We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A comfortable hotel with spacious rooms and bathrooms and an excellent breakfast choice. The location is central, with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, and easy to get to by tram from Nagasaki JR station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rnt_nagasaki, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for your staying our hotel this time.
We really glad to hear that you stayed comfortable, and had you like breakfast.
Our hotel is central of Nagasaki, so it is really convenience for sightseeing.
We hope if you can choose our hotel when you come to Nagasaki on the next time.
This time thank you for contributing it.
We are looking forward to your next coming.

manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Richmond Nagasaki is located quiet far from the train station. In other words, if you arrive with heavy luggage, you better grab a cab. Not very expensive though; around 1000 yen per trip. The hotel looks decent, but a bit squeezed in between the other buildings. Squeezed are the rooms too; they are quiet small.

The hotel recommends a guide company if you would like to visit the battleship island. According to the hotel and the guiding company, they are supposed to have an english speaking guide. They did not. I would therefore be carefull giving much weight to the endorsements of the hotel to local businesses.

If you're fan of the tram, this is not a very bad choice as there is a tram station not far away which connects you to most of the tourist attractions. However, for the price, I think it has a quiet bad location.

Be also aware of that Richmond is a chain and has a bonus program. This usually means higher prices as it's usually used by business travellers who don't pick up the bill themselves anyways. Last-minute though, they did offer competitable rates. However, I think there is many very good deals for Nagasaki out there if you have the time and the will to research properly.

For me, free wifi was the only thing that makes this an average and not a poor hotel.

Room Tip: The higher up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank workcationenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rnt_nagasaki, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for staying at the Richmond Hotel Nagasaki.
There did not seem to be an English guide in Gunkanjima Cruise and sorry for not explaining enough. We apologize heartily. We’re really sorry to hang disappointing thought.
We had confirmed that there is English guidance for overseas visitor, but we will check it once again in the Cruise company and thorough again so that there will not be lack of such guidance in the future in the hotel either.

The tram goes from the place for approximately one minute from a hotel and is very convenient for sightseeing and business.
We think that you can ask willingly because you hand the map at the front desk.

We will make an effort from now on so that the visitor from the overseas is satisfied more than now. Thank you for your contribution despite being so busy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Most probably still one of the best hotels in Nagasaki, the rooms were not too spacious, at least for Western or Sout-East-Asian standards. The staff was very friendly although the communication was difficult as they mostly don't speak English. The breakfast is Japanese style only. All in all a good choice as the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carsten80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in a deluxe double room. Room is spacious. Friendly staffs. Hotel is not exactly near to nagasaki jr station. We took a taxi from nagasaki jr station to richmond hotel, which cost ard 800 yen. Many restaurants n shopping street near to hotel. Ask hotel for food recomnendation, there is one japanese restaurant," ji zhong" near to hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rnt_nagasaki, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for staying at the Richmond Hotel Nagasaki this time.
All the staff were very glad and read it for words of many praise.
Our hotel is built in the Nagasaki's best downtown, Many restaurants around hotel.
There are a lot of restaurants recommended staff.
We will try for the offer of the best service that a visitor is satisfied with from now on.
Thank you for contributing it this time.
We wait for the day when I can see again heartily.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in Nagasaki for 3 nights; 2 adults and our adult son. We had a double room and he had a single. The features, spaciousness, location and professionalism of this hotel can't be beat. The features: free wifi, large bed, big flat screen tv, a sofa in addition to the desk, lots of hangers both in the closet and plastic ones in the bathroom with clips, pegs on the wall (I love wall pegs!), luggage rack and a shelf for a suitcase, bright lamps for reading, a room refrigerator, great tea and coffee with the hot water pot. The style is contemporary with ebony wood and neutral colors. One huge plus was the coin laundry in the hotel. Our floor (10th) had a laundry for women only; the 4th floor laundry was for everyone. Laundry was 200Yen/wash (laundry soap incl) and 100Yen for 30 min. drying. The machines were in good shape, and drying never took more than 1hr. We washed a lot as we'd been traveling a while. The breakfast buffet was amazing - salad, fruit, dumplings, grilled fish, sausage, chirashi rice, soup, breads and jam, congee, bottomless good coffee, and that's an incomplete list! The location is ideal - it's a few steps away from the Shianbashi Tram line (120Yen/ride; 500Yen all-day pass that you buy at the hotel). It's tricky to get to on foot or tram from the station if you've just arrived with your luggage, so spring for a cab - 700Yen from the station. The desk staff were friendly and always on the job. Their English was good, although we used a lot of Japanese. I'd love to stay here again if my travels bring me back to Nagasaki.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ephemera9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rnt_nagasaki, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the Richmond Hotel Nagasaki.
We were relieved as it seems like you were able to stay comfortably and liked basic facilities in rooms you stayed. As you mentioned in your review, we think visitors from abroad can stay here without worries about facilities. If you have any difficulties please ask us anything. For example, we can lend you a plug adapter if you forget or lose it. In addition, we have not only the coin laundry but also the dry-cleaner. (The dry-cleaner is no service on Sunday.) It is very useful for long-term staying guests.
We serve Japanese and Western cuisine for the breakfast buffet. You can enjoy having breakfast because there are some local foods in it. (Such as Kakuni which is cuts of pork boiled with sugar, soy sauce, sweet sake and salt, Sara udon which is Nagasaki dish of noodles with various toppings and Somen which is fine white noodles etc.)
Our hotel is located very nearby tram stop named “Shiambashi”. Guests can’t miss it, even for the first time. Besides, we prepare for several kinds of English maps of Nagasaki City. We'd be honored to be of use to you.
We are really looking forward to your coming again.
Thank you very much for having this time you contribute it.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here one night with another family, 4 adults and 4 children in total. Children all under 6yo. I loved the city of Nagasaki in general and also very much enjoyed this hotel. It's very modern, everything is well thought out, there are directions in English. As everyone has mentioned, the location is urban and convenient, the buffet breakfast is outstanding, and they have coin laundry available which I found very useful in washing dirty kids clothes. Negatives, the rooms are too small (tho normal for Japan) and they did not seem to have any extra bed options for us. But other than that I highly recommend this hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rnt_nagasaki, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you very much for your warm comment.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your trip in Nagasaki.
And it would make us happy if we are helpful to you.
Please choose our hotel if you have a chance to come to Nagasaki again.
We are looking forward to the day we will be able to see you again.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

There is a reason that this is no. 1 on TA for Nagasaki. This was easily the best hotel that I stayed at during my weeks long trip to Japan.

Don't expect absurd luxury from this place. What you do get however is smart, friendly service, a great base for sightseeing, and excellent, reasonable amenities, which in sum make this place well worth the money.

The Richmond Hotel is a short taxi ride away from Nagasaki station, or you can tram it. The hotel is a short walk from Shianbashi tram station. Head south into the narrower road once you get off and you'll see it soon. Its the entertainment area, so its easy to find good restaurants, convenience stores, cafes, shopping (theres an arcade running east-west, to the north of Shianbashi tram stop), and bars. There's a nearby Starbucks and Mister Donut northwest from the hotel (head west on the road with the tram to find it) to get your morning fix. The hotel provides an excellent paper map of the area. Shianbashi is located roughly in between the major sights to the north (A-bomb related) and the southwest (Chinatown, Glover Hill areas). As such, with the tram, its pretty easy to hit up all of the major sights in the city.

All of the staff that I dealt with were polite and helpful. Check-in was easy and quick. The clean, non-smoking room was definitely not as small as most other Japanese hotels that you find for this price. The bathroom was a very good size, with a lot of sink space, which is rare for this price range. One time I smelled something a little strange in the bathroom, but thankfully it did not linger. The bed was a good size, and very comfortable. Free Wifi worked well. The TV had an English channel that was not news (there's a button on the remote that will change the dubbed Japanese to English). I had no issues with noise from the other rooms. There was occasional noise from outside (a karaoke club?), but it wasn't too bad and didn't cause problems with sleeping. There were 2 convenient desktop PCs in the lobby. There were no issues in checking out and using their baggage storage service my last day when I went to grab some champon.

I had dinner once in the restaurant. I ordered one of their pizzas, which was surprisingly good, and the pork skewers were simply superb. Service here was great, like the rest of the hotel. They also had Guinness on tap! Customers staying at the hotel get a small discount, so show them your card key when settling the bill.

Overall a great establishment in a pretty city. If I ever return to this town, I'll definitely be back. Thanks for a fantastic stay Richmond Hotel! =)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank GMK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rnt_nagasaki, 支配人 at Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for staying at the Richmond Hotel Nagasaki this time.
You seemed to be able to take a rest during a stay comfortably, I, all the staff felt relieved and big pleasure.
Because the streetcar goes to the tourist attraction of Nagasaki soon, it is really convenient,
and you seemed to be able to help it and I am glad to hear that.
I prepare for various maps at the front desk, and there are several kinds of English maps to be able to help an overseas visitor.
In addition, the meal at the restaurant seemed to be palatable, too and is glad very much.
So that you say, we discount if the guest show a room key.
In addition, we are really glad when you will come to Nagasaki if I stay at our hotel.
We are looking forward to your coming next time heartily.
Thank you very much for having this time you contribute it.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
250 reviews
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#3 of 74 in Nagasaki
447 reviews
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagasaki Station
JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki
JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki
#4 of 74 in Nagasaki
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi

Address: 6-38 Motoshikkuimachi, Nagasaki 850-0901, Nagasaki Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nagasaki
#1 Business Hotel in Nagasaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nagasaki
Price Range: £43 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel opened in June 27th, 2007. Nagasaki-shianbashi is famous for its song. Located in Nagasaki's commercial and amusement center. Very convenient for business and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ebookers, Fastbooking, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Nagasaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing