We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely room, comfy bed, and great staffs..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #22 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely room, comfy bed, and great staffs..”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed October 2013 for 3 nights. We occupied 2 connecting rooms on the 3rd floor, as we requested (with a view of Petronas Tower). That was a big room with huge king size bed. The other one was a twin bed that can accommodate 2 Asian size adult on each bed. The matress was so comfortable that makes it difficult for us to get up in the morning. Bathroom was spacious and divided accordingly, toiletries provided. Breakfast was just an average for me. Water in the swimming pool was regulated to warm temperature; we really enjoyed it. Only downside was it will close at 8 pm..
Located on a quiet street near to craft center. Very proximal to Pavillion Mall, 5-10 minutes walk. Lots of taxi waiting outside the hotel. Staffs were otherwise helpful and polite. Will stay again next time

Room Tip: Connecting rooms if you are a group of family or friends..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lui34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Lui34,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your positive feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur during your stay. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage of most of our ‘plus points’ and we hope that you and your family will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,346
    793
    250
    71
    54
See reviews for
515
1,137
177
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is our second time at Royale Chulan. We paid a very good rate as per before.
We arrived at midnight, the same as before and there was no bellboy to help us bring our luggage but that was fine. The staff at check-in was good and check-in was fast and effortless.
The lobby looked as grand as the last time.
We were upgraded to the apartment because the Premier rooms were all occupied.
The apartment was huge. When we first came in, I could smell cigarette but the smell disappeared after about an hour.
The kitchen was nice but the sink took a long time to drain the water.
The TV at the living area could be bigger.
But yes, the dining area and living room sofa are very comfy.
There is a huge balcony but there is no view and I'm fine with that though.
The bedroom is comfortable with a fan and aircon that works wonderfully.
There is a dressing area which pleases me because it's separated from the bed area.
The bathroom is fine but I really think they should do something about the doors - they make horribly loud sounds.
The breakfast was good with many variety but the staff were not as friendly as before.
The coffee was better than other hotels.
You can take a short cut to Pavillion by going via the back so it's convenient.
There are taxis at the hotel and the taxi drivers are superb. We came because of a Course we needed to attend at UTM on 2 days and we took the hotel taxi on both days.

I definitely will come back again and this is why :

On the 3rd day, early morning, I received news of the demise of my grandfather. We needed to book a flight asap and went down to the lobby at 3am. The ladies (one Indian and one Malay) told us the Business Centre was closed but let us use an office nearby. That is what I call wonderful service! When we told them we needed a cab earlier, they automatically ask us if we want them to get a breakfast box ready. That was certainly very considerate of them. We rejected their offer though. Check-out was totally effortless.

One word of advice though - The last time we came, it seems sparkling new but it seems to have aged a little now. I hope they will keep maintaining the hotel so that it wouldn't look aged so fast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_spinsterella_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear the_spinsterella_,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose our hotel while you were in Kuala Lumpur. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

After a long day of travel, it was lovely to be greeted so warmly by the gentlemen bellboys, who ushered us in and took care of our luggage. Indeed, I must add that every member of staff we came into contact with from this department throughout our stay was fantastic - in our opinion they are the best employees in the hotel and deserve recognition for their consistently consummate professionalism and friendliness.

Sadly, the positives ended here as we were then checked in by Ali, who seemed at pains to prove how bored he was by this process at every opportunity. We were given no information about the hotel or the area, and the few questions we asked were met with brusque, unclear responses; indeed, by the end of our check in, we were unsure whether our card had been charged; did not know where the lift was or when we could have breakfast the next day, all of which are fairly basic expectations. This left us with a very poor first impression, questioning the logic of putting someone who is so clearly uninterested in guests in such a focal position.

The room itself was acceptable though unremarkable, and somewhat tatty around the edges, with an incorrectly fitted toilet door which banged loudly when being closed and air con which was badly in need of upgrading. However, we were willing to put aside these minor issues.

Sadly, Ali's ineptitude then followed us into the second day, when we went to have our breakfast in The Royale Club (which we were paying a supplement for) and were told we had no access to it, or to put it more abruptly in the words of the waiter there, 'you have your breakfast downstairs'. Again, hardly a warm, luxury hotel experience. When we went downstairs to get a member of staff on reception to resolve the issue, once again the standard of customer service was very poor, with the gentleman initially insisting that we did not have Royale Club access until we produced our confirmation that clearly stated we did. After several phone calls and the involvement of another member of staff, this was resolved, with a cursory apology, and it became clear that Ali had not activated this membership on check in.

We would certainly not recommend paying additionally for the Club- even if you do get to actually use it without hassle! This is clearly something the management knows luxury hotels offer but they haven't spent the time actually investing in making it a positive additional for guests, as it is in similarly rated establishments. No staff member seemed very clear about what the membership included: after checking on their website we learnt we should have a fruit bowl on check in (which we did not have); a sofa, (which we did not have) and some complimentary laundry, which no one thought to mention until we enquired after it. Furthermore, the 'cocktail hour' actually involves sitting in a brightly lit room, where some bottles of alcohol and glasses are left out for you to help yourself; yes, in theory you could mix yourself a cocktail of rum, vodka and mediocre wine from their offerings, but it hardly feels like a luxury hotel experience! We only visited one night, preferring to pay for actual drinks and some ambience elsewhere.

Overall, for the rates charged, the hotel should be far better and the majority of staff on reception; in the Warison Cafe and the Royale Club certainly need additional training in professionalism, efficiency and cordiality. I'm sorry to say, we won't be rushing back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear DP,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur..
First allow me to thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We take all comments very seriously so you can be rest assured; we are looking into the unfortunate incidents which have occurred to you during your stay with us. Allow me to also apologise on behalf of the management for the less than satisfied services and inconveniences that you encountered with our service staff which is not to the usual standard at The Royale Chulan.
The respective departments have been notified of their flaws. All our associates have taken into accord that on top of warm and friendly service, proper attentiveness and time management is of utmost importance when serving our guests.
We hope that you will give us a another opportunity to prove that we are still offering the best service in the city and allow us to prove our dedication to you.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Royale Chulan is walking distance to Petronas Towers and shopping malls. This hotel has the aura of old Malay architecture but with modern touches and amenities. The room I stayed in is comfortable, big enough and I can see Petronas from my room. The buffet breakfast is quite varied from Malay to Chinese to continental. I will stay here with my family in my next trip to KL

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rtf_rockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear rtf_rockwell,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel and glad that you appreciate the Malaysian touches that we offer to our guests. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran Province, Iran
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Me & my husband stayed in hotel last summer.this hotel has nice view , comfortable & beautiful room & has a big restaurant. It's at city center near twin tower. Kuala Lumpur is very nice & beautiful city ,but weather of city is very hot with raining.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaaH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear MaaH86,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your stay and for kind words about our hotel. We are all delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the city of KL. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur!

Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Me and my wife choose this as our first stay for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. This is one of the best hotels I have been to, and situated in a good location. We also got an offer where we get one night free when we stay for two nights. We were there a bit early since our flight landed in the morning but were given a early check-in without any hazzle.

Pros
* Beautiful hotel
* Spacious comfortable rooms
* Staff very friendly
* Good location (near pavilion and walking distance to twin towers)
* A buffet with a large selection

Cons
*Our bathtub was leaking water but no big deal
* Views from the room are not that great

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iuphome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear iuphome,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur.
Thank you for making us your preferred choice for your honeymoon getaway during your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur.
We appreciate your feedback and comments. We hope you will find time to visit us again soon

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. The hotel is 5 mins walk to tge Pavillian mall and 10 mins walk to KLCC park. Our room have a nice view of the twin towers. The swimming is great for the afternoon while it is hot outside. The hotel charges 150MR to airport.

Helpful?
1 Thank Suli_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FSwoboda, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Suli _ Sydney,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. and enjoyed the attractions that are located nearby the hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#21 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Property: Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing