We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extraordinary experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #22 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Royale Chulan is truly one of the most beautiful hotels that I have stayed in, and I keep going back whenever I am in KL. From it's expansive lobby to it's wide variety of eateries it is a travellers delight. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful and you don't need an interpreter.
It is a great location as it is central to the best shopping areas. On your arrival in KL the simplest way to travel in comfort and to avoid stress after a long flight is a registered cab from the airport. The journey takes 45 minutes and the cost is around $30. But always make sure that when you come out of the airport you go to the cities registered taxi stand, otherwise you may end up paying a lot more than the usual fare.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Thefinns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Thefinns1,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for making us your preferred choice during your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur and glad to know that you had a memorable experience each time you stayed with us .
We appreciate your feedback and comments. We hope you will find time to visit us again and look forward to extend our usual Malaysian hospitality to you soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 2,590 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed 2 nights at the Royale Chulan as a stopover flying from Sydney to UK. It is a large hotel with the positives and negatives which come from that. It has its own Asian style which is a positive feature given that so many hotels could be located anywhere!

The rooms are generous/large with good facilities and air-conditioning. The staff were friendly, welcoming and always helpful. I did not use the restaurants. The pool is a good size and clean. The location is very convenient for shopping and the main sights. I had a really good experience and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jd135z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear jd135z,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Pro:
The rooms are spacious, clean and comfy. The aircon is quiet, works good and easy. The big shower is extremely relaxing. Comfy big beds.
The pool is clean and has a good view.
Breakfast buffet is amazingly big and nice. You get to choose between western and malay, indian, chinese things, nice fresh fruit.
The staff is friendly.
The location was perfect, not on a busy street, but close to Bintang road and the Petronas towers.

Contra:
The gym isn't much and quite old and cheap machines.
the bar is quite expensive and the service is extremly slow.
They don't know what drinks/liquors they've got on stock, neither understand what we ordered. Better go out for drinks.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabi4105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Fab4105,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on The Royale Chulan. We welcome all feedback and comments as they are tools to further assist us to improve ourselves hence you can be rest assured, your review/comments are taken very seriously.
We apologise on the unsatisfactory service that you experience at the bar . Your comment has been shared with the team and corrective measurements have been instilled.
I do hope that you will revisit us again soon and reevaluate our services and facilities so that we prove to you our dedication to provide impeccable service .

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel location is good, near to shopping malls like Pavilion. Their breakfast was good as there were many choices to choose from.I stayed for 2
nights and enjoyed the hotel but it was not fantastic. I choose this hotel because of its location, rate and star rating. It was an acceptable hotel but don't feel it deserves the 5 star rating. The hotel's corridors and room doors are painted white as a result they are dirty and marked. The lock of the room's door is not functioning.

The room is large. But need renovation. The carpet is stained and on walls and door too. The furniture in the room looks old and may need renovation. Anyway, the bed is huge and comfortable.

The check in was good and fast. Swimming pool was good too but always crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear June_law,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We always look forward to our guests feedback on a daily basis, positive and negative, and rest assured we are constantly taking measures to ensure improvements with regards to maintenance and the quality of our service.

Please come and visit us again and allow us an opportunity to prove our dedication to our guests.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As soon as we checked in we were delighted to receive an upgraded room on the occasion of our honeymoon. The staff were very welcoming and gave lots of advice although there is it seems a push on selling their tours.

The room was large with a very comfortable large bed. We had a balcony overlooking a well maintained pool area. The pool was a very welcome addition and we did take advantage of it after long days out.

The bathroom is spaciouse with a bath and seperate shower. You can choose to open the area between the bathroom and bedroom if you wish and there was no problem with any of the facilities. Good shampoo and shower gel and a great shower,.

A good choice and only a 10 minute walk to the centre.

I hope this helps.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam1111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear adam1111_11

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for staying at The Royale Chulan and on behalf of our team, may I say how grateful we are to hear of your positive experience in our hotel. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage of most of our ‘plus points’ and we hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We got a free upgrade so my view may be biased. The room was huge and amazing. We got a free upgrade as our tv wasn't working in our original room. The staff did their best to send technicians immediately however they couldn't fix it so they upgraded us to a huge room, not that we needed the space.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank andyhill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear andyhill79,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for making us your preferred choice during your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur.
We would like apologise on the malfunction of the television in your room, but at the same time, we are glad that you enjoyed our spacious room.
We hope you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

So glad we stayed here. The hotel is really beautiful, our room was fantastic, great beds. It's in a great location, service excellent and the staff are very friendly.
We were here during the end of Ramadan and got to indulge in the food feasts after sunset. The craft and food market next door we were able to try authentic Malaysian food by locals, which is a must. The buffet breakfast is absolutely amazing!!! So many different foods to choose try. Great pool. You will love this place. Such value for the money. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with the breakfast included, you won't need to eat all day after it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy6d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Sammy6d,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your positive feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur during your stay. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage of most of our ‘plus points’ and enjoyed the local delicacies served at our restaurants. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.


Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#21 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
3,893 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £55 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing