We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #146 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

2nd time around to use this hotel while in Kuala Lumpur. We picked this hotel because it was relatively cheaper than the other hotels near Jalan Alor.

Rooms were okay, but don't expect a 5-star rooms. Location was really good, as this is just in front of Jalan Alor, where you can find hawker restaurants and stalls. It is walking distance to malls, and train station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yzQaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    28
    35
    6
    5
See reviews for
41
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tawau, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The check in process was quite slow. Rooms was not that clean. The Front counter staff not very friendly. The location of the hotel is okay nearby to shopping malls , BB plaza, Sungai Wang, Pavillion. No food outlet anyway outside plenty of food stalls.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanSerbastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel located in the great location of bukit bintang. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. However, the housekeeping staff was extremelly lazy.It happen that the bed cover got a little oinment spot, on the next day, the housekeeping staff called us directly to the room with a very unfriendly voice. The lady said we damage the bed cover and we should paid for it. I mean if we really damage their bed cover, we really didn't mind to pay it, but we don't damage anything and they ask us to pay for RM 180. The front office desk help to ask for the discount and we end up paying for RM150 for the little spot that supposed to be blanche with whitening chemical and little bit effort from housekeeping staff.
The room is carpet and window curtain was dirty. The pillow sheet also got some black spot (I guess the housekeeping will ask us to pay again tomorrow). Imperial hotel, I think you should put more attention to the housekeeping.
We also understand about laundry chemical, even red wine spot can remove by whitening chemical, and now the staff tell us the oinment spot can not remove at all.
Honestly we stay in this hotel many times already, but from now on we will stay away from this hotel.
tips: careful of the housekeeping staff, it is really our bad luck that we met housekeeping that want easy money from us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank heny-fu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Located at most busy cross street Cangkat Bukit Bintang. An old average business hotel that need do a lot of renovation. Their room and amenities were old fashioned and worn. you could feel the dust on the carpet under your feet. The Service just Okay but nothing special. They should do more effort on cleanliness and do a huge renovation to bring the better hospitality to the guest.

Room Tip: just ask the room at the highest floor that available because the streets are very crowded and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harinatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

this is the revisit trip to Kuala lumpur with my family member. Remember my previous trip i had stay in this hotel before...almost 4 years ago.

This second trip i will be going for a 2 week vacation in Kuala lumpur and genting.

Notice there is a difference with this hotel, things had been upgraded and have the staff still remember me the moment i go towards the check in-counter. A plus point for this...

This trip i will stay for few days and then go to genting and back to KL to stay in the same hotel.


Things i like about this hotel:
======================
1 - Friendly staff
2 - good memories of guest name
3 - Good location
4 - Cheap in terms of price
5 - Clean (as i don't like dirty & run down room condition)


Things i dislike:
============
1 - The traffic around Bukit Bintang, as i'm driving to this hotel and the traffic nearby is terrible.
2 - Food, the food stall quality in the nearby street is not authentic anymore


I really like this hotel....because it gave me a feeling of appreciated and welcome.

Stay tune for my next visit in other hotel...

Room Tip: Always make an reservation before hand, as this hotel is easily full especially during weekend and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kFcSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

on the 13th september 2013, our rooms 502and 503were being broken into. all of our luggages being cut open and ransacked and personal belonging stolen.according to the cctv, 2 chinese guys had some sort of a masterkey.they went from floor to floor trying to open doors,unfortunately they managed to open our room door.we notified the hotel security and they told us to make police report.we had to find our own way to the nearest police station at night.Not only that,they did not compensate for any of our loss. my friend and i were being moved into another room for the night.

the next morning when we went n look for the manager at about 7+am,we were being told that he/she will b coming in at 9.so we waited until 9+ still no sign. when i called the front desk they told me they would check for me but i did not get a follow up call on that.my friend and i then decided to go down and to the reception once more to only find our that the manager is on leave. my friends and i wasted th entire morning waiting.
since we've decided on changing hotel, they only gave us an extra 30minute from the usual check out time which is 1pm to check out.we had to rush and buy our luggages and repack everything before 1.30pm which i find it ridiculous.

i really think they should look into their security and customer service matter when it comes to things like this.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank mochachee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at imperial Hotel on April 2013. One of the good point is the location is excellent. You just need to cross the road and you can find many restaurant with a good food.

However, the customer service is really worst. I really suggest the management to conduct a hospitality trainning.
I got the room with the leak of shower and the bad smell of bath soap. I asked for the room change but the manager insisted that the room was fully booked and he said the enginering tried to fixed it. After several hours, the engineering said that the shower could't be fixed and it need change. I ask the guy manager again and after several arguments he allowed me to change the room.
I think hotel in the hospitality business shouldn't have this kind of attitude.
If you don't mind to stay in the hotel with bad customer service you can try this hotel but I really don't recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Alor Boutique Hotel
Alor Boutique Hotel
#224 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#89 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iris Garden Hotel
Iris Garden Hotel
#233 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#194 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#51 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 76-80 Cangkat Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Imperial Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing