We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok restaurant, but would not come back”
Review of Bijan

Bijan
Ranked #30 of 4,174 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bijan opened its doors in September 2003 to offer a unique dining experience to discerning palates. The Bijan experience is modern in presentation yet wholesome in flavour. Traditional Malay cuisine is taken out of hawker stalls and buffet lines, and served against a lush backdrop. Modern in its surroundings with distinctive Asian accents, Bijan is warm, yet chic; intimate yet spacious.At Bijan restaurant, we are innovating ways of enjoying Malay food, introducing accompanying wine to enhance flavours and ways of preparing local delicacies in a fine balance of old and new. Our dishes are a mix of recipes handed down over the generations and innovations of the real thing, to produce forgotten favourites and delicious new flavours and textures.Located a mere stone throw’s away from KLCC and Bukit Bintang, Bijan is the ultimate destination for fine Malay cuisine. It is an oasis where you can unwind with a cool glass of wine while the food remains deliciously and unmistakably Malay. Enjoy pre-dinner drinks on the terrace while sampling our delicate canapés.Bijan restaurant won Best Malay Restaurant in 2004, just a year after we opened. We can also be found in Malaysia Tatler’s Top 100 Restaurants, The Lonely Planet Guide to Malaysia, The Miele Guide to just name a few.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant, but would not come back”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Went four guys for a dinner at Bijan. Had heard very good things about this place, so our expectations was also high.
The interior and atmosphere was nice and we had the possibility to sit in- or outside.

There was a good mix of different dishes and perfect amount to choose from. Wine list was also acceptable.
The food was at best average and very bland. The staff was not very observant and I left the restaurant with an empty feeling.

The prices for this type of restaurant is fair but the food was definitely not up to standards.
Would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIO, Manager at Bijan, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your review. We regret that your dining experience with us was not up to expectations. We will definitely take note of your feedback for further improvements. We do hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    354
    113
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal, great food”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Started our meal with nice enough cocktails and our first starter was really delicious pancakes Daging Bungkus Kukus, minced meat & herbs wrapped within a layer of pancake & coconut gravy. The pancakes were very lights and provided for a great start to the meal.

We followed with the Kerutup Daging which was a very nice beef curry which we finished without problem.

The Ayama Masak Kuzi was not as enjoyable (we do prefer the Thai curries) but nice enough. We certainly thought the place was very nice and the food enjoyable.

Many Malaysians would baulk at the idea to pay 32 MYR for a main course when the street fare is only a small portion of this. Hence the restaurant is very popular with foreigners who constitute the majority of the customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnSINSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIO, Manager at Bijan, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We do tend to get many foreigners dining with us as there are very few restaurants serving authentic Malay cuisine with a nice ambiance. We do get many locals who also take the opportunity to show off Malay food to their visiting friends at Bijan rather than at the street stalls. We do look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, England
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We visited this restaurant with an expat friend who had been before. The food was very average and the service was not a lot better. It was quite busy but this really wasn't an excuse for any of the issues.
Couldn't recommend this establishment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cftjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIO, Manager at Bijan, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your review. We regret that your dining experience with us was less than satisfactory. Your feedback will be looked into for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Another very good meal, but....”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a repeat visit as last time we had a very good meal so I wanted to take my son and daughter for a nice meal on their last night here, having tried street food, Malaysian Indian, Chinese and Thai food. As before it was a lovely meal. But it's a shame they served one wrong course so one of us had to wait for the right dish to arrive. When it did arrive it did so with not one word of apology! Why do so many waiters fail to recognise the basic customer is always right policy? Is it lack of training? Local culture could be used as an excuse but it ignores the culture of the receiver, the customer. Otherwise another vg meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyKnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIO, Manager at Bijan, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for dining at Bijan again and for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your meal with us but apologise for the error in the order and for the lack of an apology for the incident. We will certainly look into improving on this. We do hope to have you back at Bijan again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food but toned down”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were told that the Bijan restaurant was the best Malay cuisine in Kuala Lumpur, my wife and I was really looking forward to the evening. The restaurant has really great ambiance and the setting also impressive and one could not fault the excellent service, however the food although very nice was toned down for western tastes. The evening we dined at the Bijan there wasn’t one local person in the restaurant apart from the staff. The capacity of the restaurant is quite large and it was disappointing see no locals dinning in this establishment. The restaurant is famous for ribs which we tried with fish and chicken dishes, it was all very nice but not the Malay cuisine that I have experienced elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChinaGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIO, Manager at Bijan, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your dining experience with us. As we are the one of the best Malay restaurants in Kuala Lumpur we do tend to get many foreign visitors but rest assured the locals like us too! We do try to keep our recipes as authentically Malay as we can. Your comment will be passed on to our chef for action. We hope to have you back at Bijan again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bijan also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Bijan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing