We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #25 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good stay...”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This hotel has a real grand entrance and the welcome we received was fantastic.

You can see the **Petronas Towers** from the front of the hotel and they are about 15-20mins walk away, but that can feel like a long time in the humidity of Malaysia... You can access the **malls** within 7-20mins walking depending on which ones you want to go to and the hotel pool area is very nice.

Normally, I would say the hotel rooms were dated, but they are very clever at the Chulan and the **'royal' touches** save this from being an issue, instead the rooms just feel classic and comfortable.

We got a taxi to **Jalan alor**- a must for street food and also lively bars/ restaurants and we also got a taxi to **Bijan restaurant** where we ate one night (recommended). Ask the hotel to confirm your taxi prices for you- they are more than happy to help.

We would recommend paying upfront from KL airport to the hotel and we also agreed a price on the way back to the airport with the help of the hotel staff.

The **hop on/off bus** goes from just 5mins out front of the hotel and the buffet breakfast was very good (live cooking and vast selection)!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_rsr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear lady_rsr5,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!
Thank you for staying at The Royale Chulan and on behalf of our team, may I say how grateful we are to hear of your positive experience in our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,351
    796
    257
    73
    54
See reviews for
519
1,144
178
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I went here for 2 days seminar.

The seminar room is standard and I like the coffee machine inside there.

The panorama view of this hotel from the street is sceneric. Its like a huge modern castle in the city.

The foods is really good. I enjoy the foods and there is variety of the food.

The lobby ia beautiful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Zakisarpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Zakisarpan,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur !

Thank you for making us your preferred choice during your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur.
We are happy to know that you like the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and comments. We hope you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our overall experience at this Hotel was fantastic.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our check in process was done very efficiently and quickly and even though we were told that our room would only be available at 3pm, we were given access to it at 12 noon. As I had fractured my ankle shortly before our visit, they gave us a room on the 2nd floor so that I was close to the swimming Pool and spa.
The breakfast on offer was certainly a feast which catered for all ethnic groups.
My husband was there for the International Toastmasters Convention at the KLCC which was within walking distance of the Hotel. Getting around was a little more difficult for me but we used the local taxis, which were reasonably priced.
We had dinner at the Hotel on 3 occasions, again great value for money and all meals were delicious.
I would certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Kuala Lumpur

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Barbara S,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review on us. We welcome all your feedback and comments. Thank you for the generally positive gestures and kind words. Glad to know you had a pleasant dining experience at our other specialty restaurants and tasted our award winning gastronomic fare.
We also would like to apologise on the slow speed of the WiFi network. Our IT team is currently fixing the network to make it a faster connection.
We hope that you will find time to visit Kuala Lumpur and evaluate us again as we constantly try to further improve our service and facilities.

Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here in August 2014 for 3 nights. We booked 3 rooms for us. Each room is really spacious. The bathroom is also huge. Although this hotel is not one of the newest, but it is still great (not dated). Our rooms had balcony overlooking pool at the back. The hotel lobby is huge and very nice. Parking shouldn't be a problem as the have parking space in the basement. The hotel is very close to Twin-tower (within a walking distance), but it still very quiet because there are not on the main road. The best thing about this hotel is its breakfast buffet. You have plenty of choices (India, Chinese, Malay, Western, Japanese etc.). A must if you book this hotel. Not all booking will include the breakfast buffet, so make sure you pay extra when you book this hotel to include the breakfast buffet. I think it is cheaper to include it during the booking than to pay for the buffet when you at the hotel. The only problem that we had during our stay was that the WiFi signal was very weak in our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LansingOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear LansingOmaha,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your positive feedback and for making us your preferred hotel in Kuala Lumpur during your stay. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had taken advantage and enjoyed our wide spread of Buffet Breakfast. Our Culinary team did their level best to satisfy appetites of all our guests. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed 5 days at this hotel. Was upgraded to deluxe room on arrival, a pleasant surprise. Room and bathroom was spacious. with separate bath and shower, and also separate toilet cubicle. Room has a balcony equipped with chairs and it was pleasant occasionally to sit outdoors. Room was equipped with in-room safe although placed on the carpet in the wardrobe which makes it a bit troublesome to get to. Room was clean and housekeeping was good with just a minor problem of a missing bathmat on one day.

The room I was given was next to the lift lobby but I need not have worried. Soundproofing was so good that throughout the stay I did not hear anything outside my room, despite the hotel being busy at that time. Sleep quality was good.

The greatest asset that the hotel has is its staff. Everyone was pleasant, helpful and friendly. We've stayed at Westin KL previously but we thought that the staff were much friendlier at the Royale and the overall atmosphere much better. Certainly the building architecture is beautiful and the hotel was well maintained

Breakfast was excellent with so much variety that after 5 days, there were still heaps that I have not tried! Breakfast was very busy with queues forming for all the cook to order dishes such as roti canai and eggs, but overall despite the crowd, there was sufficient food. Food was also replenished often The sambal and curries were good and the fresh fruit counter with its changing variety of fruits was ever popular. There were also some gluten free cakes and bakes. Staff were hardworking and busy, but remained polite and helpful when approached. Breakfast does end at 10.30am sharp, when all "hot" dishes are removed so do allocate enough time especially if you are after food that needs queuing.

Location wise, it is well located for shopping with the Bukit Bintang shopping strip and KLCC nearby. It is a 10 mins walk to Pavillion (and Jalan Bukit Bintang) and a 15 mins walk to KLCC Suriia. There used to be a shortcut from the hotel to Pavilion but I was told that it is closed due to construction work. Next door is a Craft Centre which is worth a look. There are great items for sale (eg Batik, paintings, metalcraft) and you can also spend a few hours doing silk painting etc that you can then take home. There are lots of eating places at the Bukit Bintang area, ranging from high end restaurants to the hawker stalls at Jalan Alor (about 15 mins walk). MRT (train) is currently being constructed along Jalan Bukit Bintang which caused traffic disruptions which also affects some parts of pedestrian access. If you are driving, the surrounding area does become a traffic nightmare in the evenings (after work) and especially if it rains.

Overall, a great hotel that I would happily return to.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoofyWoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear WoofyWoof,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honoured that you choose our hotel while you were in Kuala Lumpur. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me.

Yours sincerely,

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights, and found that it's really a good hotel to stay. The location is nearly perfect--in the city center, short walk to the shopping centre, 10 minutes walk to the Monorail station--the nearest one named Raja Chulan. You may see the twin tower by your window if your room is on the right side. The breakfast is also very nice. There are plenty of choices, both western style and eastern style. The room itself is spacious and well-decorated. The bed is comfortable, bathroom clean and large. The only thing was that we checked in in the mid-night, around 1 am, the staff seemed a little distracted, and no one showed us to our room. But it's nothing compared to the other services provided. In one word, it's a very good hotel to stay. Perfectly value for the money.
Our plane arrived at 10 pm. Take the KLIA Express--30 minutes from the airport to the KL Sentral. Then take a taxi, about 15-20 minutes to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elbereth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Elbereth7,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for making us your preferred choice during your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
At the same time, we would like to apologise on the minor hiccups during the checking in.
We appreciate your feedback and comments. We hope you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel and for the price great buffet breakfast and very close to main shopping district very easy to get around and the food close by is fantastic very easy to get around and see all the attractions and taxi service is very reasonable to get around

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ricko1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManager88, General Manager at Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Ricko1444,

Warm greetings from The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We constantly look forward to our guests’ feedback and comments in order to continuously improve our service standards. May I say that my team and I are very grateful to hear of your good experience in our hotel. We hope that you will find time to visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely

Dato' Franz Swoboda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
1.9 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#22 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#21 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
9,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur

Property: Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Address: 5 Jalan Conlay, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#20 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur incorporates contemporary services and facilities and features Malaysia's unique architecture. Guests have the opportunity to relax in one of the 402 rooms and suites or in any of the well-appointed serviced apartments and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing