We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a short business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great hotel.
Perfect location both for business and holiday.
small rooms but very clean.
nice breakfast, but slightly overpriced. (western style)
excellent service and help from the front deck.
in room wifi for free. Good connection and speed.
large variation in price depending on how you book. (direct booking was half price in my case.)

Room Tip: ask for a room towards Glover gardens, with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuxoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

I decided to visit Nagasaki and wanted my stay to be a little respite during an otherwise rather hectic three week vacation through Japan. I also wanted to see the Nagasaki peace museum and spend time in a city which is inextricably linked to Sakamoto Ryoma. We spent two nights at this hotel last month. Since most hotel rooms in Japan are quite small by western standards, I really look forward to checking into any Crowne Plaza hotel in Japan. As is normal for a Crowne Plaza hotel, Glover Hill's accommodations were extremely tasteful and very comfortable. At check in, we were offerred accommodations (at a higher price) on the completely renovated floors; the clerk was very nice and did not "push" the upgrade but simply explained what our choices were. We opted to pay for the upgrade and got a great room. I can't comment on what the older, unrenovated rooms are like. Moreover, this hotel actually had an air conditioning temperature control that lets you really cool down the room (this is rare in Japan, believe me... I have spent numerous nights sweating in not inexpensive hotel rooms on this and prior trips to Japan). We ate the buffet breakfast here one morning (typical Western and Japanese offerings) and although it was satisfactory, it was not memorable by any means. Buffet breakfasts at the Shinagawa Prince and the Dai Ichi Annex Tokyo were far better. There is a tram stop conveniently located nearby which can take you to the more "active" areas of the city, such as near the station environs. The hotel is a stone's throw from Glover House and the stroll up the winding roadway takes you past some pleasant and small shops where you can buy beautiful glassware, souvenirs and local food products. There are also a number of stores that offer free samples of Nagasaki specialties such as the delicious pork buns (yum) and truly excellent Nagasaki castella (don't be fooled by cheap castella, the "real" thing is a quality confection that is truly scrumptious). The hotel is located right next to the port so you can get beautiful sunrise and sunset photos if that suits your interests. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful although English is a bit challenging for them. All in all, we had a relaxing few days at the hotel and had no complaints. However, if you are someone who is looking for more active nightlife, this location leaves much to be desired.....you would probably be better off staying elsewhere in this great city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huladancer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stay a night here after 2 nights at the neighbouring Majestic Hotel. See my review on the latter. We extended our stay in Nagasaki and only stay here because Majestic were full. We expected a large impersonal and bland hotel. We were quoted a rack rate of Yen20000 for a king sized deluxe room. That was a big savings from Majestic. For the neighbourhood please read Majestic comments as they are the same.
But we were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It appears quite new or recently renovated. Loved the room we got. Very comfortable, great bathroom, minimalist design but done nicely and with good taste. There is free wi-fi in lobby area. Service is polite and prompt. We certainly did not have the feeling of being in a large crowded and impersonal hotel. Downside is you do not get a view. Interestingly the cheaper standard rooms face the Glover gardens and the few suites have bay view. Ours "city view" is a few annoymous block of buildings, even though we were on high floor. Still for that price we paid and the level of service and hardware - I think it is a small price to pay. And did I mention parking was free ?

Highly recommend it for location, quality of rooms, price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed here during the Lantern Festival, Kunchi Matsuri and it was handy for the festival, as well as walking up Glover Hill and enjoying the beautiful view of the port from there. The hotel served the purpose for the two nights we were there, although it seemed a bit dated. The breakfast buffet was adequate, with a nice selection. We would recommend it. It's a short public tram ride from the main area, with shopping and the main train and bus terminals.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akinsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I am very happy with the plush towels, the lovely decor, and the extremely clean rooms,I stayed in The rooms on the top "club floor" have been completely and nicely renovated.Breakfast has good options, But location is away from city centre.

Room Tip: The high speed cable Internet and LCD TV with only BBC International in English is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pankajsapate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Not the best hotel we stayed in during our trip round Japan but well situated to nearby Glover Hill. Our room suffered from the bed being 30 cms from the wall on one side which meant gymnastics to get in and out without disturbance during the night. The staff, though were brilliant and helpful when we wanted to forward our luggage on to the next but one hotel. We ate in the hotel on both evenings - the first time because the rain was so heavy getting out was not possible. The French restaurant that doubled as a breakfast room was empty but the waitress was helpful and friendly. One of us went a la carte, the other the set 5 course meal. The latter was better value. Dinner in the Chinese restaurant on the second evening was OK but not exciting: crab soup, sweet and sour pork, chicken with cashew nuts all fairly standard. Breakfasts were adequate - English and Japanese available but not exciting. The omelette maker was absent the second day but the hordes descending at the same time were well regulated by the busy staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runsinthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed in 2 rooms on the Club floor, one with two twins and one with a queen. We were very happy with the plush towels, the lovely decor, and the extremely clean rooms.

Both brunch and the evening buffet were very good meals, and they bent over backwards in service to my non-Japanese speaking parents and to serve my children's favourite foods. The waiters were excellent, and the homemade ice cream was delectable.

The location of this hotel, by the harbour, beside Glover Gardens, and steps to the tramway, cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
626 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Nagasaki BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#4 of 74 in Nagasaki
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi
0.6 mi away
Hotel JAL City Nagasaki
Hotel JAL City Nagasaki
#12 of 74 in Nagasaki
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill

Address: 1-18 Minamiyamate-machi, Nagasaki 850-0931, Nagasaki Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nagasaki
Price Range: £59 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a mountainside in Nagasaki-Minamiyamate, the southern part of Nagasaki City, ANA Hotel Nagasaki adds to the areas cosmopolitan feel. Providing guests with unwavering first class hospitality and refined services, the hotel is a popular choice amongst travelers to the city. A beautiful view of the harbor and surrounding township greets guests from each of the 217 rooms. Elegantly furnished and comfortably spacious, the guest rooms are a great getaway for the busy traveler to chase away fatigue and refresh them for the day ahead. Savor classic French cuisine in a perfect setting of gentle breezes and fading sunsets at the western restaurant Pavac. Delight in a unique fusion of Chinese and Japanese tastes at the Sino-Japanese Junkei where fresh produce makes for quality fare. Whatever your preference, each restaurant will entice and satisfy your every gastronomical craving. Banquet rooms of varying sizes are available in both Western and Japanese styles to cater to any event from formal gatherings to casual parties. Meals can also be catered for according to purpose and budget. This combined with top class service will ensure a memorable function for both host and guests alike. The ANA Hotel Nagasaki Gloverhill is a 70 minute bus ride from the Nagasaki Airport or a 7 minute drive by car from the JR Nagasaki Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Hotel Nagasaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing