We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and spacious room however breakfast not so tempting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Ranked #45 of 356 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived hotel at 12pm and they allowed early check in. No queue so it was quite a smooth check in for me. Room is spacious n comfy. Breakfast is not so tempting though. Link to shopping mall which is convenient for tourist who bring baby with them. Overall, recommended for a short stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We note your comment on breakfast, with a large range of International guests using the Spread Restaurant, we do try to provide sufficient variety and should you have anything specific in mind, please let us know through the hotel’s E-questionnaire survey. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Kuala Lumpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Gardens, super location with the Mid Valley Mega Mall & Gardens Mall. Staff are friendly, room service is quite good, endless options of restaurants and shops within walking distance. 15 minute drive to KLCC (Petronas Towers).

Room Tip: KLCC view room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EedhamRasheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Kuala Lumpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

arriving late night I found front desk staff very junior
while being on executive floor / room I had to pay full price for a continental breakfast brought to room
pressing destroyed my business jacket (no excuse)
after long day of business meeting back at 10 pm, the room not made, breakfast also still left in room
concierge asleep and called blue taxi (more expensive) despite my request for standard taxi / means you pay 50 % more for taxi ride
all in all not really a luxury or even standard hotel. check well if you don t find other opportunities around at same or better price
staff desperately needs training training training
(nice pool for lap swimming also I saw it only from my window)

Room Tip: do not expect great service / even duty manager is often clueless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneva2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. We note your comments about our front desk staff, concierge, the breakfast charges and housekeeping issue on your business jacket. We would like to seek your kind assistance to email us your particulars and check-in details for us to investigate further. You may email to commghr@stgiles-hotels.com.

Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Again, we have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I went for a one night stay just to be relax and stress free but when I arrive at 3.30pm the room wasn't ready and was told to wait for another hour. No consolation or appeal by the reception counter to ease the tension felt.. as no explanation to why the room is not available. Then when asked about valet was told that it'll be settle by the hotel reception counter. After that when I want to go out was asked to pay for valet service rm15 per entry and not as mentioned before this. Your hotel did not appologize for the mis information about the valet nor the room matter. Then it took then more than an hour to sent my luggage to the room. Ended up my husband went to concierge counter to get our luggage. And you call urself 5 star? U dont deserve even 3 star.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyanah2775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. With regards to the delay in room availability, in general our check in time is 2.00pm with check out designated for 12 midday and we try to be flexible on both of these when we can, provided that occupancies do not compromise this flexibility. Over June, most hotels in Kuala Lumpur, run at high occupancy and regretfully, this sometimes impacts on the ability to get all rooms turned around in the time available. This is not a daily occurrence but lease accept our apologies that we were not able to meet your expectation on this occasion

Regarding your comment on the valet parking fee, the valet parking facility is handled by the Gardens Mall’s contracted valet operator and the hotel has a special negotiated rate at RM15.00 nett per entry per day (24 hours) applicable for in-house guests. The ticket needs to be validated at either the Residence front desk or the Concierge desk at the hotel and it seems that confusion over this has happened. Please accept our apologies if this information was not conveyed accurately.

Please be assured that the concerns brought up have not been taken lightly and we will look to improve on the areas that you have highlighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed there on a business trip, the location was good, hotel is very clean and sit right on top of shopping mall, big ones. room is clean with walk-in shower, closet and internet was excellent. staff was friendly and generous. only annoying thing is that I had to wait almost 2 hours for the room to be ready but it was ok. Gym was big with enoughe quipments and treadmills.
Pros:-
- Shopping mall at your feet!
- Room is clean and nice
- Good gym (didn't try the swimming pool)
- Friendly staff

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakon_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Kuala Lumpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I would consider this place as old, but not very old. Some parts can definitely be upgraded. But the room was nice, they have plenty of breakfast buffet options! Easy access to the Gardens shopping center and Midvalley mega mall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leyana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We note your comment about the improvement that we can enhance better. Nevertheless we are happy that you enjoyed the facilities in the hotel and the shopping mall. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Kuala Lumpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

this one perfect example of dont judge the book by its cover.we stayed in this hotel as well as the residence.Before booking this hotel , the reservation department created a number of fuss and headaches (especially miss.Nicole),she was unprofessional and lack of ability to even conserve with client(Dealing with her was like dealing with a fish monger in a market),even due to all this fuss we still thought this hotel was worthwhile as it does profound luxury by its look. when we arrived we dropped off one of our family member at the hotel and were told to move forward for the residence.Upon arriving at the residence it looks sloppy at the lobby itself,when inquired regarding the valet parking , we were told you have to make a round and go towards the hotel site again and park there for valet! we were shocked , as it was a busy and packed day and jam , and now they are saying make a big round !! what type hotel doesnt even provide a parking service which would convenience for the clients?how do u expect people to park the car there and then push their things n come forward (this is 5 star my god even a budget hotel provide better service) this shows lack of responsibility by the hotel staff and negligence showed by the hotel authority itself to not show any care or pampering for their guest.Our check in itself took an full hour , when asked why the delay , we were given unreasonable excuses which you cant even digest.Arrived at the room , the amenities weren't given fully and no tv remotes at all and even dvd player wasn't there.the next day we went to the pool side and shocked too (it was such a tiny pool facing some construction site and the highway and there wasnt a sauna nor a jacuzzi !! the chair was covered with a white cloth and worst of all it was dirty had to put towel all over it just to sit n enjoy the morning sunlight.What sorts of 5 star hotel comes with this much bad service ? this kind of facilities are even able at 3 star hotel these days. our check out was late as hell because the concierge took more than 20 mins just to come and collect the luggage, and again delayed there and i was told by other family member as well the hotel service was bad as well.What sorts of hotel are you running ? is this how a star hotel that always stated profound luxury treates their guest without any sense of responsibilty but charges nearly rm1k for their rooms per nite ? if it werent for the location i would grade this hotel zero!!teach your staff from the reservation to the door bell some manners (this isnt pasar malam ok where the staffs have no manners and being irresponsible).we are paying guest and we shouldnt get treated with this sorts of attitude and negligence

Room Tip: whatever you would ask the reservation , they will do what they want so dont bother wasting your tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate on why our services and facilities did not meet your expectations. We have taken note on all the valuable comments from your good self and please be assured that it has been brought to the attention of the Departments concerned and the issue is being addressed to ensure we achieve the appropriate level of service and facilities in the future.

Regards to your comment on the valet parking fee, the valet parking facility is handled by the Gardens Mall’s contracted valet operator. Regretfully, due to fire access requirements to the surrounding mall, the valet operator was required to move to the central Mall location. This does mean that the only way to the counter is due drive back to the Mall entrance point. Although residence staff would like to assist with the parking of cars, insurance issues prevent this from happening. We are in discussions with the Valet operators to see if they can dispense a parker to the Residence entry when guests arrive to help improve this experience. For additional information, if one is willing to self park, approximately 20m from the Residence lobby, there is an immediate access to the B 1, 2 and 3 parking zones directly below. The Residence has a negotiated rate RM5 per day upon validation of the ticket at the front desk.

Once again we apologize for the entire inconveniences trip you have faced. Your satisfaction is our priority and it’s our objective to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
#72 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#76 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
902 reviews
1.2 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
#41 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
1,391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
#23 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
4,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel & Residences

Address: Lingkaran Syed Putra | Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#43 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £73 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gardens Hotel & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers who seek an enhanced stay, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is centrally located in the vibrant city of Kuala Lumpur within the precinct of The Gardens, Mid Valley City. Its strategic location combined with unpretentious and warm Malaysian hospitality transforms your ordinary hotel stay into a totally fulfilling experience. The hotel's 647 premier accommodations with 448 elegantly furnished guestrooms at The Gardens Hotel and 199 luxuriously spacious fully serviced residences at The Gardens Residences provides total comfort in well-designed and contemporary decor. Privacy is assured for hotel and residences guests as there are separate entrances and lobbies for each yet access to facilities is seamlessly linked through the 5th and 6th floors of the complex. The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is the first hotel in Malaysia to offer a non smoking environment throughout its guestrooms and enclosed areas. Linked to The Gardens Mall, it is surrounded by a shopping haven featuring key tenants in the form of Robinsons, Isetan, Premier Golden Screen Cineplex as well as over 200 premium branded boutiques and international offices in The Gardens North & South Towers. Undoubtedly, Mid Valley City, Kuala Lumpur is one of Malaysia's favourite destinations providing the most compelling leisure, hospitality, retail and office opportunity in South East Asia. With so much to offer and the world at your doorstep, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is a smart and inspired choice to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Gardens Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens Hotel And Residences
Gardens Hotel Kuala Lumpur
The Gardens Hotel Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing