We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel- average indian food, no indian tv channels”
Review of Hotel Sentral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sentral
Ranked #102 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel- average indian food, no indian tv channels”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

i stayed in this hotel during april 2014 in 14th floor.. check in process was quick and room was compact. good thing about this hotel is wifi connectivity. good signal strength inside the room. centralized ac is 25 -28 which is ok in the night time but not that great in the day time.. break fast menu is not suitable for vegetarians as the taste is very bad. saravana bhavan is at walkable distance to the hotel so we managed it. hotel restaurant closes by 7pm which is strange as we Indians think about the dinner after 8pm only. two half litre water bottles r given as complimentary for each room which is not sufficient in a humid environment like KL. no indian tv channels are shown in the tv which is not suitable for indians as u r totally cutoff from the home country..check out process was good. overall a budget hotel with good internet facility.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaiRockss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Sentral.
At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. We have taken note of your comments on dining and TV channels preference . Please be assured that this issue had been seriously attended to and we hope that you will be able to visit in the near future to evaluate us again.
Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage.
Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    629
    430
    123
    65
See reviews for
223
404
249
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights with family in 2 rooms and checked out KL Sentral area. Location is good for Kl Sentral. Rooms, amenities and breakfast are basic. Our day time was spent outside, sightseeing. So for washing, changing and sleeping, the room is ok. I think the carpet needs to be changed. :)
Not a bad stay.

Room Tip: Take the executive deluxe or corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.
We have taken note of your comments on the carpets condition and are delighted to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Sentral.
Hotel Sentral Kuala Lumpur is conveniently located less than 5 minute walk to KL Monorail station whereby is accessible to the major shopping malls such as NU Sentral, Times Square, Bintang Walk (one of the famous “walk” in KL) and The Twin Towers.
Thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of stay and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.
Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEBU
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We took an hour bus ride to Kuala Lumpur from KLIA2. No one knew where this hotel located when we got out of from KL Sentral. Most people around were unhelpful and speaks no english. We made it when a good samaritan told us a long route to go. Hotel is close to the MONORAIL and can be reached by walking to the adjacent mall passing by Starbucks from KL Sentral. A dirty and not-so safe alley beside the monorail and this hotel can be seen on plain sight. Room is clean and got some great rest. Location becomes good when you know how to get around. Train and monorail are the easiest mode of transportation going to Batu cave and Petronas Tower. Aircon, electricity worked well & bathroom is clean. If you are here just for a night then this room is ok. If you want luxury then go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Use KL Sentral for your transportation via rail to BATU CAVES, PETRONAS TOWER. Use bus to GENTING Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVEME2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Sentral.
Hotel Sentral Kuala Lumpur is conveniently located less than 5 minute walk to KL Monorail station whereby is accessible to the major shopping malls such as NU Sentral, Times Square, Bintang Walk (one of the famous “walk” in KL) and The Twin Towers.
We have taken notes on your comments on the surrounding area and will inform the local authorities for improvements.
Thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of stay and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.
Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Apart from good location and hotel, the front office staffs were quite rude, unwilling to help. I wanted to make a call to singapore from the hotel which i could not, even when approached the front office desk. The price is too high compared to the nearby hotels. Book this hotel if you have no other choice

Room Tip: Rooms above 5th floor will be good for viewing and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raj2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience during your stay recently. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and are very sorry that the services rendered were not up to your expectation.
We have taken note of your comments on the staff services.
Please be assured that the issues had been seriously attended to and we hope that you will be able to visit in the near future to evaluate us again.
Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage.
Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

SENTRAL HOTEL – ROOM 1104

My wife & I stayed at this hotel in mid December 2013. The journey from the KL LCC terminal was70 mins by coach. Upon arrival at Sentral station follow ‘mono rail’ signs out of bus station. At end of covered walkway, cross bus lane and then the main road and turn right towards mono rail station. Take the alleyway after the mono rail entrance and you will come out opposite the Sentral hotel. A covered bridge is under construction between the mono rail and main Sentral station. When this is built it will be a lot more direct (and drier if it’s raining) than the existing route.

Check – in was quick and easy. We were given a room on the 11th floor. Other people have commented on the lifts. There are two and are very busy. There may be a small wait to get a lift to or from your floor.

The room was quite small with no drawers, just shelves. The TV had few English language channels.

The bathroom had an excellent shower. There was an innovative use of the bathroom door which doubled as the shower door.

As we had arrived around 21.00 we decided to try the restaurant for food. We had the burgers which were OK but took a long time to arrive.

The hotel location in Sentral is very good for transport links to other parts of the city. However, the area itself is a bit run down and very Indian. If you like all things Indian you will feel very much at home, otherwise the station is where you will find more western food choices. Unfortunately, the Old Town coffee shop at the end of the road was being re-furbished during our stay so we couldn’t try it. However, if you cross the road at the corner of the Old Town coffee shop there is a very reasonably priced laundry in the YMCA building.

This hotel is suitable for budget travellers and has a great location for access to public transport. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveThePubsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to know that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Sentral.
At the same time, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. We have taken note of your comments on the time taken for your food to be served. Please be assured that this issue had been seriously attended to and we hope that you will be able to visit in the near future to evaluate us again.
We are please to inform that the access from KL Sentral to Hotel Sentral has greatly improved with the recent completion of the new NU Sentral Shopping complex.
Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage.
Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here for about 4 nights and I will most definitely come back and stay again. I had a corner room which out looked over the city which was fine. No problem with noise pollution. The room is a good size for either a single or couple to stay in. Very comfortable bed and very clean bathroom. A nice desk if you need to do any work on your laptop. A fridge to keep your drinks cool and there is a mini mart only a few steps away from the hotel. Not to mention that it is a stone throw away from Sentral Station so very handy to get to the airport.
Staff are very friendly and helpful at the front desk too and printed out my boarding pass at no extra charge which was wonderful. Room service food is very nice too. Drinks are expensive, but the food is reasonably priced for room service and of a high standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiDiverAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Sentral.
Hotel Sentral Kuala Lumpur is conveniently located less than 5 minute walk to KL Monorail station whereby is accessible to the major shopping malls such as NU Sentral, Times Square, Bintang Walk (one of the famous “walk” in KL) and The Twin Towers.
Thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of stay and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.
Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Me and my wife, happened to find this hotel by chance, Is located a KL sentral. We walk over to ask for a room with King Size bed.The Reception was polite and handled our check in efficiently. We stayed for 2 nights and had over breakfast at 5th floor. Food variety was good for the price we pay for. Hotel rooms was clean and comfortable.

Overall, the service was good and will definetely return if we happen to be in KL and recommend our friends.

Well done on the good work.

Simon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangkok042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrHSKL, Manager at Hotel Sentral, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Sentral.
Hotel Sentral Kuala Lumpur is conveniently located less than 5 minute walk to KL Monorail station whereby is accessible to the major shopping malls such as NU Sentral, Times Square, Bintang Walk (one of the famous “walk” in KL) and The Twin Towers.
Thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of stay and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.
Thank you and best regards.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
NU Hotel Sentral
NU Hotel Sentral
#86 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#64 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#92 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
My Hotel at KL Sentral
My Hotel at KL Sentral
#115 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sent...
#107 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral

Property: Hotel Sentral
Address: 30 Jalan Thambypillai | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sentral, a hotel owned by the Hotel Sentral (KL) Sdn. Bhd, aims to make a difference in ensuring comfortable, refreshing and value for money accommodation for travellers. The hotel enjoys a unique location on Jalan Thambypillai with the monorail station right on its doorstep providing quick access to various part of the major tourist spots such as Bukit Bintang, Time Square and Chinatown.Hotel Sentral houses 192 contemporary styled and designed rooms, of which 12 Executive Rooms occupies the Executive Floor on level 15. All the rooms are furnished with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, minibar, in room safe, IDD telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, Astro and local TV channels to ensure a relaxing and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing