We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 323 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Clean room, comfortable bed, good air condition, fast WIFI;)
offering warm-heart tourist guide for me, helping me take a taxi to the KL central, thanks for Christina and Michael bring me to little India to have a wonderful India breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Su D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    29
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
53
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I've lived and traveled in Asia for the past 30 years and rate Sarang Galloway as my best B&B stay. The owners ,Michael and Christina , led me through the culinary delights of KL and had their personal physician tend to me when I fell ill....perfect hosts ....kind, attentive and genuinely interested in their guests. At my request..Anita ,their Phillippina manager ,delivered a morning porridge from a local restaurant for three days running..She and Christina nursed me back to health and had me up and enjoying the city.
They seemed surprised at their # 1 rating...I wasn't .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabotcroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in an apartment on the 21st floor for several nights. The apartment block is called Casa Mutiara and our hosts, Michael and Christina, own a couple of apartments in this building as well as a couple of guesthouses close by.
On arrival we were greeted by Anita who went through various maps of KL with us.
We were put into a 3 bedroom apartment however, as it was just the two of us, the extra rooms were closed off which made made the sitting/ dining area rather gloomy and claustrophobic as it had no windows. Nevertheless, we had a very good view from the bedroom window, and found the place to be generally quiet - we slept well there and the bed was comfortable. We did not use the pool (we had a look and, as others have commented, it is a little too small for a proper swim and there is nowhere to lounge. Good views though.).
The apartment could have been cleaner - eg., the glass shower screen need a good scrub and the kettle was grubby. It was not hotel standard.
The internet connection was very poor - okay for checking emails but not much else.
Breakfast in the apartment was basic (brought to us by Anita) - generally rotis and curry sauce from the local Indian restaurant, plus some fruit. However, one morning Michael and Christina took us and some of their other guests out for breakfast in Little India, which was a nice gesture.
The location was very good - most places were walkable, Bukit Bintang (for food) was very close, as were various public transport links. Puduraya Bus Station (for buses to Penang etc..) was about 10 to 15 minutes walk away. It was pretty easy getting around.
Security seemed pretty good - it was not something we felt concerned about.
There is quite a lot of construction work going on in the immediate area.
Although pleasant enough, we did not feel that it was particularly good value for money. I suppose it is all about location, but we did think that we could have got better for the same price elsewhere in the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucySky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Michael, Christina and Anita were so helpful with suggestions of what to do in Kuala Lumpur and made sure we had a really lovely stay. The location was perfect for walking into the city. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The roti for breakfast was delicious! Would definitely recommend Sarang Rooms as the place to stay in Kuala Lumpur!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Sarang Galloway is a prewar house. that build during 1920+/-
it come with 4 room total but toilet is limited .....
easy go around.
15min walk to chinatown
10min walk to Hang tuah Monorail or Star Lrt station
10 min walk to bukit Bintang.
KLCC if you wish to walk just take you 30min,

food is not a problem during day or night from western to oriental choice .

tips : breakfast in the BB is local food. but you also can try the back lane curry mee. only open during weekday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONY Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
287 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

What a great place to stay...and that's why I always land up here... its a second home. Christina and Michael are now family, having stayed here so often. Shen , the lovely daughter, has gone off for further studies, to the US. Christina is now surrogate mother to all the young girls who stay here. Dropped in from Singapore for a few days, just to say hello....that's the kind of bonding this lovely couple have with their "residents".
Anita, the "help"....actually the manager, is also part of the family and boy, is she a great help to all. She takes care of all the nitty gritty of all the rooms and looks into and solves any little problem you may encounter.
Big airy rooms ..excellent breakfast at local eateries with the owners, usually an evening tour of a distant night market, and nothing is too small to take on.
You come in as a stranger and leave as a dear friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is my third review of Sarang Galloway and the third year I have stayed with them.

I was welcomed again as if I was family member and felt at home straight away. Anita, the manageress, was there to meet me late in the evening after a 12 hour flight from New Zealand. Nothing is any bother for her and she always has everything under control.

The high standard of cleanliness was the same as in previous years. Everything was neat and tidy. The breakfasts were very nice too.

Christina and Michael, the owners, along with Anita were a mine of information about what to do and where to visit. It was nice having chats with them too. I enjoyed the breakfast outings at various restaurants.

I hope to stay with them again and would recommend Sarang Galloway as a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.0 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,482 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paloma Inn
Hotel Paloma Inn
#5 of 323 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
#1 of 323 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6 Jalan Galloway | (Behind Swiss Garden Hotel, Jalan Pudu), Kuala Lumpur 50150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rent a room (starts from RM130 for single room) or the whole 4 bedroom house (starts from RM550). Sleeps up to 12 pax. Great for families or single travelers. All rooms with aircond and windows. Low density occupation ensures a comfortable stay. Close to Bukit Bintang, Jalan Alor, Twin Towers, Chinatown, Times Square, Little India. Taxis, Monorail and LRT stations nearby. 10mins from KL Sentral and Pudu Sentral. So easy and cheap to get around. We also have food tours, night market tours and cooking class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarang Galloway Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarang Galloway Bed And Breakfast
Sarang Galloway Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing