We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in middle of Bukit Bintang”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #143 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my family twice during month of June, the have changed a lot since I have staying on it 2005, the rooms are big and very spacious but if prices can be little more economical it can be a perfect place to stay but I will still stay again in this hotel if I'll be in kl again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shahid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

With the rate they charge, maybe it is not qualify as budget hotel. The room is super basic, air conditioning, hot water, no hair dryer, no free wifi (they asked for RM5/day for wifi). Acceptable cleanliness, except the carpet is not very clean/dusty, and no slippers were provide.
One of the room given has no window, therefore, poor ventilation. And smoking is allowable in the room, so, it smells bad in both of our rooms
We went to this hotel for its superb location, since it is located "almost" on Jalan Bukit Bintang, with plenty of shopping malls around, also, directly across is Jalan Alor, where there are so many restaurants selling local foods.
Anyway, if you don't like to stay near crowded and noisy place, this is not for you. You should stay somewhere else, so long as it is closed to Monorail or LRT station, where you can easily access to Bukit Bintang area. You will definitely get a better room with the same rate this hotel charged.
Free car park is provided, helpful if you are driving your own car.
It is definitely NOT "one of the best hotel in Malaysia" as written in other reviews. There are plenty of real good hotels in Malaysia.

Pros: Location, acceptable cleanliness, free car park

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I found this hotel in accident - after being so stupid visiting KL in the super peak season without booking any hotel - I was dragging my luggage hotel to hotel and finally found this hotel as the oasis.
And since then - I frequently use this hotel whenever I am travelling with friends who cares about budget

Don't expect a super luxury hotel at Imperial.

Pros:
1. Superb location - in the middle of Bukit Bintang and just opposite the famour Jalan Alor for its hawker street food
2. Room is ok - just ok. but not too clean - hey, with the price what do you expect??

Cons:
1. Not really suitable for children
2. No breakfast - but you can easily have your breakfast at the surrounding area
3. SERVICE is a NO NO - the staff never smile

Room Tip: if you must bring your kids - take quad room, the room is bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Rooms are not too small and quite clean . But , no wifi and no breakfast . Bathroom is quite big . Toothpaste and toothbrush also support. Got window inside room and can view to bukit bintang , jalan alor .

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank YuShweYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Pros.
Great location
Clean bathroom
Clean towels

Cons.
Old Furniture
no internet but we had our wireless with us so we used it
stained bed sheets
torn bed sheets and covers

if u r on a low budget, this hotel is failry clean and in a great location..
it was a good stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

we stayed in this hotel on september 2012 with my parents and cousin.. funny is we just booked 1 room to save up. they are not strict on this,so we were quite happy.
the location is superb! its beside KFC and Bukit Bintang station! we just walked 5 minutes to Pavillion Mall.and just acroos the street of the hotel,is a bustling market for street foods,money changers,cheap souvenir items and taxis..
the hotel lobby is clean and minimalist with no furnitures except for 2 strong AC, 2 bench and the reception counter..
they have 2 elevators,dark hallways with hot and cold water counter in each floor.
the room is carpeted so make sure to bring slippers with you.they have 2 queen bed,4 pillows, old bedsheets and blankets.
the TV is old style but we didnt cared for we stayed mostly outdoors.bathroom is just fine.
AC working just fine.
In general,the hotel is old and moderately maintained but with the price we paid considering we were all 4 person inside plus the location...its excellent.
Yes I would recommend it to others..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nunu_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The exterior of the hotel (including the Lobby) looks clean and pristine. When we checked in, it was already 10am. Tired and starving from the flight. We just want to quickly check-in and shower then grab a bite. Everything was ok until we got to the room. We opened the door and there is this weird musky damp smelly smell that was stinking in the room. We had to leave the door open for quite awhile to air the room. The carpet was old and stained. I dont even dare to take my shoes off. I only took it off when i go to sleep and bath. Thank goodness the bathroom is decent. Also, they check us in to a twin room (2 single beds) when our room was supposed to be a queen size bed!

Upon seeing that, we head down to ask the receptionist to change our room. But she argued with us that we booked the single bed ones. We showed her the confirmation e-mail and said its subject to availability and continue to argue. Other cases we are being upgraded or given compensation. But she just go on arguing. So we got fed up and checked out the next day and booked at another hotel nearby.

NEVER AGAIN! Poor attitude. The hotel needs refurbishing and ALOT OF AIRING TO DO!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Menakun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#92 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alor Boutique Hotel
Alor Boutique Hotel
#221 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#51 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sungei Wang Hotel
Sungei Wang Hotel
#133 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#203 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 76-80 Cangkat Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £20 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Imperial Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing