We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just can't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #25 of 355 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2011

A very impressive hotel .. really excellent service and friendly staff, from the front desk to the waiters.
It gave the feeling of going back 60 years to the colonial times when time was not important, just the quality of life. Automatically upgraded when we arrived and had a room where the bathroom was almost as large as many bedrooms I've had in top hotels.
The breakfast was almost the best I've had in a hotel; only beaten by Sporthotel Gallasol on Madiera.
The price/quality just cannot be beaten at this hotel. I've no hesitation in recommending Royal Chulan to anyone visiting Kuala Lumpur. When we return it will DEFINITELY ne Royal Chulan.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,837 - 1,843 of 2,641 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2011

I had trouble checking in (slow) and checking out. For example, I was charged for 3 nights while staying for 2 nights. When this was pointed out to them, they apologized and corrected it, quite oblivious as to how this could be annoying. All staff are friendly and charming but the service is really poor. It took over an hour to get food delivered to my room (for order of sandwich,salad and cake - no cooked food). Piazza was not available even though it was on the menu. Tea was undrinkable! Took another hour and three calls to get the dirty plates taken away. It took over an hour and three calls to get my room made up (finally done at 13.00). By the way, I was staying in a suite with "boasts a butler service". Iheld a business meeting in my sitting room - hence the need to have the room clean and food ordered.The business center seemed to be unmanned whenever I needed it. I can go on but these are some of the highlights of my two-nighst experience. .

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank aqualoutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I came here when the hotel was brand new, so I can just say that it was one of the best hotel i've ever been to. Friendly staff, good service, good location, huge breakfast, nice room with direct access to' the pool! We ask for a restaurant and they suggested us one of the best restaurant we've been to' in Asia. Recommended

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We were very impressed with the attentiveness and professionalism of the staff. The hotel is well appointed with comfortable rooms - ours had a balcony which overlooked the indoor/outdoor restaurant.

The buffet breakfast was excellent and provided us with an amazing variety of choices for every taste - Western, Chinese, Indian, Malay. Dinner and High Tea were also very good. Drinks, however, were expensive, but that is to be expected in a hotel of this calibre.

We found the hotel to be very good value for the money and the location suited our needs - close to the Hop On Hop Off stop located next door at the Handicraft centre and a short walk to the monorail.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We (me and my friend) just came back from 6 nights staying at this hotel (11-17 March).
Check-in and Room:
After 9 hours flying there was not any offer of a drink, cold towel at the check-in.
First surprise happened when we stepped in the room: there was no mini bar! An empty big fridge was waiting for us!
Second surprise: there was no bathtub in 5-star hotel room! There was a big and empty bathroom that after 5 minutes shower got flooded.
Air conditioner was so noisy.
The bed and sleeping stuff was not bad but nothing special about them. The quality of shampoo, shower gel and moisturizer was very poor.
There was a microwave, sink and a cook top (actually a little kitchen) in our room that I don’t know what they were for.

Services and staff:
Staff are friendly specially doormen. Services are OK but sometimes you have to wait half hour for clean towel.

Location:
The location of hotel is good and near to shopping street Bukit Bintang and Pavilion Shopping Center where all the malls, restaurants & fast food places are. If you use the back door of hotel it took just 2 minutes to get to the Pavilion.

Breakfast was so great and there were lots of different types of food.

The pool area is very nice and good place to spend time.

The Telanga Bunga Spa is very lovely and I recommend to get massage there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahmood K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyaleChulanKL, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Greetings from The Royale Chulan! Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel.

First of all, allow me to apologise for the room condition that did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. I believe you were upgraded to a Studio room. We sincerely apologise for not informing you in a timelier manner, prior to your check-in.

I would also like to apologise for the discomfort you experienced with our shower and air-conditioning. Immediately after receiving your complaint we checked your particular room to detect the issues that you have raised and we also had maintenance staff check all room drainage systems and air ventilation ducts to verify blockages. So far we have found none, but assure you that we have doubled on the scheduled checks to make certain that your experience is not repeated thus to future guests.

We hope that you will decide stay with us again and allow us an opportunity to prove our dedication to our guests. Please do visit us again and evaluate our improvements.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This hotel is in Bukit Bintang and very close to the city centre with the Petronas towers and the shopping malls at a short walking distance. The monorail stations of Raja Chulan and Bukit Bintang are close too and are easily accessible on foot from here. We stayed in deluxe rooms which are on the lower floors from where you can see the top of petronas towers. The higher floors which house the club lounge have got good views of the petronas towers.

The hotel is a 5 star property and is maintained as one. The hotel has a grand and impressive lobby and the rooms are quite big in size, very clean with balconies some overlooking the pool. They have live music playing in the lobby in the evenings.

Check-in and checkout were smooth without any hassles though the smiles were missing. Did not use the room service so cannot really comment. WiFi was complimentary.

The location of the hotel made it quite convenient to go in and around the city using public transport and taxi in the nights.

We had got the rooms at discounted rates from Air Asia with our third night complimentary. I would highly recommend this hotel for a hassle free stay in KL in Bukit Bintang area.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daoutsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Just returned after a trip around Malaysia, and this hotel was, without doubt, the best we stayed in ( and , amazingly, the cheapest by a long way)

Can only agree with the other reviews that the hotel is wonderful. Large, clean rooms ( ours had a great view of the Petronas Towers), with very helpful staff. Breakfasts had such a huge variety of foods it was difficult knowing where to begin.

Would recommend this hotel to others without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel and Residences
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#27 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
4,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £59 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing