We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Melia Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impiana KLCC Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunway Putra Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,669)
Filter reviews
2,669 results
Traveller rating
1,411
843
278
78
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,411
843
278
78
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarisan caferoyale clubbukit bintangpetronas towersstar hotelpavilion mallbreakfast buffetpremier roomhuge bathroomrotihop on hop off busexcellent hotelfree upgrademin walkclub roomspacious roomnoodles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
987 - 992 of 2,669 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We got a free upgrade so my view may be biased. The room was huge and amazing. We got a free upgrade as our tv wasn't working in our original room. The staff did their best to send technicians immediately however they couldn't fix it so they upgraded us to a huge room, not that we needed the space.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank andyhill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear andyhill79,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for making us your preferred choice during your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur.
We would like apologise on the malfunction of the television in your room, but at the same time, we are glad that you enjoyed our spacious room.
We hope you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

So glad we stayed here. The hotel is really beautiful, our room was fantastic, great beds. It's in a great location, service excellent and the staff are very friendly.
We were here during the end of Ramadan and got to indulge in the food feasts after sunset. The craft and food market next door we were able to try authentic Malaysian food by locals, which is a must. The buffet breakfast is absolutely amazing!!! So many different foods to choose try. Great pool. You will love this place. Such value for the money. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with the breakfast included, you won't need to eat all day after it!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy6d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Sammy6d,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your positive feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur during your stay. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage of most of our ‘plus points’ and enjoyed the local delicacies served at our restaurants. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.


Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We loved our three day stay at the Royale Chulan hotel in Kuala Lumpur. The staff were all very friendly, our room was updated and clean. We especially loved the complimentary breakfast buffet; there were so many items to choose from, and such a variety of foods from different cultures. Perfect way to start the day without having to spend money :) The hotel location is perfect. It is a 5 minute walk from the Pavilion mall and Imbi market, and a 10 minute walk to the Petronas towers using the pedestrian skyway.
From the airport, plan to take the KLIA express train to KL Central station and then the hotel is approx a 10 minute taxi ride from there.
Overall excellent stay here, if we ever make it back to Kuala Lumpur we will definitely return to the Royale Chulan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Gillypat

Dear GillyPat,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good hotel with enormous corridors, rooms and especially bathrooms. Rooms are high spec and well maintained. Unfortunately the service from some staff is poor. I've had warmer reception at a petrol station compared to my almost mute check-in, and the concierge seemed both disorganised and inconvenienced by even simple requests. Breakfast buffet is large with average quality food. Outdoor pool, but no steam/sauna/jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DJH747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear DJH747,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on The Royale Chulan. We welcome all feedback and comments as they are tools to further assist us to improve ourselves hence you can be rest assured, your review/comments are taken very seriously.
I apologise for the less-than-satisfied experience you had with us. Your concerns raised have been discussed with the relevant department heads and steps for improvement in the areas mentioned by you are in place and have been implemented.
Again thank you for your feedback and we would certainly like to welcome you back one day for another chance and to make amends. Please let us know if we can assist you.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Royale Chulan twice during our 10 day trip to Malaysia. Twice we asked the hotel to arrange a taxi to the airport for us and each time we were told to pay the driver 150RM (from the airport we had previously paid 75RM and 100RM to get to the hotel). The second time the hotel told us they would call a taxi and it would take 10 minutes. After 20 minutes of waiting we went outside for a cigarette and noticed several unoccupied taxis. We asked them about this and were told not to use them as they'd already booked our taxi. It finally arrived after 30 minutes of waiting and the hotel staff said "pay the driver 150RM". When we got in the taxi the meter was already at 25RM (airport taxis can charge a surcharge of RM12 only). The driver also stopped to fill up petrol during the trip and left the metre ticking for 5 minutes which added up. Once we arrived at the airport the meter was still below 150RM, despite the drivers best efforts. The hotel bellboys clearly have arrangements with certain taxi drivers to rip tourists off and, I suspect, split the difference.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
9  Thank qwertymelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear qwertymelb,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking time off your busy schedule to review us on Tripadvisor.

We regret the shortcomings you experienced during your recent stay with us. We have taken your comments seriously and rest assured, we have conducted an investigation into the matter and have already taken measures to ensure that your experience will not be repeated.

We understand if you feel discouraged to visit us again however we can only sincerely hope that you will re-evaluate us again in order for us to prove our dedication to our guests.


Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews