We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good big hotel but a bit out of the way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #21 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good big hotel but a bit out of the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is a good fancy hotel with a huge lobby and check in area. Room is big compared to most hotels and decently furnished. Breakfast buffet has a wide variety of food however if you were to go for breakfast late, most of the food will run out and most likely not replenished. Breakfast area is also very crowded most days. Basically this hotel is a good choice if you can get it at a promotional rate. Service staff is generally pleasant and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G0ldbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    782
    245
    70
    54
See reviews for
509
1,124
177
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for just two nights but really wish our stay was longer as this is a fantastic hotel. As soon as we arrived and walked through the amazing lobby we knew it was special. We were travelling with a party of four (two couples) and had booked two deluxe rooms with breakfast. On arrival one of the rooms was upgraded free as the hotel couldn't get us rooms together or on the same floor. We really weren't bothered about this and didn't ask for the upgrade but it was a welcome start to our stay. Both the rooms were identical inside however. Incredibly spacious, huge beds, great marble bathrooms. We were defintely impressed. The upgraded room had a balcony which led straight out to the spectacular pool. Our friends had a great room too with a brilliant view of the Petronas towers. (without an upgrade). Everything about this hotel was superb. We particularly loved its Malay-style. The building stands out from the other high-rise hotels that could be anywhere in the world. This hotel looks and feels authentic and Malaysian. Breakfast was brilliant, plenty of choice to suit all tastes and made to order options like omelettes. Staff were friendly and attentive. The location is spot on too with only a short walk to Bukit Bintang and a five minute taxi ride to the Petronas Towers. About 45 minute drive from LCCT airport. My favourite part of the hotel was definitely the pool area, with a fantastic view of the towers peeping out over the roof top. We were very excited about visiting the towers so the fact we had such a good view from our hotel too was great. Rooms were cleaned eveyday with new linen and towels if you wanted them and each day we saw staff shampooing carpets and cleaning lifts and corridors. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and should we visit KL again, we will defintely look up this hotel. We were sad to leave and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view room, the rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the pool from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katyeb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Was really impressed with the Hotel its location and helpful staff

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We travelled to this hotel with our friends, another couple and stayed here for two nights, sadly not longer! This hotel is definitely a five star hotel and worthy of its class!

The rooms....
The rooms are fantastic, we had a standard room and looked out at the front to see the Petronas Towers... what a view! Our friends received a free upgraded room, however the room itself was same size, the only difference being they had a balcony and pool view.
The rooms have everything you need in them and the beds are very large and comfy. The bathroom is big too and there are shutters between the bedroom and bathroom... a nice touch!

The food... We had paid for breakfast in the hotel and the selection was amazing, fruit, cereals, toast, pastries, meats, eggs, pancakes... lots and lots. I particularly enjoyed the made to order omlettes... yummy!

The facilities... The pool is another fab facility here, we had a chill out after a hectic morning in the afternoon and it is definitely worth a dip! There are various other facilities on offer in this hotel including a shop, spa and gym, we just didn't have time to use any of these!
The location of this hotel is also very good, very close to all the main attractions of KL.

The staff... All staff were friendly and helpful, even let our friends have a late check out at no extra cost!

All in all, this hotel is luxurious and very special indeed, all for a fantastic price. If return to KL, we would not hesitate to stay here again!
Thank you Royale Chulan for making our stay at Kuala Lumpur a fantastic experience!

Love Katie and Adam xxx

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you get there if you want a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_and_Ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Everything was perfect. Room was huge and clean, with comfortable bed. However, the breakfast spread was not as good as what I expected. Yes, there are a lot of choices, but not so tasty.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shuffyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I was here just recently in September 2011. Hotel is quite grand, facade is designed after the malay heritage "kampung" or villages so you can expect a lot of interior designs following suit - and if you know what Istana Hotel was like in its hey-days, you can probably guess what Royale Chulan is like - only brighter.

High ceiling at the lobby area, very grand decor and beautiful malay-inspired wood carvings everywhere. So that's pretty much the feel of the hotel. Corridors along the rooms are also very nicely carpeted and in "royal colours" - blue, white, yellow - but generally very warm. Hotel is located at an obscure corner, about 10 mins walk to the massively huge Pavillion mall and in between Bukit Bintang (shopping district) and KLCC Petronas Twin Towers. So location wise is quite OK.

Rooms - are large and the toilet is too - not very well lit but big enough for someone to practically live in there comfortably. I was on the Premier level so there was also a balcony facing the pool area.

Beds - Very hard beds. I had trouble sleeping on them. Felt like i was sleeping on a plank of wood all night so that's a small problem if you like big cushy beds. They're hard, so i should think some Koreans should like it :) (since they sleep on the floor, with only a few mattresses to cushion their rest.

Food - In-room dining is quite limited, but the choices are there. Not very expensive i should say, as they range between RM 10 to RM 80 for the obvious meals like main course and appetizers / desserts. Service came on time. But............. some minor problems. They got my orders wrong and was unable to return it because calls made to the operator / in-room dining was not answered despite numerous times calling. Food is waaaaaaaaaaaay too salty, both in-room dining and at breakfast. But spread during breakfast is quite large and awesome - but beware the salt!

What i wasn't particular pleased was the lack of service. Maybe it was just my luck - front office was not very friendly or attentive. I also had problems with my wi-fi connection in the room. I had to call 3 times to the operator before they send someone to check on the connectivity. So service is quite below average. Room decor is also quite tired and dated, as compared to other 4/5 stars hotel in KL, and i was surprised, since i heard its one of the few new establishment around the Golden Triangle.

Interesting Fact: Very "military-friendly" because its owned by some military big-wig here in Malaysia. So when you're here, you'll see lots of those events where military officials attend - courses, conferences, meetings etc. Very business-friendly hotel i might add, as i was here on business as well.

To sum it up: Royale Chulan is pretty good hotel in a decent location. Service is questionable, food is so-so, furniture could do with some sprucing up. But for the price, you're getting a generous deal.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool is pretty awesome because of the balcony. Ask for a King bed if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Teddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zilina, Slovakia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Why I rate most of hotels here with 4 or 5 points? I think, because I choose from hotels, they have minimum 80% here. Trip advisor is my best advisor for hotels choosing.
I found on hotel´s page action 3N for price of 2N. I took it and it was very good decision. It is one of best hotels ever I was there. Everything was said here before. Pavillion mall is 5 min walk - use the side entry - oposite to reception and go around back side of hotel to the cross with lights, KLCC, with Aquarium is 10 min walk - use cooled long area of Pavillion and Petronas towers 15 min walk - use tunnel from KLCC. Bukit Bintang station of MRT is 7 min walk. Realy good point to start explore the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miloslav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#22 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royale Chulan incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing