We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location to stay in KL, Bukit Bintang” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sungei Wang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sungei Wang Hotel
Ranked #139 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Location to stay in KL, Bukit Bintang”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The price of the room is fair and standard compared to other hotels nearby the Bukit Bintang area.
The location of the hotel is good as well, just that the security of the Hotel is low.

The bed sheet is old and the cleanness level of it is still acceptable (50%).

The best thing of this Hotel is, u can enjoy FREE Wifi with sustainable speed and enjoy delicious dinner/ supper at the restaurant just beside the hotel. The KEBAB is taste nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaviddeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    29
    19
    5
    9
See reviews for
19
18
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for 7 nights here! Basically the centre of everything. Subway, KFC and McDonald is just basically around the corner. and only few short walks to malls such as Pavilion, Lot 10, Starhill Gallery, Sungei Wang Plaza and few other malls. Basically we only use taxi to go to Sunway and KL Sentral. and Monorail station is just few blocks away (no sweat)! Accommodation, it is what you expect for a budget hotel in the centre of CBD. The toilet has nice hot shower. It's just that a lot of massage ladies outside the lobby. so beware of your kids. lols.

Room Tip: Make sure you put your TV on when you leave your room. Once our room was attended by room service wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lehen_bn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Good location with very short walking proximity to the shops in Bukit Bintang. However, the hotel needs some improvements.

We moved 4 times during our stay at the hotel. Despite emailing the hotel and asking for a clean room because of allergies, room 1 I was given had a bedroom wall covered in grey/black mould, with a bed and the doona resting nicely against the mould.

Room 2 had bedsheets which had been slept on and unchanged. Room 3's hot water did not work. Hot water problems seemed to occur particularly when it was raining. The TV connection was also halted due to rain.

Hotel staff (depending on who you spoke to) were helpful in moving us and were nice, but in addressing some issues, we were simply told room service did not work past 9pm and were told to suck it up.

Hotel wasn't bad but don't expect a comfortable top notch stay.

Also, the walls are very thin so you will hear your neighbours down the hall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fleur595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

stayed in the hotel before and after it is refurbished. trust me the change is good. new bed, wallpapers, toilets, heaters and air conditioners makes the stay utterly comfortable. this is a great hotel for those who opt for a budget stay and wanting no more than a clean n comfy room. not for those who wants swanky service, breakfast buffet and great view of the city because apparently the best room is the windowless rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my hubby checked into this hotel on 16th December 2013. Hotel staff are very friendly and professional. Love the clean room and comfortable bed. Price is very reasonable. Most of all it's near to shopping complexes and food stalls .

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jong s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

One of the terrible hotel I've been. looks ok outside, reasonable price but inside bit old fashion decoration. Feels like I'm back in 1980's. Room was ok but not very comfortable for long stay, enough for one night stay. Old fashion lifts, or you can try the stairs & might end up lost around inside the hotel! (can't find my way out)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FozzieAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here in April 2013, excellent rooms for the price you pay. I inquired all the hotels near bukit bintang and this was the best offer I could get. Location is too good, right in the middle of shopping and the nights are happening on the street.
They just dont offer breakfast but the room charge is low so you can easily eat on your own.

Room Tip: the room with 2 single beds is cheaper than the room with 1 double bed. They say 2 single beds cant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Usman Gaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#82 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Iris Garden Hotel
Iris Garden Hotel
#258 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#137 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#90 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Alpha Genesis Hotel
#117 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sungei Wang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sungei Wang Hotel

Property: Sungei Wang Hotel
Address: Sungei Wang Hotel 74-76 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sungei Wang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sungei Wang Hotel Bukit Bintang enjoys a wonderful setting in the heart of Kuala Lumpur. It has been established in Kuala Lumpur for over 30 years, and still remains the preferred choice for both business and leisure travellers - be it singles, families or groups. The hotel offers 69 rooms of various sizes with a friendly personal service. The monorail station is just across the street from our hotel and it can take you anywhere you want within Kuala Lumpur! Sungei Wang Hotel is strategically located in Bukit Bintang, next to the well known Changkat Bukit Bintang which is the city's hotspot for after-hours entertainment. Comfortable & affordable accommodation not only perfect for tourists but also ideal for families, business travelers and groups. All rooms are very clean, cozy, air conditioned and comprises a Minibar, Flat Screen TV, Clean Towels, Bathroom and Bathroom amenities. Great facilities consisting of in-room coffee/tea, working desk, free WiFi. Extremely convenient location with transport links to the Central and surrounding Kuala Lumpur. Fantastic location in Bukit Bintang, best known as Kuala Lumpur's trendiest shopping and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sungei Wang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing