We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible check-in experience.. rooms need an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked this hotel through the IHG website, clearly indicating that we have 3 persons and reserved a room with twin beds and an extra sofa bed. Upon arrival, we were told that we had to pay for the extra bed. The front counter staff insisted that they were not informed of the extra person despite me showing them a printout of my online reservation. I ended up having an argument with the staff and also the manager. It didn't help that I don't speak much Japanese and they don't speak much English. After about half an hour, they relented. We didn't have to pay extra but we were told that it would take 30-60 minutes to convert the sofa bed into a pullout bed.

We stayed on the 3rd floor and even though it was a non-smoking floor, the entire floor reeked of smoke. The carpet was stained and dirty from the lift lobby, along the corridors and to the room. The state of the room was poor and definitely needs an upgrade.

As we had 2 rooms - one with an extra bed and one without - the other room was located on the higher floor and the entire floor was refurbished and the room was excellent. We later found out that the higher floors had the renovated deluxe rooms.

While this hotel was at Glover Hill and convenient, we would definitely not come back again because of our bad experience.

(See my other review on Hilton Fukuoka. It appeared that website booking is not properly reflected in the systems of the hotels in Japan. We had the same issue of being asked to pay for an extra bed but the Hilton staff handled the situation a lot better)

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room on the higher floor!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaywai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear kaywai,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to know you were satisfied with our location. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to poor service you received and the room condition. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

kind staffs, near to Globe garden. fukusaya and shoken within a walking 2 min distance U can take the free shuttle to the Inasayama ropeway

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank StarkWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for one night in July. Definitely a long way from the train station. You should mention the streetcar and which stop to take on your website. We got to the hotel late and were checked in promptly. Got to the room and was very suprised as to how small it was. It was smaller than a cruise room on an inside cabin. Glad we only stayed one night. Checked out promptly and were able to leave our bags until we toured the town for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear cyburg,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Enjoyed staying in ANA Crowne for 2 nights in Nagasaki sight-seeing trip. The renovated deluxe rooms on 7/F were clean and comfortable. Ladies at front desk spoke good English. Upon check in, they offered upgrade to bigger twin room of 27sq m though with less attractive view from balcony, for the double bedroom we had booked facing the Glover garden was smaller (20sq m). There were complimentary bottled water for deluxe room guests, and welcoming cookies & card for IHG members. Staff made recommendations on restaurants and helpful in confirming my hotel bookings for the following days in Saga.

Although ANA was 7 tram stops from JR Nagasaki and needed to interchange at Tsuki-Machi in reaching Ouratenshudo-Shita tram stop, I would recommend this hotel for their good service and close proximity to Glover Garden.

Free wi-fi available on first and second floor.

Room Tip: On 7/F Deluxe floor, double bed room faces Glover Garden, while twin room faces inner streets.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Excellent staff, nice rooms, and a good location sum up the hotel.
Check- in was fast, despite a crowd of festival attendees.
The room was recently renovated. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom sparkled. The beddings were top- notch and very comfortable. A fine point - the A/C could be cranked right down, which in the hot, humid simmers of Nagasaki makes a real difference. There were generous amenities. There was a small balcony which you could actually step out onto - okay, not a big deal, but try to find one in the US where the lawyers have not convinced the hotel management to bar and chain the thing!
At first glance, the ANA Crowne Plaza seems to be - apart from being right at the foot of the hill leading to Glover Gardens - out of the way. It is steps away from the Nr 5 / geen streetcar, which takes you in a couple of stops to the bus which goes nonstop to the airport, and one stop further to a nice arcade. It is steps away from a great waterfront park, where a lot of events are held.

Room Tip: The seveth floor has been renovated and the rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Outside of the hotel looks quaint and interesting, next to a route leading up to Glover Garden. However staff was not able to speak much English, so thanks to our guide we managed to check in effortlessly. Room is quite comfortable for 3 pax and there is even bath amenities such as eye mask and bath salt to enjoy a good bath in the room. Breakfast spread was not bad with international spread as well such as egg and salad stations

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eelayel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

At the bottom of Glover Hill is the very good standard hotel in the Crowne Plaza ANA chain. Efficient albeit rather perfunctory reception in a very spacious lobby. The entire hotel does need a make-over; it's fraying at the edges.
Very good size room with all the amenities one might desire. Good bathroom,too; and a pleasant balcony. Comfortable beds.
Room service fine.
The hotel has several restaurants to cater to every need and taste. We enjoyed a final meal in Nagasaki in Pavé. Excellent food and efficient service.
The hotels has no 'onsen' or spa.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Nagasaki BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 75 in Nagasaki
611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 75 in Nagasaki
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#4 of 75 in Nagasaki
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi
0.6 mi away
Hotel JAL City Nagasaki
Hotel JAL City Nagasaki
#14 of 75 in Nagasaki
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill

Address: 1-18 Minamiyamate-machi, Nagasaki 850-0931, Nagasaki Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nagasaki
#3 Family Hotel in Nagasaki
Price Range: £61 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a mountainside in Nagasaki-Minamiyamate, the southern part of Nagasaki City, ANA Hotel Nagasaki adds to the areas cosmopolitan feel. Providing guests with unwavering first class hospitality and refined services, the hotel is a popular choice amongst travelers to the city. A beautiful view of the harbor and surrounding township greets guests from each of the 217 rooms. Elegantly furnished and comfortably spacious, the guest rooms are a great getaway for the busy traveler to chase away fatigue and refresh them for the day ahead. Savor classic French cuisine in a perfect setting of gentle breezes and fading sunsets at the western restaurant Pavac. Delight in a unique fusion of Chinese and Japanese tastes at the Sino-Japanese Junkei where fresh produce makes for quality fare. Whatever your preference, each restaurant will entice and satisfy your every gastronomical craving. Banquet rooms of varying sizes are available in both Western and Japanese styles to cater to any event from formal gatherings to casual parties. Meals can also be catered for according to purpose and budget. This combined with top class service will ensure a memorable function for both host and guests alike. The ANA Hotel Nagasaki Gloverhill is a 70 minute bus ride from the Nagasaki Airport or a 7 minute drive by car from the JR Nagasaki Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Hotel Nagasaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing