We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for what you get”
Review of My City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
My City Hotel
Ranked #148 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
tasmania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“You pay for what you get”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We have been staying here on and of for 6 years. Having read most of the reviews on this hotel i can honestly say that most of them are right in one way or another.
But in the end you get what you pay for we have always found it a safe place to stay handy to transport / Chinatown /okay the staff are sometimes grumpy/the rooms good budget accom /but what do you want in the middle of KL for under 100 Ringgit, This is a good solid budget hotel we will be back the price is right.
PS the lift is broken at the moment and so you might like to ask for a room on one of the lower floors .Should be fixed before Christmas also a bit noisy during the day owing to the work on the lift well

Room Tip: A front room on the lower floors theyb are bigger and have windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    24
    19
    2
    8
See reviews for
13
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Great hotel and staff the hotel is clean and in a good location excellent for china town. Wifi at the hotel, also on the first floor accommodation. They can order taxis for u at a fair price. They have a good knowledge of KL

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ade53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

never book, reserve or check-in in this hotel! service is worst! i checked-in here with my family, we are supposed to stay here for 5 nights, but we only stayed for 2 nights,
-WiFi? yes! on the lobby area only...
-tissue? toothbrush? soap? bottled water?? definitely no!!!
-room service? sad to say but a big NO!
-good service? they didn't even tidy our room!
-TV? oh yes! but you need to get up from your bed to change the channel, only 5 channels available
-air-con? hmm
-reception? they were so accommodating when we arrived and setting up our reservation, but after they received our payment? wow! a hell!

Room Tip: try and experience the worst hotel in Malaysia
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holiday_Package
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Sitiawan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I'm staying here for 1 nite, b'coz of my skul trip~Duno who choose tis hotel as our trip, all of our friends they stay wif bad moodn is a very bad experiences on it~Although thr location is quite good BUT the staff is RUDE...the price tat we discuss b4 is useless, at tat time the price is different~very bad trustworthy!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sense923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I had stayed here 3 times before and I went to Vietnam, I had prebooked my room for the 24th December and when I got in after my flight I was informed that the hotel was full. Service desk staff were rude and totally unhelpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NigelRodneyLeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
309 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I stayed here for 1 night last week for a layover in KL. Room was very clean and bedlinen spotless. However the shower was cold and the toilet seat was missing. i had wifi in my room with a reasonable connection and the location is suberb. the reception were very helpfull and supplied me with a map. The rate was £19/night

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qualitywork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombia, S.A.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Can't beat the location, for certain. A stone's throw from the Petaling Market.
As far as the hotel, kind of dumpy, could really use a painter's brush. A pretty good amount of hair on the floor says the cleaning wasn't all that good. The internet was spotty at best, constantly fading on and off line. After a long day of seeing the sights, I normally like to kick the shoes off and watch a bit of TV, however programming was pathetic - has about 4 or 5 channels, and of those only one is worth watching-sometimes. Walls, while looking solid, are paper-thin. When my neighbor talked, I could have sworn she was in my bathroom.

I found the no smoking sign on the wall kind of funny, as there was an ashtray about 2 feet from it. Makes no sense. AirCon worked great.
All in all, there are way better options in the area for 80 RM, I would look around before settling on this place. I am giving it 3 stars, but would rather give it 2.5, trip advisor doesn't give that option.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inspectorjavert70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
YY48 Hotel
YY48 Hotel
#174 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Winsin Hotel
Winsin Hotel
#132 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Hotel @ Bukit Bintang
My Hotel @ Bukit Bintang
#111 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#109 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Happy Holiday Hotel
Happy Holiday Hotel
#171 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Marque Hotel
The Marque Hotel
#129 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My City Hotel

Property: My City Hotel
Address: 118 120a Jalan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located at China Town, city center of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. A perfect place for traveling full of entertainment, food, shopping, etc. CITY HOTEL has full facilities of 3 star hotel, such as 24 hour customer service, HOT and COLD drinking water and shower, doorstep tour service, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your My City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing