We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulent but friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #22 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Opulent but friendly”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed three nights in this very comfortable hotel. The room was first class and the hotel lobby is splendid. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi wasn't working when we arrived in our room - which was not surprising as there was no router there. Within three minutes of my calling the front desk someone had returned my call and said the problem would be fixed within 30 minutes. Within 10 minutes there was a new router installed. Okay - maybe there should not have been a problem to start with - but a problem quickly and efficiently solved is not really a problem.

The room, bathroom and bed were large and comfortable. The inclusive breakfast was fantastic. Such choice!

We really enjoyed our stay there and wouldI definitely stay there if we're passing through KL again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Petronas towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    792
    250
    71
    54
See reviews for
515
1,136
177
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 11 days and the cleaning staff didn't change my bedding once, despite putting the sign asking for linen to be changed onto the bed daily after day 7. The rooms aren't kept very well and certainly not up to a five-star standard. They are a good size though.

As my room was at the side away from reception I rarely encountered staff in the hotel. Fine by me. The concierge staff were good and helpful.

The hotel is in a good location, close to Pavilion mall and others and close to the Expo and a nice walk to the Twin Towers with its mall and adjoining park.

I will soon be returning for a ten-day stay but don't expect anything to have changed. As the location is so close to where I'll be working it's the best choice for me.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jollyjollygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

a friend and i stayed at the Royale Chulan and we were presently surprised on how nice the hotel was. we knew it was a highly rated hotel and it did not disappoint. located only a short walk from all the major shopping areas, Royale Chulan is a massive hotel that has a traditional feel. the staff were all extremely helpful and couldn't have asked for better service.

the rooms were large and comfy. the bathroom was almost as large as the room! we had a great rate on the room and it was well worth the price..even more so. everything was clean and anything we requested was delivered promptly by the staff.

the pool was large and sat on top part of the hotel which gave a decent view of the skyline. the gym was okay, but didn't seem to find a treadmill that worked properly. we didn't have a chance to check out the spa, but i heard good things about it.

just a short stroll to all the restaurants and shopping in KL, the location is another perk of this hotel. would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone as the service and experience were great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themattkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We recently had a 3 night stay with the Royale Chulan, returning after 2 years, its service is first class and the hotel interior is very pleasing, we loved our stay yet again. Centrally located to the centre of KL, it is in a quiet (reasonabley) street within walking distance to the major shopping centres and eatries. It runs a free shuttle to the Twin Towers which you should ultilise to save on cab fares. We ate at the Harka, down the the street 800m on the right, it offers a wide range to choose from, but be warned we always seemed to over order, suggest sharing with extras. After dinner the Pavilion is just across the road, use the overhead bridge to cross.
So if you want bang for buck the Royale Chulan is a excellent choice, you definately wont be disappointed with what this hotel offers. I have recommended it to a friend who was also impressed, other guests were also commenting how nice it was. I highly recommend this hotel.
Check out the Craft shop just down the road (200m) it has some beautiful Malaysian wares at good prices, it is tax free and sponsored by the government, bonus.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a Deluxe previous with was very nice, this time we got up graded to a one bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My family and I stayed at the Royale Chulan for one night at the end of our holiday, we wished that we had stayed longer.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and were adjoining (we are a family of 5).
The Reception and check in was very professional and slick and all the staff very friendly.
The view from our room of the petronas towers and telecom tower were fantastic.
We have stayed in KL before and if we went back would definitley choose this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine0468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Three years ago we had been wowed by the large room, with what I often think of as a perfect hotel bathroom - a separate shower room, large bath with shutters into the main bedroom and a separate toilet and a wardrobe that can be opened from either the bedroom or bathroom....nice Nowadays the rooms are reflecting three years hard wear and tear, still nice but not quite the wow. One room had the cover to the telephone missing so we couldn't tell which nos to press to ring reception, another room, room service, one room had an alarm clock the other didn't, we agree it is annoying to ring the restaurant to ask for milk to go with the tea etc.

The staff on the front desk were helpful. Be careful to ask for a view of the Petronas Towers, be specific if non smoking is important to you, and be prepared to ask to move rooms, the standard of the rooms are variable these days - one we were offered had an iron burn on the carpet. The view over the pool is nice but one room we had was at the corner of the pool and nothing flash... Try to get a deal with breakfast included as it is huge and very nice. We found it was cheaper to book through an external booking site Agoda than direct with the hotel. Dealing with the hotel reservations department was arduous and non productive except when the hotel was fully booked, then they managed to find additional rooms.

The location of the hotel is superb, we used the surrounding shopping malls to eat and walked back from the Petronas Towers via the air conditioned walkway to Pavillion shopping mall. However we also ate in the hotel , had an amazing Malaysian meal at the hotel and enjoyed happy hour promotion drinks and nibbles in the bar....

The spa was ok, I wrote to the management about my experiences but they did not reply....

Would still have the Royal Chulan as a top choice in KL but be prepared to be picky about the room you are offered - maybe time Royal Chulan for a bit of a reno?

Room Tip: Be very specific, room with a view of Petronas towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and me are frequent travelers and we stay in hotels all over the world.
Unfortunately we have to say we had an experience opposite to the ones in the reviews. We had arranged an airport pickup with the hotel and it was confirmed, but we got there no one was waiting. We waited a while then we called them and they seemed to know nothing about the pick up and said they will call us back, but they didn’t! We called again and still nothing. After waiting about an hour, we managed to find transportation ourselves. As we got there and checked in (around 5pm), they said our room is not ready yet and is being cleaned so we had to wait another 15 minutes! They later sent us an apology letter for the pick up inconvenience.
The issues didn’t end there though. The first day, the room had everything, all the towels and robes etc. As we had it cleaned, they started cutting down on towels! Once leaving us no foot towel or hand towels, another time leaving us only shower towels only with nothing else! We didn’t bother calling the first 2-3 times thinking maybe housekeeping forgot or didn’t have enough towels the time they cleaned but this just kept happening. It actually got worse when we noticed that pillow cases hasn’t been changed for 5 days! We noticed the same stains on the pillowcases. We went to reception and asked that everything gets changed but when we got back the pillowcases were still the same! We went to reception again and as I was telling him about the issues, he only kept saying I will notify housekeeping he didn’t even bother listening. Finally that night we got the pillowcases changed after we baby sat the room and watched it happen!

I guess we were so unlucky since the two power outlets near the desk were broken and the shavers outlet didn’t work as well. We had only 1 working power outlet next to the bed. Also the lighting in the room was horrible when the sun is not out.

Lots of frustration happened in our 10 day stay definitely could’ve been better. With all these issues we can’t give them more than 2 stars

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Arcobaloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#21 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,562 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Property: Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing