We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sightseeing in Nagasaki”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

a comfortable hotel with an excellent location for those who travel with a JR Pass. The hotel is located in the JR station. Friendly staff with excellent English. Rooms was fair size and quite modern at a very reasonable price. We checked in and unpacked our luggage and within 30 minutes we were on our way to see the city. Tram stops was virtually outside the train station, we even purchased the tram pass from the hotel front desk......

Room Tip: higher floors give you a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Booked online using their website. As booked way in advance there was a good discount. However I had some trouble booking online as it was expecting some Japanese charcters. So I emailed hotel and sent them details of the room and discount offer - they booked it accordingly and I received email confirmation in no time.

Location is perfect: literally in front of the train station on the upper level. There's a convenience store down the escalators to the right. Mall next to hotel has plenty of restaurants. Tram is just in front of the station too so everything really close by.

Rooms are clean and comfy. Internet in room also good speed. Bathroom also very clean though smaller than other hotels I have been in. We didn't have breakfast included but there are plenty of restaurants / cafés in the vicinity - there's even one right in front of the hotel.

On our departure we took the airport bus right across the street: just walk on the upper walkway (ie as you come out of hotel doors don't go down escalators but just walk towards the trams bearing left). Then once you are on the other side of the street, walk down the stairs and go inside the building and you are right in the bus stop.

Overall the most conveniently located perfect hotel for us. We would choose this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wiriask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was for us a great place to stay as we toured Japan. It was really nice to get off the train, walk straight to the information office and then, after getting info about the city, ask where the hotel was to be told that it was straight up the escalator outside the doors of the info office. Couldn't have been more convenient and we got a 10% discount on presentation of our JR rail pass. Superb bedside reading lamp!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I checked in to this hotel which is conveniently attached to the main JR train station in Nagasaki, to find a large spacious room (by Japanese standards) with a wonderful view of downtown and the mountains behind. The bed was very comfortable, the rooms have wired and wireless internet that is quite fast, and the TV was a large-ish flat screen with BBC in english along with many Japanese channels. The bathroom was a little larger than typical Japanese business hotels and overall the room was large enough to accommodate two American-sized people. The service was excellent. For example, I was helped to ship a package via courier at the front desk. This hotel has a 2pm checkin time which is earlier than some Japanese hotels.

Overall, the hotel was significantly above average although the price also reflected this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Can actually hear the trains coming and going from our hotel room. Not a problem as I like the sounds. Room size is better that the average small hotel room so far. Wifi is excellent - could handle Skype calls with no problems.
Feels like it has had a recent refurbishment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is kind of embedded with the Amu Plaza shopping mall. So every time I had my hands full of stuffs, I felt glad that I chose this hotel to stay in! I could just go back to my room to put those things down and continue my shopping with no burdens.

Besides, it's right next to JR Nagasaki Station and the tram Nagasaki Eki Mae Station. You can go wherever you want in just a few walks.
If you want to take a Nagasaki Tour Bus, the tour station is also right around the corner.

The only flaw is that if you want to take a Nagasaki High-Speed Bus, which is across the street from this hotel, you will have to carry your heavy luggage and climb up to the cross-over bridge for passengers and climb down to get to the high-speed bus station.

There's no zebra crossing at the intersection! It's going to drive you crazy if you are carrying a 20 something kg luggage like I did.

But overall, it's a nice and convenient hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yen-YYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night while in Nagasaki on vacation. The hotel is actually connected to the station, but is very quiet with a nice view. We had a twin room that was very spacious, but fairly expensive. The room was very clean and the bathroom was of decent size. This was probably the nicest place we stayed while in Japan. There is a restaurant across the breezeway, and there is a large shopping area on the first level that is attached to the station. There always seemed to be something going on at the station courtyard, and the street car station was a stone's throw from the station. Breakfast was in the nearby restaurant, and was very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel, but as mentioned above, is a little expensive for most budget travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
Hotel Forza Nagasaki
#1 of 74 in Nagasaki
252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza ANA Nagasaki Gloverhill
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
Hotel Dormy Inn Nagasaki
#4 of 74 in Nagasaki
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Nagasaki BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Richmond Hotel Nagasaki Shianbashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki

Address: 1-1 Onouecho, Nagasaki 850-0058, Nagasaki Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki > Nagasaki Station
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nagasaki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nagasaki
#5 Business Hotel in Nagasaki
Price Range: £54 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your JR Kyushu Hotel Nagasaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jr Kyushu Nagasaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing