We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasting money if you go during public holiday”
Review of Aquaria KLCC

Aquaria KLCC
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Kuala Lumpur Private Half-Day Family Tour of Nature, Birds and Butterflies
More Info
US$150.00*
and up
Top Ten Wonders of Kuala Lumpur Including Skybridge and Observation Deck of...
More Info
US$19.98*
and up
Kuala Lumpur Self-Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #16 of 286 things to do in Kuala Lumpur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the bustling "Golden Triangle" of Kuala Lumpur and within walking distance from the Petronas Twin Towers, Aquaria KLCC is a state-of-the-art oceanarium showcasing over 5,000 different exhibits of aquatic and land-bound creatures over a sprawling 60,000 square-foot space in the Concourse Level of the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Penang
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wasting money if you go during public holiday”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It was Saturday and it was public holiday, we spent almost 20 minutes in the queue just to purchase ticket. As Malaysia resident, we were getting a discounted ticket but yet not cheap. I so regret didn't decide not to go when queuing in the long queue buying ticket. Once get inside the aquarium, we started to regret. We were actually seeing people more than seeing fishes. It was so dangerous when we walking down the stairs around the tube aquarium as many people suddenly stopped to take photo. The worst part is when we trying to get through the oceanarium, many people get stuck and waited for around 10min. Due to over crowded people, the air conditioning function is not cold enough, I could see everyone sweating and complaining. After we were pushing through by the crowded and not enjoying at all, we found ourselves almost at the exit. Beside the exit elevator, there's a feedback box and a stack of feedback form. Great, I was going to give feedback and I picked up the feedback form. I found it was filled up, I thought visitors forgot to drop their feedback form so I picked up the second form, it was also filled. Then the third, forth and I flipped through all forms, they were all FILLED! What? Are they recycling the feedback form? Apparently they don't care about feedback, I was so angry. The entire tour took me 35min with overpriced ticket, I WILL NEVER come back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NeeNee_Cho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariaKLCC, Owner at Aquaria KLCC, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good Day NeeNee_Cho,

Your feedback is well noted. We appreciate that you took the time to let us know. Rest assured, while it may be crowded on weekends, we do have a crowd management system in place. Thank you for your patience and understanding during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,504
    1,722
    788
    140
    59
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine but busy”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Extremely busy and average aquarium - location in KLCC makes it convenient. Suggest going an hour or two before closing to avoid the crowds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariaKLCC, Owner at Aquaria KLCC, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Good Day Stephen M,

Thank you for choosing to visit us and for taking the time to review us. We hope you come by for a visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really good exhibits and kids had a blast”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I've seen the aquariums at Monterrey Bay (California, USA), San Diego, and a few others. I've got to say that this one was up there with the best. Exhibits were varied, and the best part of'course was getting onto the travellator which snakes under the large aquarium exhibit giving patrons a chance to get close to a variety of fishes (includes some beautiful ones with a healthy mix of sharks) and see the beauty in great detail. This was a fairly long ride (in a good way) and gave my family a sense of satisfaction after exiting.

This place was was over crowded (no surprise given the quality of the aquarium) with large crowds gathering in front of some of the key exhibits - such as feeding frenzy and otters. Also, the aquarium is setup as a one way. You get in and keep moving forward, with minimal possibility of returning to a previous exhibit (at least we couldn't find a way to get back to the beginning to see the piranha exhibit).

All in all, well worth the money and time spent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeNaInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariaKLCC, Owner at Aquaria KLCC, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi SeNaInCA,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we truly appreciate it. Thank you also for the great rating. We’re glad that you got a good impression during your visit and are pleased to hear that we could surprise you with something new to see. Do keep in touch with us at our Facebook page /AquariaKLCC. Hope to see you again in the future ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun for Kids”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Walking along Jalan Pinang, there are no directions given for Aquaria KLCC. We had to ask for directions right outside the Aquarium. It is housed in the basement of KL Convention Centre and we would have missed it had we not asked for directions. When we visited the Aquaria KLCC, it was about 5 O'clock. There was a pretty big Queue and as we came close to the Counter we figured we had missed most feeding times of the day. Thankfully there was the last one left (at 5:30) so we quickly bought our tickets, which incidentally are not cheap. FOr a group of 5 people that comprised of 2 Children, 2 Adults and 1 Senior Citizen we paid something like 210 RM. There is a discount for Senior Citizens throughout KL for various attractions so if you are one or are traveling with one, make sure you avail this discount.
Anyway, we hurried to the 2nd floor for the feeding which wasn't really a Live feeding because these Fish were in a Large tube like structure ( much like a science test tube, but huge) and there is a Tree trunk like structure around which the fish revolve and all we saw was that the fish circled and went up (to eat we assumed)...
But once past this disappointment we started to have fun. The lace is a treasure trove for young kids. They have useful information along with interesting variety of Fish. The best is saved for the last when you walk through an Aquarium and there are these Big Fish all around you (including Sharks, Rays, Turtles, etc.) and you get a pretty good look at them.
If you visit the aquarium, please make sure you time it to the feeding time you want to witness (there are feeding through the day, including one for the Sharks and another where a diver goes into the tank to feed some fish)
There is also an interactive area of the Aquarium where they allow you (and encourage you) to touch the Live Fish, including Sea Cucumber and Sting Rays
The Souvenir Shop on the way out is a killer (its quite over priced as they normally are around these attractions) but you can't say no to kids picking up cute penguins or squid pens

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PuneetGautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariaKLCC, Owner at Aquaria KLCC, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi PuneetGautam,

Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you had such a good experience with us. Please don’t hesistate to drop by and visit us when you are in Kuala Lumpur again. Do keep in touch with us at our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Aquarium :)”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Its a nice aquarium. You get to touch a few small fish at first (stingray, small shark, crab, ect) which is nice. Lots of nice fish around also.
I did the cage rage where u dive into a cage inside the aquarium. It was fun and the diver was very nice also! Only comment is they need to get a better washroom/changing area before/after going into the cage.

Helpful?
Thank Moe_Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariaKLCC, Owner at Aquaria KLCC, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Moe_Sara,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had such a memorable experience. Your recommendation is most appreciated and we hope to see you again in the near future but in the mean time, you can find us on Facebook to keep in touch and for updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aquaria KLCC also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Aquaria KLCC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing