We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel walking distance from station”
Review of Hotel New Nagasaki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel New Nagasaki
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked this hotel at the last moment because we realized there are so much to see in Nagasaki than what we planned. We already had 4 nights in Kobe but who cares... we decided to stay overnight here. We checked into this hotel because it was walking distance from the JR station and was very affordable. But we did not know how good this hotel is until we walked into the lobby then to the front desk as we were greeted so kindly by the staff... then ushered by the bell person to a large room with two double beds and sitting area. The price was very affordable... same as the room in Kobe for twice the size. Impeccably clean bathroom, all amenities, including night kimonos and slippers. Nice wet bar. Several restaurants but for dinner we walked to the next shopping center building and ate there for one third of the price. This is of course normal for most hotels in Japan... food is very expensive it is wiser to eat outside in the nearby places.
Excellent location. Took the tram all over the tourist sites in Nagasaki.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChadPeterson47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel New. Our room was spacious with a great view of the harbour and up to the lookout. All the fittings and furnishings were clean and new - perhaps some rooms have been renovated because it really didn't look as if it had had better days. Nor did we have trouble with the safe and we aren't that small or supple! Our twin room had plenty of room for the two of us and the bathroom was not small by Japanese standards. We loved the flowers in the lobby and the staff were very helpful. The hotel is in a great location with easy access to the JR station and the fantastic tram system which can take you to all of the sights of Nagasaki. I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pacificwoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I think this hotel had better days. The location is still good, ie easy access to the main station and airport and long distance bus hub but lacks "something more" after staying some hotels in Japan.
I learned from my japanese friends that the new trend is 3 Bs, bed, breakfirst and big public bath.
If you have quiet stay, you should have no problem. If you expect something more, this hotel does not offer any additional charms. But I must say that this is a good and solid hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gehararigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Clean and modern rooms, bathroom is big enough for one only but a decent shower to freshen up. A good nights rest in a comfortable bed. TV Channels are all local so good job for the excellent WIFI connection which is free. The best breakfast selection I've had in Japan with a great selection of both local and western items. Good view of the city from the top floor. The French restaurant downstairs is nothing special. Connected to a shopping mall which has a selection of casual dining options with a supermarket.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better with mountain and port area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A little room for small and supple people with a tiny, tiny, bathroom. A safe, but for use by contortionists only. Instructions - lie on tummy if you can fit between the beds, twist head to a 90 degree angle and crane you neck to read numbers. Congratulations! You can now store your ipad (but nothing else)

The pluses - a view of the harbour if we stood to the extreme right of the window, free WiFi in the lobby and, credit where credit is due - an excellent location at the railway station.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank melbgal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The New Nagasaki hotel has an excellent location, right at the train station, and across the street from the bus station (there are elevators up and down to the pedestrian bridge if you have a lot of luggage). The convenient tram system is also right there. The hotel is attached to a large shopping mall, with a grocery store on the first floor and a large selection of restaurants at the top. The hotel itself has several restaurants, but they are rather expensive. The included breakfast is at the top of the hotel, so you get a nice view. The food selection included western and Japanese. The room was very large by Japanese standards, with a nice view of the harbor. It had all the amenities you would expect, except that there was no free wifi in the room, but there is free wifi in the lobby. If you are looking for a convenient location, and not ready for a full Japanese immersion, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for high room with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeeTheWorld4Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The room has strong carpet smell, we booked for 3 nights in July 2013 and I was coughing every night because of bad smell. The toilet was not bright, fan did not work, the toilet paper is always half wet. The only good part is hotel room is very big and the location is right next to Nagasaki station.

Room Tip: Request habour view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoyceSineps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
Nagasaki Station
JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki
JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki
#4 of 74 in Nagasaki
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
250 reviews
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Nagasaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Nagasaki

Address: 14-5 Daikoku-machi, Nagasaki 850-0057, Nagasaki Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Price Range: £89 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New Nagasaki 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel New Nagasaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing