, and I still think its the best value for money!! Where can you find a clean, comfortable, single private room, with a/c for ¥2000 or less per night!!

Transport is so convenient. Subway a 2 second walk, otherwise cross the intersection and you have the JR station, walk further and you have the Nankai train line too.

There's, Family Mart and Lawson close by and a 24 hour Katsu place next to Family Mart. Loved that place too!!

Hotel Raizan South, super convenient with lovely staff!! An enjoyable check-in to check-out experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mich0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I also loved Hotel Raizan. After staying in a dorm in Kyoto, I really missed the privacy of my own room in Hotel Raizan. It is indeed cheap, clean and comfortable even though the room is small. Those who felt that it was noisy, cramped and dirty were really their bad luck (timing factor of their stay).

In fact, for 2000Yen per night or slightly below, one should not complain; otherwise, such people should stay at home and be a virtual tourist by viewing youtube of the sightseeing places. During my total 5 nights' stay, 1 of the 2 private shower rooms hot water not working. No problem at all; I would just shower in the public bath area which is better.

I am amazed to find such cheap accommodation in an advanced country like Japan.

Also, it is very near train stations. 2 minutes walk to Dobutsuen-mae subway station exit 4 which is at a traffic junction. From here, just cross 2 traffic lights to reach JR Shin-Imamiya Station east exit. Those who need to walk 7 or 10 minutes are getting it wrong ! You exit at the wrong exits, period !

Overall, this is a highly recommended place for the budget-conscious travelers.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I loved Hotel Raizan.
Like the other reviews said, it was a bit of a walk from the station (every bit of seven minutes). But all things considered, that's not too bad.
My room was cheap, clean, and comfortable. I got cold at night, so I was glad the AC worked well.

I didn't end up using the showers, but the bathroom was clean and nice. Also, they had free wi-fi (yay).

The walls were a bit thin, but it was easy to sleep. I woke up at 3am hungry and in need of a snack, and ended up running into a couple other travelers going to a nearby store for food.
The people at the front desk were very friendly, they let me check in a couple hours early. Check in and check out were both very easy.

I totally recommend this hotel to anyone. Apparently they also have nice, cheap double rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraceBuchele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel was far from what the site led you to believe. It was noisy, cramped, and dirty. Wearing slippers in the bathroom was absolutely necessary. It's Japan, so slippers were provided, but I didn't want to use them, because the bathroom was filthy anyway, and the slippers were guaranteed to be as filthy as the bathroom itself. Nasty. The bath was okay, but again, it wasn't that clean. The room itself was clean, thank God, but it's absolutely tiny.
The hotel is also in one of the most dangerous areas of Osaka. There are all kinds of suspicious characters hanging around, lots of homeless, lots of cops.
Spend the money and go to a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneW96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel is clean and quiet, but no breakfast. The location is really closed to Shin - Immamiya Station (just less than 10 minutes walking), we could find a lot of convenient stores around the hotel. The staffs are very kind and helpful. They allowed us to keep our baggage for hours after checking out while we were visiting other tourist sites. We surely will stay in this hotel when we visit Osaka again.

Room Tip: Just choose western type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Raizan Kitakan
Raizan Kitakan
#151 of 353 in Osaka
71 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Mikado
Business Hotel Mikado
#91 of 353 in Osaka
207 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Toyo
Hotel Toyo
#24 of 316 in Osaka
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Guesthouse Nest
#8 of 316 in Osaka
80 reviews
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hostel 64 Osaka
Hostel 64 Osaka
#20 of 316 in Osaka
150 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Shin Imamiya
Hotel Shin Imamiya
#26 of 104 in Osaka
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raizan South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raizan South

Address: 1-3-3 Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka 557-0002, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 316 Speciality lodging in Osaka
Price Range: £12 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Raizan South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Raizan South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing