We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the worst Hop On Hop Off buses, cheap though...”

Hop on Hop Off Bus Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #15 of 71 Tours in Kuala Lumpur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The best way to tour KL city is by KL Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour. KL Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour has 23 designated stops, which covers more than 70 attractions. It’s the best way of introduction to the city.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“One of the worst Hop On Hop Off buses, cheap though...”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Price was quite cheap for a Hop On Hop Off service but was only option available.

Each bus is very different, the first bus had a small outdoor section but with no commentary, this was only available inside. the seats were wooden bench types.

2nd Bus was perfect, open rooftop with commentary and normal seats

§rd bus was terrible, only option to sit covered indoors and see KL though windows full of scratches and tinted...

Would not recommend...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mhcd_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    312
    262
    195
    158
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ok experience”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We weren't sure what to expect from this bus tour give it has some pretty bad reviews, but gave it a go based upon others we've done. This was not a good as them, but was pretty cheap so we weren't too annoyed! Was a good way to see a bit more of KL but wasn't as informative as these tours usually are. The commentary was on speakers over the bus in English, not on headphones as advertised. The air con was welcome.
It was ok for a 2 1/2 hour loop, and to see a bit more of KL - but not the best bus tour ever!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great way to get your bearings in Kuala Lumpur”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Only had one day in KL so spent the morning on the Hop on Hop off bus and afternoon on the Be Tourist Eat Pray and Love Tour. How to get the most out of your 24 hours.....the Hop on Hop off bus was a great way of seeing a lot and getting oriented with KL. I didn't get off as the whole circuit takes between 2-3 hours but I have a list of places to head to when next back in KL. The bus was a bit old but it was out of the rain, air conditioned and had taped information at each stop....it's reasonably priced so suited me just fine! Recommend to couples, family's with teens, friends and like me solo travelers!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
“Best Way To See Kuala Lumpur”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have read some of the reviews in here and a lot are complaining. I have been on most of the Hop-On, Hop-Off Buses all over the world. This one is WAY better than the others. It is a double decker like all the other cities, but this was has half of the upper deck air conditioned. A very nice surprise considering KL is very hot most of the year. The traffic in KL is terrible and getting around is hard. Walking takes way too long and it is too hot outside. The Hop-On, Hop-Off Bus is the only source for really seeing the entire city for a cheap price of only $15US. If you just stay on the bus it takes 3 hours to complete the entire circle and all 22 stops. You can get on and get off at each stop and buses come around about every 20 minutes.
Anyone complaining in here clearly has not been on any of the other worlds buses with the same name. They simply don't compare. This bus is clean and on time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We enjoy HOHO trips when we are only in a city for a short time and this one was no exception. It's a really good way to get a feel for a place and learn a bit about it. The commentary was informative, the ride smooth but they lost a bit of the rating because the state of the bus was not up to scratch - torn and dirty seats.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hop on Hop Off Bus Kuala Lumpur also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Hop on Hop Off Bus Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing