We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room and close to public transport”
Review of Hotel Sentral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sentral
Ranked #105 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Large room and close to public transport”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed on 9th november for an early morning flight and got a good room at 9th. Receotionist was unfriendly and slow, but responsive. The door was not working and had to be repaired. My wife says hotel sentral is very good.

Room Tip: Hotel does not provide toothpaste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiskamangriyanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    631
    431
    126
    66
See reviews for
224
405
253
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Partly inspired by the reviews suggesting that the higher priced rooms are not worth it, I went for the cheapest option, and must have been given an upgrade for I found myself in a room with a window on the 4th floor (albeit single beds). There was a bit of noise until after midnight but it quietened down and had not started up again when I woke at around 9:00. I thought the room was great for the money, with a flatscreen TV (two channels in English), desk, coffee making facilities and so on. The room was spotless, but the grouting in the bathroom provides obvious challenges for absolute cleanliness - it was fine for my needs, but I'm a bloke!

The desk staff was all that could be expected, and cheerfully looked after my luggage on my last day in KL. When the overbridge to the monorail is finally finished, this hotel will be incredibly convenient for anyone using KL Sentral, as it is directly behind the monoril station.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

2 nights here on our way home...very reasonably priced and perfectly adequate. Room smallish for 2 but has everything you need.
Would use it as a shopping, transit hotel again.
Breakfast varied and plentiful, staff helpful, beds comfortable and rooms well air conditioned and quiet.
Not the best area in KL but plenty of shops and restaurants around.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I booked an Executive Room here. The website offered little clue as to what you get for paying the highest price here for a room, but this was a shocker. I stayed here over 3 years ago in a cheaper room - both rooms are exactly the same - the only different was that I was now on the 15th floor and 3 years on, the hotel is looking a bit dated already. The walls in my room were full of marks.
Take the following into consideration before you book here:
1 - dirty room and walls.
2 - disinterested staff.
3 - smoke coming through the recycled air con system (which isn't a single, fixed unit, but comes through the large vent in the ceiling near door).
4 - a lot of prostitutes in area and sleazy customers in the area
5 - for about an extra $30 from what I paid you could stay at Aloft, which is a completely different class of hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsets1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The rooms were good. But as we choose room without window, it was dark. The aircon was good. The rooms were neat and clean. They provide all amenities in the bathroom. For the price we choose, the room was good.
Wifi was good and even it was covered in the room. The location was near the Sentral station and very near to monorail station. There are plenty of indian restaurants and there is one vegeterian restaurant opposite the hotel.
The hotel provide a facility, which was very helpful for us. They allow us to keep the luggage at the hotel even after the check out time.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 661ramyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk from KL Sentral main station and exactly opposite the KL monorail station. The front desk is efficient and helpful. We arrived at about 08:00 hrs and were told room would be made available latest by 11:00 (as against the standard check-in time of 14:00 hours). The travel desk person was also a smiling helpful person. As we had planned out outing, we did not need his services. Knowing there is no business, he nevertheless answered our few doubts with a smile. The rooms are clean and reasonably spacious - even after an extra bed was put in (a big relief as compared to the Hong Kong hotel we stayed in which was really tiny - separate review on that). We were out most day so did not really use any of the hotel services. The room did have a complimentary coffee tray & water. Room had safe and good wifi connection. Breakfast was nice with options of standard international and local cuisine.. Check out was smooth & fast. Overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner (Deluxe) rooms are larger and there is reasonable moving space even after putting in a third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aneev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed from 10th to 12th nov 2013 when i am attending company event nearby. What can i say about this hotel.....

1. Good price when book via internet compared to their published rate (this time i'm using booking.com)
2. High speed internet connection (maybe less user during my surfing time, but i am very happy)
3. Located nearby monorail station & when the platform connecting KL Sentral to monorail project completed, u can easily went to KL Sentral.
4. Friendly staff.
5. 7E, CIMB, Public Bank and eating places all within walking distance.

Overall, i am happy with my stay....

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eddy412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
NU Hotel Sentral
NU Hotel Sentral
#85 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#63 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#90 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
My Hotel at KL Sentral
My Hotel at KL Sentral
#118 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sent...
#107 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral

Property: Hotel Sentral
Address: 30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sentral, a hotel owned by the Hotel Sentral (KL) Sdn. Bhd, aims to make a difference in ensuring comfortable, refreshing and value for money accommodation for travellers. The hotel enjoys a unique location on Jalan Thambypillai with the monorail station right on its doorstep providing quick access to various part of the major tourist spots such as Bukit Bintang, Time Square and Chinatown.Hotel Sentral houses 192 contemporary styled and designed rooms, of which 12 Executive Rooms occupies the Executive Floor on level 15. All the rooms are furnished with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, minibar, in room safe, IDD telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, Astro and local TV channels to ensure a relaxing and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing