We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The 5 Elements Hotel
Ranked #125 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with group of friends. Not good at all. Our rooms were dirty, showers were filthy. Decided to buy towels as we could not bring ourselves to use the hotel's stained towels. If we need extra key cards, we have to put down a deposit.TV remotes control not working. The staff was not interested to serve. Breakfast was basic. Not returning!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panajazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Location is close to the Monorail and it's adjacent to Petaling St. Many restaurants are in walking distance. 6 Ringit Taxi fare to Bukit Bintang and Kl Central. Rooms are better than the other hotels in the vicinity, breakfast is basic but adequate. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms from 10th fl to 14th fl have magnificent views of the Twin Towers and Telecom Tower.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 9 on each floor are a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanoman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stay here for a short night. The condition of the hotel was very bad. Room was dirty, there were dirty spots on the bed sheets and stains on the towel which made me feel very disgusting. The only good point is the location as it is at the centre of China Town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChorYin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was there for two nights. My friend booked via Agoda for nine of us. Apparently, we were told that they did not receive our booking from Agoda. However, they are willing to let us stay in the suite, which comes with two double beds and two single beds. Three more beds were added. We were given only one card key. As there were nine of us, we asked for extra card key to the room, but was rudely being rejected by staff. There are two toilets in the suite, but only one with shower facility. The TV remote control was not working. The hotel has a good location and offers free wifi. Will not go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonzales28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just stayed at this hotel yesterday. Great location if you want to be in chinatown. The room decor was tired but OK. 8th floor was nice and quiet, good wifi. Everything was great, if a bit over priced, except the bathroom. It was really disgusting. Not just old but filthy. Their cleaner need to get in there with some serious bleach. Don't buy at the Chinatown night markets. Very over priced even after haggling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wagtail_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed in Jan 2013, 4D3N. Plus points:Booked at Agoda at SGD 62 per room per night with breakfast inclusive. Room came with free wifi too. Booked 2 rooms and was given connecting rooms even though it wasnt requested. Room space was sufficient to walk around but bedsheet has stains on it. Minus points:Shower didnt came with heater, gotta let the shower runs for 10 mins before detecting warm water. Called the reception for assistance but to no avail. Breakfast was a letdown..same menu(sausages,scrambled eggs,baked beans,fried rice/bee hoon,white bread) everyday, and was disappointed in the supposedly to be hot beverages:lukewarm coffee/tea was what they offered.
Location was at the heart of chinatown of KL, local delicacies can be found there, but is not as cheap as expected. Will suggest to visit the Jalan Petaling street in the morning as well as there are many eateries available with different local cuisines.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lprisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

KL Chinatown is either a filthy tourist trap or the lively hub of the city, depending on your taste. If you don't want to walk out the door of your hotel into a cloud of charcoal smoke from a street vendor, you don't want to stay in Chinatown. For those who appreciate the atmosphere, the 5 elements is a wonderful air-conditioned oasis right in the middle of the action. The rooms are small and a little bit shabby, but everything was clean, air-conditioned, and bug-free. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and we had a nice time there.

For those who want a break from Chinatown, turn right out the door of the hotel, walk one block, and cross the street to your local Starbucks.

The hotel is a few blocks from KL Central Market. Just to the right of the front entrance of the market hall is a fantastic "local experience" cheap Muslim-Indian-Malaysian restaurant called Restoran Yusoof. Their signature dish -- if you can call it that -- is tissue roti, an upright roti cone covered in a sweetened condensed milk sauce sauce. Ask for it without the topping, or just have anything on the extensive Indian-Malaysian menu. Fabulous.

We have to recommend one other restaurant, in the Bukit Bintang international restaurant strip: Ciccio. It was the best pizza and pasta for the price we've had anywhere in the world. They actually make their own grissini, fresh from the oven! The pre-packaged desserts don't live up to the food, but the food and wine are top-quality.

A final note about Kuala Lumpur: most of the taxi drivers refuse to use their meters, even though the taxies say right on the door "metered taxi only -- haggling prohibited." The standard asking fare to anywhere in the city is 15 Ringgit. Most drivers will accept 10 Ringgit as a counter-offer. On the meter (if you can get them to use it) most places in the city are 7 Ringgit or less, so even at 10 Ringgit they're coming out ahead. There's no need to pay 15.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbabones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#54 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#123 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#53 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
#70 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lantern Hotel
Lantern Hotel
#93 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 5 Elements Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5 Elements Hotel

Address: Lot 243 Jalan Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £23 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 5 Elements Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 5 Elements Hotel - a uniquely themed boutique hotel in famed Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur that offers hotel rooms at affordable rates plus highly personalized service. No longer are tourists visiting Chinatown limited to just the budget hotels and travellers' inns here which offer guests the basics of accommodation. We honestly feel that hotel guests deserve not just affordability, but also comfort and security - plus that touch of the unusual which makes a stay truly memorable. Our aim is to make everyone who comes to our establishment say, "Hey, I found a really cool place to stay in KL!" Our boutique hotel is inspired by traditional Wu Xing (五行) philosophy - reinterpreted for the discerning modern traveller who seeks something beyond the ordinary. Here, water, wood, fire, earth and metal - the Five Elements essential for universal balance - set the theme for a contemporary, chic ambience and a refreshing service experience. At The 5 Elements Hotel, guests have the perfect gateway to discover the many charms of Kuala Lumpur's Chinatown and nearby Petaling Street. Your hotel room here is your oasis of calm amidst all the hustle and bustle. A place to rest and rebalance all the elements of mind, body and soul. Stay with us for a one-of-a-kind hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The 5 Elements Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing