We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #24 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel with a good location”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel location is good, near to shopping malls like Pavilion. Their breakfast was good as there were many choices to choose from.I stayed for 2
nights and enjoyed the hotel but it was not fantastic. I choose this hotel because of its location, rate and star rating. It was an acceptable hotel but don't feel it deserves the 5 star rating. The hotel's corridors and room doors are painted white as a result they are dirty and marked. The lock of the room's door is not functioning.

The room is large. But need renovation. The carpet is stained and on walls and door too. The furniture in the room looks old and may need renovation. Anyway, the bed is huge and comfortable.

The check in was good and fast. Swimming pool was good too but always crowded.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear June_law,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We always look forward to our guests feedback on a daily basis, positive and negative, and rest assured we are constantly taking measures to ensure improvements with regards to maintenance and the quality of our service.

Please come and visit us again and allow us an opportunity to prove our dedication to our guests.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    802
    259
    73
    54
See reviews for
525
1,150
180
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As soon as we checked in we were delighted to receive an upgraded room on the occasion of our honeymoon. The staff were very welcoming and gave lots of advice although there is it seems a push on selling their tours.

The room was large with a very comfortable large bed. We had a balcony overlooking a well maintained pool area. The pool was a very welcome addition and we did take advantage of it after long days out.

The bathroom is spaciouse with a bath and seperate shower. You can choose to open the area between the bathroom and bedroom if you wish and there was no problem with any of the facilities. Good shampoo and shower gel and a great shower,.

A good choice and only a 10 minute walk to the centre.

I hope this helps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam1111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear adam1111_11

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for staying at The Royale Chulan and on behalf of our team, may I say how grateful we are to hear of your positive experience in our hotel. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage of most of our ‘plus points’ and we hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We got a free upgrade so my view may be biased. The room was huge and amazing. We got a free upgrade as our tv wasn't working in our original room. The staff did their best to send technicians immediately however they couldn't fix it so they upgraded us to a huge room, not that we needed the space.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andyhill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear andyhill79,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for making us your preferred choice during your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur.
We would like apologise on the malfunction of the television in your room, but at the same time, we are glad that you enjoyed our spacious room.
We hope you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

So glad we stayed here. The hotel is really beautiful, our room was fantastic, great beds. It's in a great location, service excellent and the staff are very friendly.
We were here during the end of Ramadan and got to indulge in the food feasts after sunset. The craft and food market next door we were able to try authentic Malaysian food by locals, which is a must. The buffet breakfast is absolutely amazing!!! So many different foods to choose try. Great pool. You will love this place. Such value for the money. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with the breakfast included, you won't need to eat all day after it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy6d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Sammy6d,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your positive feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur during your stay. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage of most of our ‘plus points’ and enjoyed the local delicacies served at our restaurants. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.


Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We loved our three day stay at the Royale Chulan hotel in Kuala Lumpur. The staff were all very friendly, our room was updated and clean. We especially loved the complimentary breakfast buffet; there were so many items to choose from, and such a variety of foods from different cultures. Perfect way to start the day without having to spend money :) The hotel location is perfect. It is a 5 minute walk from the Pavilion mall and Imbi market, and a 10 minute walk to the Petronas towers using the pedestrian skyway.
From the airport, plan to take the KLIA express train to KL Central station and then the hotel is approx a 10 minute taxi ride from there.
Overall excellent stay here, if we ever make it back to Kuala Lumpur we will definitely return to the Royale Chulan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Gillypat

Dear GillyPat,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good hotel with enormous corridors, rooms and especially bathrooms. Rooms are high spec and well maintained. Unfortunately the service from some staff is poor. I've had warmer reception at a petrol station compared to my almost mute check-in, and the concierge seemed both disorganised and inconvenienced by even simple requests. Breakfast buffet is large with average quality food. Outdoor pool, but no steam/sauna/jacuzzi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJH747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear DJH747,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on The Royale Chulan. We welcome all feedback and comments as they are tools to further assist us to improve ourselves hence you can be rest assured, your review/comments are taken very seriously.
I apologise for the less-than-satisfied experience you had with us. Your concerns raised have been discussed with the relevant department heads and steps for improvement in the areas mentioned by you are in place and have been implemented.
Again thank you for your feedback and we would certainly like to welcome you back one day for another chance and to make amends. Please let us know if we can assist you.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Royale Chulan twice during our 10 day trip to Malaysia. Twice we asked the hotel to arrange a taxi to the airport for us and each time we were told to pay the driver 150RM (from the airport we had previously paid 75RM and 100RM to get to the hotel). The second time the hotel told us they would call a taxi and it would take 10 minutes. After 20 minutes of waiting we went outside for a cigarette and noticed several unoccupied taxis. We asked them about this and were told not to use them as they'd already booked our taxi. It finally arrived after 30 minutes of waiting and the hotel staff said "pay the driver 150RM". When we got in the taxi the meter was already at 25RM (airport taxis can charge a surcharge of RM12 only). The driver also stopped to fill up petrol during the trip and left the metre ticking for 5 minutes which added up. Once we arrived at the airport the meter was still below 150RM, despite the drivers best efforts. The hotel bellboys clearly have arrangements with certain taxi drivers to rip tourists off and, I suspect, split the difference.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank qwertymelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear qwertymelb,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking time off your busy schedule to review us on Tripadvisor.

We regret the shortcomings you experienced during your recent stay with us. We have taken your comments seriously and rest assured, we have conducted an investigation into the matter and have already taken measures to ensure that your experience will not be repeated.

We understand if you feel discouraged to visit us again however we can only sincerely hope that you will re-evaluate us again in order for us to prove our dedication to our guests.


Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#22 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
686 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#23 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Property: Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing