We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location, Terrible Hotel”
Review of Cross Hotel Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cross Hotel Osaka
Ranked #10 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location, Terrible Hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed at so many hotels in Japan and I must say, this hotel stands out location wise. However, this is not a hotel I would ever go back to nor would recommend. The location is the only thing going for this place.

Stayed at the St Regis (a bit of a walk to the main attractions) for several days and decided to extend our stay. Cross Hotel was one of the few hotels that still had rooms so decided to move. Having read good reviews, we decided to go for it.

In Japan, service has always been above average to excellent. Never been disappointed. However, the minute I walked in Cross Hotel, I had a feeling of regret. It was dark and had a not so pleasant smell. But, I wanted to give this hotel a chance. Got a western front desk person who seemed to be having a very bad day. Missing was the warmth of Japanese hospitality. She will give Japanese hospitality a bad name. I just held my tongue and let her check us in. After, the hotel manager greeted us and helped us with the check in process. This manager embodied the epitome of Japanese graciousness. But it all goes downhill from here.

The room- it has seen better days. Mind you, this hotel does not come cheap. The room looked more like a rundown motel room than the upscale boutique hotel they claim to be. Very far from the website photos. Not even close. The walls have probably not been cleaned in a decade. Every wall had black skid marks from top to bottom. Looked really dirty and dingy. The carpet, there must be stuff growing on it already. And the smell ? It was like there was a dead rat living with us. And to top it all of, I mentioned at the front desk to the western girl that checked us in that I have really bad allergies to smoke and mildew. Of course, she ignored this request and gave us a smoking floor room. The strange part is, they had rooms available in the non-smoking room . But she insisted there were none. I was doubtful so I checked availabilities on line, and of course, they did have rooms available still on the non-smoking floors.

They provide one tiny pillow that is more like a sand bag . Really uncomfortable, stiff and woke up after the first night with a sore neck and an ache in my upper shoulders. I tried to have it change. But I just got another negative response.

The bathroom- a very good size bathroom and great power shower. But the walls had weird dark yellow stains and the stool provided had yellow stains on it too

And now , I am going home from Osaka with a sore neck plus a terrible case of cough and congested sinuses brought about by the smoke on the floor. For the first time since I have been coming to Japan, I am leaving disappointed and with bad memories.

The sad part is, when I did mention to the manager what happened , I just got a stoic blank stare and bowing of head. It’s like everything I said fell on deaf ears.

Room Tip: Dont stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stspostcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    497
    112
    17
    16
See reviews for
328
556
151
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have stayed in several hotels all around Japan. Some of them have great location with small rooms and vice versa. Cross had the unique combination of amazing location and comfort. The rooms are surprisingly spacious and geared towards comfort. The bathrooms also are spacious and the toilets come with english translation. The location cannot be beat. You are next door to the odontobori area. It has a multitude of restaurants and shops. The key is to book early in order to find great deals.

Room Tip: book early and ensure non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torrag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for most my stay in Osaka, the staff are helpful, friendly and speak good English.
For me these are very important when I stay in a hotel, also the wifi is is fast and consistent, so recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Osaka.
The location is great with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops nearby!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Joewe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing location, right in the centre of all the shops, bars and restaurants. And just a 10 minute walk to as aka castle- which is a must if the weather is nice.
Rooms were a decent size for japan and very comfortable. For the price this is an excellent option when in Osaka.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kpink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed in Cross hotel for 6 days and 5 nights and i must say that I had a good exprience in this hotel. First, its located at middle of Midosuji Avenue, near at the 2 train stations (Namba and Shinsaibashi). However it you will just allot a time to walk about 5-10 minutes to reach the Namba station, though you wouldn’t mind to walk because the vicinity of the hotel is already a sight seeing. It is also near at the Dotonbori river and located at the back of the 600m shopping arcade (special mention: H&M and Forever 21)

The rooms are also clean and comfy. Although it’s a little bit smaller than other standard hotel rooms. The bed is really big for 2 adults however the pillows are not soft.

Their bathrooms are superb.All the toiletries are complete. They have big bottles of shampoo,conditioner and face soap. They also have chair, basin and blower on the powder area.

Overall, i want to give 4 out of 5 in this hotel. I was really satisfied with the quality of the rooms and services they provided for us. I strongly recommended for the tourists who will visit Osaka (Namba) in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zantiwanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Excellent location centrally located in the Namba district. Less than 5 minute walk from the Namba subway station (take exit 14). Walking distance to a plethora of restaurants, shops, etc. The room was nicely sized for Japanese standards. I recently stayed in both Tokyo and Kyoto and this room was 1.5x the size of both of those hotels with similar ratings/price - bathroom was 2x of the other hotels. Excellent value as it was one of the cheaper hotels for its ratings/location based on my research. Staff was very helpful throughout our entire stay. Decor is a bit dated though as walls were scuffed; could use a new paint job. Room did smell a little bit strange (like BO which I have seen other reviewers comment on), but it went away with the use of the air cleaner/humidifier. Excellent choice for hotel - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you wants to find hotel which is located at the very core of Osaka with reasonable price and cleanness. Totombori is the right next of hotel, so you need to just walk a few steps and will see the heart of Osaka's main area. The room was smaller than I expected, but convenient and there was not any problem with room. The location is the beauty of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RileyPark77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#24 of 316 in Osaka
774 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 316 in Osaka
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Dotonbori Hotel
Dotonbori Hotel
#8 of 316 in Osaka
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Hotel Osaka

Property: Cross Hotel Osaka
Address: 2-5-15 Shinsaibashisuji, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0085, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Osaka
#6 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#8 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#21 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Hotel Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cross Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osaka Cross Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing