We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for shopping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ansa Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #72 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location for shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel! Walking distance to Pavillion, Fahrenheit, Lot 10, and just down the road is Times Square.
Rooms were clean and free wifi. Having a connecting room for our kids was even better. We never had the breakfast, only because I know there is so many places to eat at in the area. Hotel guests get a 15% discount from the Massage Spa place on the second floor, and kids under twelve get free fish spa, so I think that is a great bonus. Hotel staff are so friendly and eager to assist you with anything. If I was to suggest anything to management, it would to be to invest in some sort of pool for guests.....nothing beats, cooling your heels off in a pool after watching your wife max out the credit card at the shopping malls.....apart from that, I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jae67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    520
    188
    67
    40
See reviews for
177
343
118
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
austin tx
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I wanted to report on a good experience with Hotel Piccolo in Kuala Lumpur. We were scheduled to stay there in August 2012 but a medical emergency caused us to have to cancel the prepaid reservation. The hotel staff was very accommodating in refunding our charges and wished us well. Throughout the planning, they answered my emails promptly with information about transfers to the hotel and how to get around KL. I hope we can stay there on another trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIC101, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for posting a positive review, much appreciated. We wish you a speedy recovery and look forward to welcome you and your family to stay with us again for your next leisure trip.

With our best personal regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Great Location, shame about the hotel.
Room - small and pokey - if you are six feet tall, the bed is too short. Two people in the room would constitute a crowd.
Bathroom - a bit of a joke, the basin is next to a plug socket in the room, no (shaving) mirror in front of the basin. Shower and toilet are separate cubicles partitioned by glass. I have no idea what women would make of the "bathroom".
One plug socket didn't work.
I asked where breakfast was served to be told they don't have a restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room at the front of the hotel - sirens several times during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIC101, General Manager at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for the review.

The room that you stayed in, is our superior category, however, we do have different categories to choose from whereby the bed is of King size and rates differs.

Our bathroom design is different due to the ‘trendy’ layout done; however, we do have guests who like it. Please accept our sincere apologies for the ‘out-of-order’ socket and thank you for highlighting, we will ensure that housekeeping staff is to check that all electrical items and plugs / socket work before guest check-in.

Although we do not have any F&B outlet, the hotel is surrounded by many Food & beverage outlets that are within walking distance and guests will be spoilt for many choices to choose from.

Thank you for staying with and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My partner and I stayed at the piccolo hotel in July 2012. We paid approx au$107 a night for an 'executive room'. The room was very big and spacey however the bathroom was connected to the room which was a little strange but a bit quirky at the same time. The shower was big but felt a little grimy to me and the toilets walls didn't go to the roof so everyone else in the room could hear everything. We got free wifi which was a bonus. The room also came with free breakfast but they didn't tell us before we booked that the breakfast was actually out of the hotel and down the street. Not a huge problem but it is nice just to have brekky in the hotel and then go back to the hotel room to get ready for the day. We didn't particularly enjoy the food at breakfast (we had bread and jam everyday and a few hash browns) but each to their own I guess. The hotels location was good for shopping enthusiasts. 5 minutes walk to 3 different shopping centers. Pavilion shopping centre is down the street and this has a pedestrian walkway that goes all the way to the patrona towers. Don't book a taxi back to the airport through the hotel, they wanted 135MYR but we asked a few taxi drivers around and we got it for 80MYR. If I was to visit again I probably would stay at a hotel that is closer to china town but the piccolo was a nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank -_-kateeeeeeeeee-_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Although the staff were not the best, and the restaurant/bar staff were rude (but I think this is an independent establishment) this is a good hotel in a good location. Modern design, with nice spacious rooms, perfect for business or leisure. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarreninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medan, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I've stayed for 2 nights on Saturday n Sunday. It's weekend...when u walked out from the hotel entrance, you'll trapped with human traffic jam. But that's the point, you're at the most famous Bukit Bintang, the heart of KL. Places of interest just in walking distance. I just have one complaint about the breakfast. Usually at this rate price hotel, they'll give you buffet breakfast at in-house restaurant, but at Piccolo you'll have to walk outside the hotel and have your breakfast at an outdoor cafe with limited choice of f&b.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelotz8828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had checked out this hotel on another trip to KL and the rooms seemed really nice, as did the hotel. The desk clerk gave us a price (which we nearly fainted at) but suggested we try Agoda. We paid about AUS$90 and thought that was OK. Upon arrival the reception clerk was quite off-hand. Usually pricey hotels have pricey manners. We felt rather offended at his attitude. The room was modern, nicely decorated and clean. That's about all I can say. The breakfast room was located 100 meters at least down the road even though they do have a restaurant that they could have used. The breakfast was very mediocre, especially for Asia (which have awesome breakfasts): ready-made omelette, croissants/muffins/breads, fruit (watermelon and canteloupe), fruit juice and ..... wait for it .... NESCAFE. Sorry, unacceptable. The following day we needed to take a taxi to the airport at 7.30am. We checked the opening times for breakfast and it was 7.00am. We explained why we needed to be there. At 7.10am we arrived and there was nothing ready. We eventually got eggs and no toast, which we had to ask for. No juice. No fruit. Not worth the price, even with the Agoda discount. Positives: great location. Keep in mind that there are heaps of hotels here of all categories.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIC101, Director of Sales at Ansa Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you were able to take advantage of the promotion from Agoda.

Your comments raised are extremely valuable and necessary in our efforts to improve our service standards and anticipating guests’ needs and expectation.

Please do not let this experience dampen your future stay with us during your next business or leisure visit to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#47 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#50 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#83 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
#115 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#25 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#45 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansa Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansa Kuala Lumpur

Property: Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Address: 101 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Piccolo Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#53 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ansa Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With award-winning designs throughout, this swanky boutique pad will leave you wishing that your place looked like this. After a full day in the city there's nothing better than spoiling yourself in the heavenly spa before heading out to any of the nearby dining and clubbing options just minutes from the hotel. Chic rooms are warm, inviting and indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ansa Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing