We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff, excellent location and superb breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #22 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My family and I stayed at the Royale Chulan for one night at the end of our holiday, we wished that we had stayed longer.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and were adjoining (we are a family of 5).
The Reception and check in was very professional and slick and all the staff very friendly.
The view from our room of the petronas towers and telecom tower were fantastic.
We have stayed in KL before and if we went back would definitley choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine0468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,572)
There are newer reviews for Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 2,573 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

Three years ago we had been wowed by the large room, with what I often think of as a perfect hotel bathroom - a separate shower room, large bath with shutters into the main bedroom and a separate toilet and a wardrobe that can be opened from either the bedroom or bathroom....nice Nowadays the rooms are reflecting three years hard wear and tear, still nice but not quite the wow. One room had the cover to the telephone missing so we couldn't tell which nos to press to ring reception, another room, room service, one room had an alarm clock the other didn't, we agree it is annoying to ring the restaurant to ask for milk to go with the tea etc.

The staff on the front desk were helpful. Be careful to ask for a view of the Petronas Towers, be specific if non smoking is important to you, and be prepared to ask to move rooms, the standard of the rooms are variable these days - one we were offered had an iron burn on the carpet. The view over the pool is nice but one room we had was at the corner of the pool and nothing flash... Try to get a deal with breakfast included as it is huge and very nice. We found it was cheaper to book through an external booking site Agoda than direct with the hotel. Dealing with the hotel reservations department was arduous and non productive except when the hotel was fully booked, then they managed to find additional rooms.

The location of the hotel is superb, we used the surrounding shopping malls to eat and walked back from the Petronas Towers via the air conditioned walkway to Pavillion shopping mall. However we also ate in the hotel , had an amazing Malaysian meal at the hotel and enjoyed happy hour promotion drinks and nibbles in the bar....

The spa was ok, I wrote to the management about my experiences but they did not reply....

Would still have the Royal Chulan as a top choice in KL but be prepared to be picky about the room you are offered - maybe time Royal Chulan for a bit of a reno?

Room Tip: Be very specific, room with a view of Petronas towers
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and me are frequent travelers and we stay in hotels all over the world.
Unfortunately we have to say we had an experience opposite to the ones in the reviews. We had arranged an airport pickup with the hotel and it was confirmed, but we got there no one was waiting. We waited a while then we called them and they seemed to know nothing about the pick up and said they will call us back, but they didn’t! We called again and still nothing. After waiting about an hour, we managed to find transportation ourselves. As we got there and checked in (around 5pm), they said our room is not ready yet and is being cleaned so we had to wait another 15 minutes! They later sent us an apology letter for the pick up inconvenience.
The issues didn’t end there though. The first day, the room had everything, all the towels and robes etc. As we had it cleaned, they started cutting down on towels! Once leaving us no foot towel or hand towels, another time leaving us only shower towels only with nothing else! We didn’t bother calling the first 2-3 times thinking maybe housekeeping forgot or didn’t have enough towels the time they cleaned but this just kept happening. It actually got worse when we noticed that pillow cases hasn’t been changed for 5 days! We noticed the same stains on the pillowcases. We went to reception and asked that everything gets changed but when we got back the pillowcases were still the same! We went to reception again and as I was telling him about the issues, he only kept saying I will notify housekeeping he didn’t even bother listening. Finally that night we got the pillowcases changed after we baby sat the room and watched it happen!

I guess we were so unlucky since the two power outlets near the desk were broken and the shavers outlet didn’t work as well. We had only 1 working power outlet next to the bed. Also the lighting in the room was horrible when the sun is not out.

Lots of frustration happened in our 10 day stay definitely could’ve been better. With all these issues we can’t give them more than 2 stars

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Arcobaloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I'd chosen the Royale Chulan after reading a review that said it had colonial charm. However, we could not find anything colonial or charming about this hotel. It is huge and faceless. The restaurant and bars are cold and characterless. We looked at all the bars to see if we could find one that we wanted to have a drink in, but they are all the same, dark, drab and cold with no atmosphere. Our visit didn't start off well. Having specified in our booking that we wanted a no-smoking room, they put us on the smoking floor in a room that stank of old ashtrays. I had to complain and show our booking form in order to get moved to a no-smoking floor. The only upside to our stay there was a good view of the Petronas Towers from the little cafe outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

spent three nights in Royale Chulan - two rooms and paid only € 420 ! (3rd night free deal through odopo I think) breakfast not included. Were on second floor though - a bit dark and not much of a view... Bathroom separated from bedroom only by shutters (u can watch TV from your bath...) but felt it lacked a bit of privacy. Great pool ! Had breakfast once: amazing choice ! But a bit expensive by Malaysian standard... Will DEFINITELY come back !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0m2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have just spent three nights here. I found the service excellent although a little abrupt when we asked for some milk and were told to talk to room service. A minor thing amidst a great stay. All staff were courteous and helpful. We arrived around 10ish and were able to check straight in. A bonus when you are coming off an early morning flight arrival. We had been upgraded to a Club room on the 8th floor. Room was not overly huge, however, much bigger than a lot of other hotels. Amenities good, bed fantastic. The minibar list was missing which was a little annoying. Not because we use it but because we were unsure if the bottles of water near our coffee cups were complimentary. Try the Tiffin Hi Tea if it is still being served when you stay. Very reasonable and a lovely little taster of Malaysian food. At a cost of about $8 per person it is worth it.

Breakfast is terrific with a huge choice of food to cater for just about everyone. A great way to start your day.

Royale Chulan is very well situated. A walk to the Pavillon where one of the best food courts is situated. You can get a meal here for around $2. Also within walking distance to the Petronas Towers and Bukit Bintang area where you can hop on the monorail. Make sure you look out for the covered walkway from the Pavillon to the towers as it makes life a lot easier.

Avoid taxis from outside the hotel as they can be a little expensive. Take a short walk and hail one.

We were lucky enough to get a fantastic bed and breakfast rate to sweeten our stay. All in all a great experience.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank geniegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We returned to this hotel after staying in Langkawi. I requested a second floor room so we could be near the pool but was surprised when the porter said we were going up to our room in a different lift.When I opened the door I could not believe it we had been given an apartment with a huge lounge/diner and a lovely bedroom and bathroom. The Warasari restaurant where you have breakfast was very busy on Sunday morning as we came down a little later than usual but staff found us a table just outside the main are.The selection of food was so large I had trouble deciding whether to have Chinese, Malay,Indian or English even if it means chicken sausages. If you want a little night life and don't want to go far try the club in the hotel as it has live music.My husband always wants to come back to the Royale Chulan as he says the staff are so helpful and friendly I know that a couple of people have said otherwise but we have found that if you treat them with respect they wil give it back many times over.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbiejean52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,479 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £52 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing