We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms the highlight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #23 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Big rooms the highlight”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Impressive entrance and restaurant areas with water features and lots of plants, high ceilings and gleaming floor tiles. Rooms are very spacious with big bathrooms (separate shower and toilet which was great!) and huge lounge area off the bedroom which we hadn't expected but appreciated. Bathroom could have been a bit cleaner (a hair in the basin when we arrived!). Beds were comfortable. The service was less good and although staff were polite, it just lacked the edge. We waited ages for a drink on two separate occasions and actually left the pool bar area (having sat down at a table hoping for a drink) as the bar tender was too busy on his mobile phone to even notice we were there even though there was no-one else at all in the bar area. The pool itself was clean (lots of towels available) and a nice area except they were doing some kind of renovations so it was very noisy which was a pity as we were hoping to relax in deck chairs after a long flight. We tried the buffet breakfast one morning, which was not very good so we didn't eat in the hotel again (eg. omelettes made with very tired looking, uninspiring fillings). To be fair, there was a reasonable amount of choice but nothing we ate tasted that good. Easy to get a taxi from the hotel as there were always a few waiting. Reasonable value overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Melb22,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on The Royale Chulan. We welcome all feedback and comments as they are tools to further assist us to improve ourselves hence you can be rest assured, your review/comments are taken very seriously
We apologise on the lack of service that you received at the pool. Your comment has been shared with the team and corrective measurements have been instilled
I do hope that you will revisit us again soon and reevaluate our services and facilities so that we prove to you our dedication to provide impeccable service.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    809
    259
    73
    54
See reviews for
527
1,155
181
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Courbevoie, France
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband and i, with our 1 year old daughter stayed here for 10 nights in August 2013. The room is spacious with comfortable bed and a big bathroom but the services is beyond a 5-star hotel. We stayed most of the times in the room during the day as my husband is off to work. What annoying me most was when i put on a DO NOT disturbed signage, i still got a ring & phone calls from the Room Services. It often wakes my baby from her afternoon naps! I don't understand why they insist to clean even after i put on the signage if their cleaning services was poor. They didn't really wipes the table tops and replace a new glasses for us.
The hotel have a huge selection of breakfast buffet but its 99% the same thing every morning. Kinda boring. The location is so-so. You can still walked to get to Pavilion KL but be careful because the road is quite dark at night. Not planning on coming back here in the future.

Room Tip: Ours is facing the main street (in front the hotel) & we are able to have the view of KLCC. Quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Hazz H,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur..
First allow me to thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We take all comments very seriously so you can be rest assured; we are looking into the unfortunate incidents which have occurred to you during your stay with us. Allow me to also apologise on behalf of the management for the less than satisfied services and inconveniences that you encountered in your room which is not to the usual standard at The Royale Chulan.
We hope that you will give us a another opportunity to prove that we are still offering the best service in the city and allow us to prove our dedication to you.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Searched for a traditional Malaysian hotel and this came up as top choice. Comfortable rooms, true 5 star breakfast buffet with western and Malaysian favorites, good location and clean nice room. Only issue was not getting the concierge to find a "budget" taxi to airport. He warned it would take long but once I showed up downstairs, he never even called but lead me to taxis waiting outside which quoted me a higher rate than normal. Got the distinct impression concierge was colluding with taxi dispatcher outsider. A surprise given most good hotels would want to make sure their guests are not scammed. Maybe it's not in their control but no effort to try. Otherwise, a great place to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: a view of the mountains pretty good. exit from back of hotel for shortcut to malls and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYork-Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear NewYork-Bryan,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on The Royale Chulan. We welcome all feedback and comments as they are tools to further assist us to improve ourselves hence you can be rest assured, your review/comments are taken very seriously.
I apologise for the less-than-satisfied experience you had with us on the airport taxi. Your concerns raised have been discussed with the relevant department heads and steps for improvement in the areas mentioned by you are in place and have been implemented.
Again thank you for your feedback and we would certainly like to welcome you back one day for another chance and to make amends. Please let us know if we can assist you.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at The Royal Chulan. We have very high expectation for this hotel. The room was very big. Even the balcony is very big. The room were very clean. We have no complain for the rooms but the location is not so convenient for my older parents. The road towards Pavilion and Bukit Bintang is quite dark and scary at nights. So better be careful. Prefer staying in JW Marriott or The Wolo that were in the center of the attraction in Bukit Bintang.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank danny87ngu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Danny87ngu,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and making us your preferred choice during your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards.
With regards to your comments on the dark streets near the hotel area, there is actually an alternative way to the Pavilion & Bukit Bintang area which exits at the site entrance of the hotel. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope to be serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Royal Chulan. The last time, a few years ago, we perfect, however, it has aged somewhat and the room cleaning was not up to standard.

The hotel is almost perfectly located in KL, right next to the wonderful Pavilion shopping complex, and a short walk to Bukit Bintang and the KLCC.

Check-in was great and they even changed our rooms for the better upon request. In general the staff are very friendly and helpful and the service cannot be faulted.

We only had breakfast in the hotel. This is still really good, but not quite like it used to be. The choices are extensive for all cultures and the quality of the food is great. My one big issue was the shortage of particular items. When breakfast became busy there were issues with keeping certain goodies stocked, and there we queues for eggs and waffles. By the way, the waffles are out of this world good, but getting one was the challenge.

The rooms have become tired. This is mainly evident in the state of the carpets, which needed a good clean. We also came across stains on our sheets although the sheets were clearly laundered. The other thing was that the room cleaning was a little erratic. Dirty glasses and empty bottles we left on the table and the balcony was not cleaned/cleared when we had used it.

All in all still a good hotel and good value for money, just needs a bit of TLC.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Macowl

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are indeed very lucky to receive your feedback, so that we may quickly rectify any unwanted issues and ensures a repeat would not occur again.Your comments have been noted and brought to the attention of our department leaders who is on top of the matter. At the same time,we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast.

It is regretful to hear about your negative experience with us which if I may assure you is not the norm here at The Royale Chulan. We hope that you will find time to visit us again in order to re-evaluate our improved service standards


Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms (deluxe) are spacious with massive bathrooms. Their breakfast is amazing with a huge selection of various cuisines. Hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating. Hotel is close to pavilion shopping mall but you do have to cross a main road. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Monica T,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your stay and for kind words about our hotel. We are all delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur!

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Royale Chulan was a great experience. The lobby is very nice, however the carpet used in the hallways is quite outdated and doesn't match the rest of the hotel. The breakfast is very good, a huge amount of variety. The rooms are nice, some have a nice view, while others are not as nice (we booked 2 rooms). Staff are very helpful and friendly, always offering a hand. Overall, an enjoyable stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanna_Ayesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Sanna_Ayesha

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your positive feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur during your stay. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage of most of our ‘plus points’ and we hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#22 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,745 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#20 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Property: Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing