We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Hotel... Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Ranked #130 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel... Good Location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is clean, tidy and pretty standard. Upon arrival our travel company messed our room reservations up but the staff were more than willing to help solve this problem. The breakfast is ok but there is a restaurant next door which is cheap and does lovely food. Overall the hotel is pretty standard but its nice and in a really good area to access all Kuala Lumpur has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RA1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    158
    160
    45
    33
See reviews for
68
103
60
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were there on BB basis and I have to say I was very impressed with this hotel. Quite near to the city centre and wasn’t too expensive!!! We weren’t spending much of the time in the hotel and didn’t use it’s amenities! Great Rooms with lovely views.!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashan3253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Service was great and that location is brilliant. I found great sushi restaurant which 100meter from hotel .... Pub Street & food market street less than 50 meter from hotel ... fantastic nite life.. Can't wait to get back to KL and stay again. Highly recommended Alpha Genesis...!!

Room Tip: nice view room facing KLCC Twin Tower or KL Tower..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Loke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I've spent 3 nights there, it's very good: though located in the "Golden Triangle", where all the clubs, shopping malls and restaurants are, it is mostly quiet. The room is nice and clean, bathroom has a full-sized bath, everything is all right and totally inexpensive. The hotel situated just a few steps from Jalan Alor street, which is the main place if you wish to taste every yammy thing in KL :)

But be careful about rooms on the 9th floor: maybe little bit noisy, as the air-conditioners' main machines are on the roof just above those rooms.

Room Tip: be careful about rooms on the 9th floor: maybe little bit noisy, as the air-conditioners' main m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillamy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmondalpha, Public Relations Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Appreciate your review, your feedback are important to us. Hopefully see you in near future when return to Kuala Lumpur. Thanks and have a nice day..!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lonon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

when I first visited Kuala Lumpur, this was a splendid little hotel - I have been several times since - I will not be going back. It feels as though it has not been redecorated in the last 12 years since I first visited and the "white" sheets are distintly faded. Such a shame as it used to be a gem!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhrlyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Alpha Genesis for a night. It was in a great location - a few minutes walk to Sungei Wang, BB Plaza and Pavilion. It's great for bar hopping too as it's on Jalan Changkat/Alor. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms are small but clean, with a television.The hot water situation could be improved and made hotter though!!! Although the price was a bit steep (RM200 a night), I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ilymorgane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmondalpha, Public Relations Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Appreciate your review, hopefully see you in near future when return to Kuala Lumpur. Thanks and have a nice day..!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I did some solo travelling to Kuala Lumpur and decided to stay somewhere close to all the actions - Bukit Bintang. Decided to give this 3 star hotel a go as it is very very close to the main drag. The hotel is a bit far to walk to from the Bukit Bintang monoral station if you have a checked-in luggage. If you don't then it is easy 5 min walk. Taxi at KL is cheap but they never use the meter and tend to rip you off. Always negotiate for 1/2 the price of what they ask for. Catching a taxi from KL Sentral to this hotel should not cost more than 20 ringitt.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The checkin process was smooth and easy. The hotel is definitely 3 star and the online photos look better than the real thing. It is very dated and small. The room I got allocated is a queen bed non-smoking room facing the back street. You have to close the curtains as your neighbours will get to see you otherwise. It isn't clean and the bathroom is a bit like the 70s. The bed linen is very thin and of low quality.

I didn't eat at the hotel and cannot comment on the food.

Overall it is a cheap hotel for a short stay and providing you don't plan to stay inside the hotel it is not a bad option. I only used the place to sleep and shower.

Will I come back again? Probably not as there are many options and better value hotels around the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank au_syd_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desmondalpha, Manager at Alpha Genesis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments, give us a chance for improve. The Jalan Bukit Bintang is upgrading and their is construction on MRT, we believe after completion the pedestrian walk to our hotel will be must better and easier. See You...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#86 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#98 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#56 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#51 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nova
Hotel Nova
#258 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Genesis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Genesis Hotel

Property: Alpha Genesis Hotel
Address: 45 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Genesis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Genesis Hotel, your preferred destination is strategically located in Bukit Bintang at the heart of KL's Golden Triangle and just minutes walk to many shopping malls and specialty venues. • Pavilion Kuala Lumpur • Lot 10 (Isetan Department Store) • Fahrenheit 88 • Sungai Wang Plaza • Bukit Bintang Plaza (Metrojaya Department Store) • Low Yat Plaza (IT Mall) • Starhill Gallery • Berjaya Times Square • Imbi Plaza (IT Mall). • Jalan Alor food street with famous local foods, fruits and souvenirs day and night. • Changkat Bukit Bintang enclave packed with vibrant nightlife, lined with international restaurant and bars. This vicinity is a must for locals and tourists to visit and savor different flavors of day and evening activities. • KLCC and the landmark twin towers is interconnected with the Pavilion shopping mall by air conditioned walkaway! and only a 25 minutes stroll from our Hotel, or a short taxi ride away. • KL city free shuttle bus just 10min away from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpha Genesis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Genesis Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Alpha Genesis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing