We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good tasting BBQ”

Uncle R' Original Charcoal BBQ Restaurant
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good tasting BBQ”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Very simple decorated restaurant. Barely any ambience. But the food is great. They barbecue the dishes at their main door, giving the whole street apetizing aroma. Should go for their mixed grill. At least you get to taste most of the meat on the menu. Not pricey at all. They also have other dishes besides barbeque. Do go early on weekends as some times they may be full.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank damianteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Food, Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We've been to Uncle R's quite a few times. My Son loves the Sausage Set, I usually eat the Mixed Grill or the Seafood Platter... and My husband has anything! Lovely food, very REASONABLY priced, Family Friendly and Relaxed Atmosphere. We like it so much, we've even had a few family gatherings there!

The Owner, Uncle Ronnie is very friendly and if you chat with him, he might even let you grill your own food! The last time we were there, there was an Australian eating on his own.. we chatted with him and turns out he googled the Restaurant, took a cab from KL city all the way there just to eat!

Thumbs Up!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojolovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor, Puchong
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply delicious and CHEAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I order the grilled lamb and my wife order an mix meat (consist of chicken,lamb,beef)....the taste is delicious and the price are very very affordable too......the owner it self (ronnie) is very friendly and helpful.Will go there again to try his "Sang Har Mee".....he has shown us the prawn........very fresh and very,very,very the big (30cm long)....and the price is seasonal.....must try on my next visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kennyowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILAN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Very simple place, with few tables and real charcoal outside... you can look cooking or cook yourself if you ask :) lamb was good, but they have different type of meat. My advice is to make a call and tell you are going, ask for Uncle R ( ronnie) and tell what would you like to eat... if he doesnt have, he will go buy... very cheap , and after my visit he learned how to make italian tomato sauce... taxi driver make mistake to find the place , so insist if he doesnt find it... the place exist and its very visible from outside. Fresh fruit juices....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidepietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Brilliant Western BBQ”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Brilliant Western and seafood BBQ , slow grilled on traditional charcoal pit (can smell the charcoal on the meat) right infront of the restaurant by Uncle Ronny himself. Meat is tender served with Uncle R's special gravy (recipe is secret) even better than Yut Loy of Kuala Kangsar.. Price is very reasonable, much cheaper than Vic Station and the 5 star hotels. Ambiance is retro, with backgrounf music from the 60s & 70s.

Helpful?
Thank shariffmshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle R' Original Charcoal BBQ Restaurant also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing