We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Ranked #39 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Karachi
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Unspectacular”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is a little bit removed from the town center (taxi into the town center ranges from MYR 10 to 20 depending on your haggling skills and the weather), right next door to two major shopping malls and associated restaurant clusters.

Check in and check out were both relatively smooth, staff's communication skills in English were fine. Room was comfortable, if unspectacular, with partial views of the KL skyline.

Breakfast selection was pretty good, better than my expectation from a 4* business hotel (which was my expectation of the property), and the buffet lunch (part of the conference package) was also varied and decent in quality. With quite a few options for dining literally 30 seconds' walk away, didn't try their restaurants.

Concierge, whom I approached for advice on a day trip, was not very knowledgeable and couldn't really help with my requirements. if you need some advice on sightseeing, a better option is to get chatting to a taxi driver or two.

In-room internet was part of the room rate and of decent speed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mansooree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences.

We have taken note on the valuable comments from your good self and please be assured that it has been brought to the attention of the Department concerned and the issue is being addressed to ensure we achieve the appropriate level of service in the future.

Nevertheless we are happy that you enjoyed the facilities in the hotel and the shopping mall. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    546
    164
    50
    50
See reviews for
334
148
47
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Checked-in on Aug 19 at the Executive Lounge of The Gardens Hotel & Residences.
Clearly states Executive Lounge is a designated Facility for the use of our in-house Executive Floor Guest, however imposes restrictions on Children below 12 years of age not permitted to enter Executive Lounge.
Why make Guest's pay prior to stating rules and conditions?
Upon checking-in (and of course after paying), my Daughter was permitted to pre-dinner snacks.
Room No. is 2514 (Executive Floor) with Bathtub knob damaged, as such water could not be drained out. See pictures...
Shower area water cant be drained as sink hole clogged. See pictures...
Requested Maintenance to come and see, surprisingly they turned up this morning Aug 20.
And this morning, not permitted to have Breakfast at the Executive Lounge due to the fact that my Daughter is under 12.
Was advised that Staff must adhere to rules! Why today and not yesterday?
Went to Coffee House for Breakfast and there isn't even a Coffee Machine at the Restaurant!! So much for Luxury!
You make your own Coffee with hot water, then add milk at different Buffet area!
So much for Luxury!
Requested a Meet with the GM immediately, and nothing but excuses, excuses, excuses.
Excuses i.e. GM is in Budget Meeting, GM not around & (the best of all), GM can't be located.
What a joke!!
Tables at Coffee House not cleaned and forced to sit at isolated area.
Shocked to see Coffee House Air-conditioned outlet rusted! Luxury indeed! Please see pictures.
Requested for scrambled egg, and good God!...please don't even bother asking, as egg was semi scrambled, fried and half/semi-cooked. Pls see pictures.
Requested a second Meet with GM through GM's Secretary, and GM cant be located?
What an excuse!
Met with Resident Manager whom listened to our issues, and 'Sorry' mentioned approximately 12x without any solution...
Please don't stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences and the term Luxury should not be used, as this Hotel is clearly not even close to supposedly Luxury!
Checking-out Aug 21, and moving to The Ascott.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arwsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Your comments in your review are noted. Regarding the allowing of children into Executive lounges, this is a matter for each individual hotel to decide on depending on the mix of clientele. The Gardens Hotel and Residence is one of many hotel’s that practice this policy and we do our best to ensure that our guests are made aware of this prior to making a reservation by stating this on our websites, advising this on reservations confirmations and also during check in procedure. Your other areas of concern are also noted and the General Manager apologizes that these were not able to be discussed during the time of your stay. Due to the size of operations, the hotel senior management consists of a qualified Resident Manager who is vested with the responsibility of handling operational matters whenever the General Manager is not on site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is filled with friendly people but I am not looking for new friends. The staff on the front desk barely speak English, which is alright if at least she gets the basics right, but even basic difference between Mr. and Ms. seems to be really challenging for her.
At "The Spread" (breakfast restaurant), there are two staff checking whether your name is on the list but no one send you to your table and ensure that coffee is served (which is the standard of every other hotel around the world). I went for breakfast at 9am, there were no clean table. When i asked for cutlery (as there were none on the table), the staff conveniently forgot to attend to my request. Alas i settled with eating fruits with my fingers and going to the mall for a cup of coffee.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SetiawanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate on why our services and facilities did not meet your expectations. We have taken note on all the valuable comments from your good self and please be assured that it has been brought to the attention of the Departments concerned and the issue is being addressed to ensure we achieve the appropriate level of service and facilities in the future.

Once again we apologize for the entire inconveniences trip you have faced. Your satisfaction is our priority and it’s our objective to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is clean, great service, included free wi-fi, attached to two large shopping malls which are a 30 sec walk from the lobby. Not great location if you like to walk to places instead of taking a taxi (although taxi's are very inexpensive) because there's nothing but construction around at the time we stayed. The best thing about this hotel was the Executive Lounge. They serve a hot breakfast, mid afternoon snacks and a 2 hr complementary happy hour and are located on the 29th floor which afforded us with a breathtaking view of KL. This worked perfectly for us as we were working and it was not only convenient but also tasted great. However, our client booked and paid for the room so not sure what the cost was to allow us use of the Executive Lounge but it was a wonderful experience for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We note your comment about the construction around which is part of greater KL projects. Nevertheless we are happy that you enjoyed the facilities in the hotel and the shopping mall. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights and it was great. Even though there was some hiccups during check-in, the staff was friendly and helpful. My colleague and I were initially given rooms on different level due to the packed occupancy. However, upon request, the staff who helped with the check-in assisted us to switch both our rooms to the same floor.

Spacious room with ample space. Great location with malls just besides the hotel and the breakfast spread is wonderful (coffee can be improved though).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojojoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We note your comment on some of the improvement we can enhance further and should you have anything specific in mind, please let us know through the hotel’s E-questionnaire survey. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We chose the hotel because of its great location, conveniently seated right beside 2 very big malls. The shops and eateries within its vicinity offer great varieties and convenience. The room we had was rather spacious and well laid out and comfortable. The bathroom is nicely tucked away, it has a bathtub & a shower, with the toilet in a cubicle. The wardrobe is also within the bathroom area and that's nice!
Breakfast was disappointing, despite the widespread, nothing really enticing and food quality is to be desired. However, there was a saving grace, crossiants! Those crossiants were really good and they were kept inside a warmer.
The staff were friendly and pleasant. I had to leave early in the morning for the airport before breakfast starts and they sent a packed breakfast up to my room.
Though it was a short 2 nights stay, but I had no complaints and would recommend it for those who like a good, convenient location hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isis_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. We note your comment on breakfast, we do try to provide sufficient variety and should you have anything specific in mind, please let us know through the hotel’s E-questionnaire survey.

Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Went for a one week seminar at the Gardens Hotel last week and enjoyed the stay there. Very convenient with mall connected to the hotel. Easy access to food & beverages establishment and supermarket. Room was nice and comfortable. Very good security and feel safe in this hotel. Will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommunicationsMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Gardens Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing in to Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments and are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Gardens Hotel & Residences. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Kuala Lumpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
#65 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cititel Mid Valley
Cititel Mid Valley
#66 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#15 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Sentral Kuala Lumpur
#28 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
3.4 mi away
Fraser Residence Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Residence Kuala Lumpur
#30 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel & Residences

Property: The Gardens Hotel & Residences
Address: Lingkaran Syed Putra | Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gardens Hotel & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to meet the needs of business and leisure travelers who seek an enhanced stay, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is centrally located in the vibrant city of Kuala Lumpur within the precinct of The Gardens, Mid Valley City. Its strategic location combined with unpretentious and warm Malaysian hospitality transforms your ordinary hotel stay into a totally fulfilling experience. The hotel's 647 premier accommodations with 448 elegantly furnished guestrooms at The Gardens Hotel and 199 luxuriously spacious fully serviced residences at The Gardens Residences provides total comfort in well-designed and contemporary decor. Privacy is assured for hotel and residences guests as there are separate entrances and lobbies for each yet access to facilities is seamlessly linked through the 5th and 6th floors of the complex. The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is the first hotel in Malaysia to offer a non smoking environment throughout its guestrooms and enclosed areas. Linked to The Gardens Mall, it is surrounded by a shopping haven featuring key tenants in the form of Robinsons, Isetan, Premier Golden Screen Cineplex as well as over 200 premium branded boutiques and international offices in The Gardens North & South Towers. Undoubtedly, Mid Valley City, Kuala Lumpur is one of Malaysia's favourite destinations providing the most compelling leisure, hospitality, retail and office opportunity in South East Asia. With so much to offer and the world at your doorstep, The Gardens-A St Giles Signature Hotel & Residences is a smart and inspired choice to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gardens Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens Hotel And Residences
Gardens Hotel Kuala Lumpur
The Gardens Hotel Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing