We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We do recommend Toyo”
Review of Hotel Toyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Toyo
Ranked #9 of 218 Speciality lodging in Osaka
Canada
Level Contributor
801 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“We do recommend Toyo”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Sorry for the ones who had bad experiences, may be each rooms are different, but we had a great week.
We have been welcome in the perfect Japanese way with free smiles.
and helpfull informations.The place is easy accessible by metro or JR train and have all your needs, like market ...etc. just close by.
The facilities and the room were really clean and well maintain. We had a tatami room with TV, Fridge, sink and a closet for your belongings, but you can also have a conventional bed. The sleeping was good ( just found the pillow hard).
The sitting room was ok with 2 computers free to use. The kitchen was small with little of dishes but everyone seems to manage with it.
It is also a fare price for a private/share

Room Tip: May be you have to check for different room??? JR train go direct to the airport for Y1030. Also co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    97
    52
    13
    2
See reviews for
10
24
102
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Even though the room is quite small and the mattress is a bit thin, it's pretty cozy, considering it's low price. I think it's the best deal you can get for a private room. I spent most of my time in the common room , where they have kitchen, dining table, computer corner, reading area, and also big TV with couches. I got to know a lot of people here and since I traveled solo, it was really nice to get travel mates to nearby cities like Kobe and Nara, or just to hang out and chat. The staffs are also nice and friendly, and they speak a very good English so we can communicate well. The hotel is like 100 steps away from Dobutsuenmae Subway Station (Exit 2) with a direct access to and from Kansai International Airport (get off at Shin-imamiya station, take East Exit). There are a lot of tourist attraction nearby, like Tsutenkaku Tower, Shi tennoji Temple, and Osaka Municipal Museum of Fine Art. You can also find a convenience store right around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

There are a few positive points to mention about this hostel, first and foremost the prize as it is really quite a bargain. The rooms are small but I've seen smaller. The common area is decent. The location is pretty good with two metro lines and a JR station right in front of the door. The staff is averagely friendly. The information material is okay.

Unfortunately, the negative points outweigh the positive points. The building is super old and really needs maintenance, from the outside as well as from the inside. Okay, I could still live with that. But it goes on. Only one of the three showers is new and nice, the other two are smelly and look gross. The two toilets on the ground floor seem to be pretty new but are not cleaned often enough at all and were pretty disgusting most of the time. There is also only one nice sink on the ground floor. The room with the washing machine and the other sinks smells rotten and is not very appealing.

In general, the worst thing about the hostel is the smell. In our room you could see the mold growing on the wall, it made the wallpaper go off. Every time we would enter our room, this intense moldy smell came towards us. Our towels and clothes also started smelling like it and after one day I developed a headache. I am not sure if it is healthy to stay here.
There is aircon in the room which is of course convenient but unfortunately it smells bad as well. We also had a fridge in our room which is probably supposed to be a nice touch but completely unnecessary because the fridge in the common area is big enough and the fridge in the room is very old and noisy which is annoying at night. As to the noise, the walls are thinner than paper and you can actually hear the people next door snoring. The chances that you will get a good night's sleep are very low if you are staying here.

It's pretty sad because with only a little more effort and cleaning this hostel could be turned into something decent and cute.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

A bit old, not as nice as other places I'd stayed in japan. But nothing really wrong with it unless you are looking for something modern. Cheap private rooms, same price as dorms in other places.Cheap bike rental, Right beside the subway station, but the area is not so nice. I probably wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here with my partner in August for 1 night. We prebooked two single rooms through hostelbookers costing JPY1600 each. It was a very basic hostel and good for those passing through Osaka in a day or two. It is centrally located (two stops down the Midosuji line from Namba) and next to the Shitennoji Temple and zoo. The reception staff were very helpful and there were lots of brochures for travellers in the foyer. The rooms were clean but very basic (a tatami mat on the floor and a fan) as were the shared shower facilities and kitchen. They also had shared computers and a vending machine for alcohol in the foyer. Nothing special, but perfectly acceptable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
345 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Needed a place to sleep over for a few hours on my return from Tokyo and to catch a flight to Singapore - not only was it dirt cheap, but clean and spacious. It was just strange making use of the same toilets and showers as the opposite sex.

What was convenient was its close proximaty to the station, a few minutes walk from the Midosuji Subway Dobutsuen Mae station.

As to the comfortableness, that did not bother me as it was more to get a shower, and take a catnap than anything else.

Room Tip: if one is on a low budget, a worthwhile place to use. Not much else I can say having arrived late an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosainnarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very cheap! It's located maybe 1 minute walk away from a subway station that can get you pretty much everywhere in Osaka.

I stayed in a twin room on the first floor. The room was 4.5 tatami, the futons were a bit thin and uncomfortable. There was air conditioning and a large refrigerator in the room. There was also a basin but the tap was broken so we couldn't use it. The room smelled a little bit.

There are toilets and showers on the first floor, while I was there the toilets were kept very clean. The hotel is very close to spaworld so make sure you visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allylonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Chuo
Business Hotel Chuo
#74 of 303 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Mikado
Business Hotel Mikado
#81 of 303 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Hotel Taiyo
#154 of 303 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuku Hostel Nagomi
#2 of 218 in Osaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Osaka Guesthouse Nest
#13 of 218 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Fuku Hostel
#1 of 218 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Toyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toyo

Property: Hotel Toyo
Address: 1-3-5 Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka 557-0002 , Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 218 Speciality lodging in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Toyo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Toyo offers great value for travelers looking for a warm, friendly, inexpensive hotel in a convenient location for Osaka sightseeing. We're located in the center of the 'Minami' area of Osaka (Minami means south in Japanese). The location is also convenient for all your sightseeing in the Kansai region, including Kyoto, Nara, Kobe and Wakayama, making use of the 4 train lines available in the area. We are only 40min from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Toyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing