We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Hotel Nagasaki BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

hotel very centrally located. Around the corner from the highway bus terminal, less than 2 blocks from the Nagasaki train station, commuter bus stop right in front of the hotel, and between 2 street car stops. The breakfast spread is quite impressive. The western selection is limited to scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, but when in Japan skip the western breakfast.

Room Tip: go early for breakfast to get a table by the window. The view of the harbor is a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

This, on 5 minutes walking distance, close to the Shinkanzen train station, located hotel is your perfect location to serve as a base for your sight-seeing trips in Nagasaki. The hotel lounge is beautifully decorated and has a very efficient and friendly staff which try to make your hotel life as comfortable as possible. The hotel restaurant has a very interesting menu and is located on the top floor which gives you at night a spectacular view on the Nagasaki bay area. The hotel room which we had on the executive level floor was comfortable and the beds were long enough to keep our feet inside which is in Japan for a 6 feet long travel most of the time a challenge. The breakfast restaurant was most of the time very crowded although we never experienced out of stock situations. Also in this restaurant the views on the Nagasaki Bay area are great. On ground floor the hotel has also a coffee & thee bar where you can enjoy great coffee, tea and cake. Wifi is present in the hotel and in the room and is working good we had no issues with uploading and downloading of files. Overall a nice hotel which offers value for money

Room Tip: try to get a room on the 11th floor which is the exec level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HollandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I say this because the bus from the airport stops directly outside the hotel - it's about a 45 minute trip from the airport. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the 'rope way' (cable car) that takes you up to the top of the mountain which has a (claimed) one of the top 3 night views in the world! Good thing to do the first night you're there - have dinner up there too. Staff at this hotel were lovely. The breakfast was very good and well worth the money (get a room rate including brekky). Yes the hotel is a bit 'old' but that is reflected in the price. Nice little coffee/cake shop in the lobby and direct access to a convenience store next door. Oh yes... a couple of free beers and drinks in the mini bar - a nice touch.

Room Tip: 11th floor is the 'executive' floor - with access to a 'lounge' - but this is NOT wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YokohamaGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Grand foyer, big rooms, easy walk to train station, welcoming staff, great view from big windows. BUT, the rooms are starting to show their age. Furnishings were becoming worn. Their room sign said no air con in winter and no heating in summer. Too bad since our south facing room on a sunny day was like an oven (in winter) when the curtains were left open. The ventilation was poor to non existent and there was so much condensation on the big window in the mornings that a bath towel was totally saturated when the window was wiped down - this was not a new problem as there was mould around the (non opening) window seal. Indeed, the window view was totally obscured due to the recurring condensation in the mornings. Wifi worked well on two days of our stay but, annoyingly, it kept dropping out on the other day. We provided our own breakfast as they charge around ¥2300 per person.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CyclistSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This place could be great, friendly staff and nice lobby and other public areas (bars etc). Food is reasonable and pretty good. But what lets it down are the rooms, they are tired and in need of updating.

Top tips - watch out for the smoking floors (floor 14 + others) you can smell them as soon as you step out of the lift and the rooms also reek - ther e is no way to open the windows so you can't get any fresh air. Move to a non-smoker asap!

Also there is no mineral water or mini bar etc in the rooms so you need to buy your provisions from the convenience store downstairs - so immediately after check in - go to the shop, before you have gone all the way up to your room and then have to come all the way back down again!

Although my stay was pleasant enough, I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

As others have mentioned, this hotel was quite a surprise. Any westerner, or maybe just in the USA, not sure, would say, the Best Western is a business hotel not known for their luxuries. This place is unbelievable. This is not the Best Western of the USA, its very very nice. So nice, I am still amazed. Staff were very nice, friendly and helpful. The rooms, lobby, restaurant are spectacular. Location is great. Will stay again...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveldog95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We booked this hotel on a local's deal which was fantastic value. It was a stopover before heading back to Osaka after a few days touring around Kyushu. I was busy telling my girlfriend that Best Western Hotel's were traditionally business hotels, and where I'd stay when on business in the USA. I didn't give her a good impression, or myself for that matter, so was very pleasantly surprised when we checked in to this hotel. From the initial impression of the lobby to the final checkout, everything was quality. All the people we interacted with spoke good English and gave good quality advice about how to get around and where to visit. We booked a Japanese syle room which suited me fine. It was huge - about 10 tatami tiles - with a really massive bath. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and had a great view over the city. Would thoroughly recommend this to anyone travelling through.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill
1.1 mi away
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#4 of 74 in Nagasaki
448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi
0.5 mi away
Hotel New Nagasaki
Hotel New Nagasaki
#8 of 74 in Nagasaki
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Nagasaki BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Nagasaki BW Premier Collection

Address: 2-26 Takaramachi, Nagasaki 850-0045, Nagasaki Prefecture (Formerly Best Western Premier Hotel Nagasaki)
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nagasaki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nagasaki
Price Range: £82 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Nagasaki BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Nagasaki on the island of Kyushu, the Nagasaki Prince Hotel brings together contemporary style and a convenience just 5 minutes from JR Nagasaki Station. From the hotel, you can take in spectacular views of Nagasaki Port. You can also choose from a number of excellent restaurants offering a variety of fine Japanese, Chinese and Western cuisine. The Nagasaki Prince features nine banquet halls and is a first-class international venue for conferences and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Nagasaki BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nagasaki
Nagasaki Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing