We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with 5-star service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #26 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Me and my wife enjoyed every day of our stay in this hotel. Beautiful Malay design of the hotel and very close location to Pavilion Mall. Hotel staff made our stay totally stress-free and convenient. Big buffet breakfast. Also value for money,considering room rate of $155 for 5-star hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tural M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. Really relaxing, great service. Management upgraded our room because I had a birthday, so nice suprise.
Nothing to complain about. Really good value for money.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meriliis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

First the good stuff: The hotel lobby is gorgeous! Big, full of light with water falls and wonderful staff. It really feels like you are walking into a full 5 star hotel. The breakfast is awesome, with a huge amount of choices. Highly recommended is the roti Chennai and sweet compotes. The hotel is located just a few blocks from a huge mall and from the air conditioned covered walkway that leads you right to the aquarium and towers.
Now the not-as-good stuff. The rooms are not really 5 star quality. Wile they sport huge and luxurious bathrooms, they furnishings are nothing to write home about. Very bland inside and they don't feeling homey at all. The hallways are also bland with pure white walls and no air conditioning. Hot and white, that is what you will feel as you leave the elevator. The pool is also not as big as you expect in an upscale KL hotel.
We got a great deal on this hotel, and for that deal I would come bak for sure. But if prices go up to around the prices of the Shang, or Hilton or Hyatt then I would probably go to one of those.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This is a way fancier hotel than the price led us to believe. Friendly staff greeted us into the spacious lobby adorned with impeccably polished floors and sweeping staircases. Our room was large and clean with an equally large balcony overlooking the pool with a view of the Petronas Towers. A short walk and we were at the mall with a ridiculously large food court. Since we opted for a room without breakfast, Jalan Alor with it's tasty food options (a 10 minute walk away) provided our breakfast as we would rather go local anyway. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Very high standard and quality, comparable to the Ritz, staff very friendly and helpful, nice malay restaurant, highly recommended, super value for money! They have a very nice swimming pool and a very good view of the petronas towers from the window.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samesame2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I have stayed in many hotels around KL, by myself, with friends and once with the whole family. I have stayed in the Chulan about half a dozen times.

This is a great hotel, it has a really nice ambiance, large open areas and rooms and the food is excellent.

The front office staff have always been attentive and professional but perhaps the house staff not quite as well trained in hospitality as the major 5 star chains however that is not a criticism.

The only issue I have ever had is with a staff in the gym who wears a handkerchief on his head, who comes out to watch me and makes obvious comments in Malay to the other staff, it is very rude and makes me feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The rooms are grand, with high ceilings and large bathrooms, and a really great deal for the price we paid. The breakfast buffet selection was one of the broadest I've ever seen, with everything from the usual eggs and pancakes to the more unusual noodles and sushi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ak312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#28 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel and Residences
2.4 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
4,412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#16 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £56 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing