We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place,friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical GuestHouse
Ranked #109 of 338 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place,friendly staff”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've been coming in and again to this guesthouse for about few years in between of my travelling time in Malaysia and also Southeast Asia. The guesthouse is just a walking distance from the bus station (Pudu Sentral) and also to Chinatown. The guesthouse as well is nearby to the Club area at Jalan Changkat Bukit Bintang.
They have different type of room.I usually look for the deluxe room with queen bed.It's more spacious than the twin bed.

Room Tip: The 2nd room near the reception is a good place or else, you can choose the double bed on the 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellebohemien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    42
    25
    5
    11
See reviews for
7
49
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Coming to KL for just a short trip, I've discover the tropical guesthouse from the website and thanks to the TripAdvisor, I have no regrets in choosing the tropical guesthouse as my place to stay in for a short visit. The booking I have made was well handled, even though I change my booking from 2 nights to 3 nights at the last minute, surprisingly it was on their book list. I can't be more happy. The staff was polite and friendly, those smiling makes me more happy. The room I was staying was a double Decker bed, air conditioned, the bed sheet were clean, and they even supply me a towel, which i didn't use because I brought myself one and a blanket of course. The rooms come with a small round table, and a plug in socket. I was amazed by the WiFi speed. The toilets were fine for me. Nevertheless, I enjoy my stay here. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikelynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Its a good and cheap guesthouse and on a quiet street. The toilets are nicely designed. The rooms are very small but rather comfortable. Staff is friendly. Localization of the guesthouse is also good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irmina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small, sheets almost clean but the location (near bars, food courts and restaurants), relaxed vibe, friendly staff (invited us for a meal for Chinese New Year) and western bathrooms make the guesthouse a cosy place in the city.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicolien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We visited Kuala Lumpur in January 2013 and had a drink at the Tropical Guest house and a chat with the really nice manager. When we realised that we had a night to spend there in January 2014 - we emailed the Tropical and booked a room in August 2013. We had numerous communications with the owner confirming our room back in August and September 2013. When we arrived (on the night of Tet!) - there was no listing of our booking and they were full!! The Manager brought us up the road to another guest house which was not a good standard but we did not have a choice as it was all very busy. We were disappointed as we had gone to so much trouble to book in advance. The Manager is a great guy but unfortunately, the owner, even though he informed her of the situation - never even emailed us to apologise for the mistake. Does not take a lot to do this so I was not impressed. Black mark for them unfortunately. We can't really rate it as we did not get to stay there but just a warning.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gilld001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very well located in Bukit Bintang (next to bars and restaurants, and next to Jalan Alor with all the chinese food courts). The staff was nice and gave us useful advice to discover Kuala Lumpur. The rooms and bathrooms are ok (not dirty, but not perfectly clean neither), even if they are a bit old. A little coat of paint would be appreciated!
Tropical Guesthouse is perfect for backpackers or young travelers who need a well located room, but who don't care of decoration and perfect cleanliness!

Room Tip: The room just next to the lobby has a double bed but no window. Upstairs rooms have windows but tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemnoizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is the most insane guesthouse I've ever stayed at. As I write, it's past 10pm and the music that is being blasted throughout the GH (there are actually speakers in the ceiling outside every room) shows no sign of relenting. It's a Monday.

When the music isn't blasting, you are sure to wake up from the person talking in the room next to yours or walking outside your door, which has all the sound proofing of cardboard.

Rooms are tiny, you will struggle to fit two people's luggage into the doubles. I booked the Deluxe Double, though I'm struggling to come up with what could possible constitute anything deluxe in it.

If you are not a fan of cigarette smoke in your room, don't stay in any of the front rooms as the smoke from the open reception will drift in.

The shared bathrooms have pebbled floors, which looks nice but unfortunately catches a lot of dirt. Towards the end of the day, they become somewhat yucky.

Probably a great place for all-night party backpackers, but for everyone else, give it a miss.

The front desk staff are a bit off-handed but seem ok for what this place is.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madlittlemover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Sahabat Guesthouse
Sahabat Guesthouse
#2 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Classic Inn
Classic Inn
#22 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 264 in Kuala Lumpur
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
#1 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse
#8 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 264 in Kuala Lumpur
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical GuestHouse

Property: Tropical GuestHouse
Address: 2 Tingkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical GuestHouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Guesthouse Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing