We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“~ my new home in KL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Hub

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travel Hub
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“~ my new home in KL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Very happy to arrive safely after dark and be met by a kind smiling face. My room was clean and the bed comfortable, and thankfully with a reliable air-con. I stayed 2 nights as a stop over. Hearing the call to prayers outside the window was a treat. The shower and kitchen were basic but clean and functional. Situated in a great location 5 min walk to bus, train, monorail and night markets. The buildings in the area are old and difficult to maintain so don't expect modern sparkling luxury. The staff are efficient and quite adorable. I remember the youngest daughter singing and dancing as she cleans and paints freshly the walls. The place is kept neat and clean, with sweet homely decoration. The family touched my heart with their lovingness. Thank you so much .. <3 ..... I will be back !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    97
    47
    14
    14
See reviews for
8
51
129
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kl
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I've stayed in a lot of guest houses in KL, and so far this is one of the best. It's a family run business, and they're all really friendly and helpful. If you have any problems, they'll do whatever needs to be done to resolve the issue. The guesthouse gets a good cleaning every day, and most importantly, there aren't any bedbugs. There's coffee and tea 24 / 7, toast for breakfast, if you can get up that early, and a sink and fridge in the kitchen area. The location is perfect, hidden in a quite part of Chinatown, and as the name "Hub" implies, right in the middle of a triangle between 3 different metra lines (yellow, green and purple lines). The premises' are secure, you have to be buzzed in, so need to worry about non-guests wandering in and disappearing things. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The staff bend over backwards to make each and every person feel valued and important. Not to mention the fact that they run a very efficient place. While the place is definitely "budget" and meant for the budget traveler, it makes up for it in its location and staff. Moreover, the staff is more than happy to give all sorts of advice of where to go and what to see in KL.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

The staff were very friendly. When I checked in they had no reference of my booking, but managed to sort me out with a better room than I had booked for. It was obvious that the staff are there to help you out and not just take your dollar, which was great.

The bed was probably the noisiest thing I have ever slept on and the room was very basic, but there was free toast in the morning which was great. The shower was ok, and the toilets were clean.

I would recommend this for anyone stopping over in KL for a night or two, not any longer though!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Had a wonderfully comfortable and affordable stay here, but keep in mind it is budget accommodations!

The walls are paper thin so if you want to sleep in bring your earplugs. Also some rooms share air-conditioning through a hole in an adjoining wall, so if your neighbor falls asleep with his light on (as mine did) you get light in your room all night as well!

Despite all this had a fantastic stay, and would stay there again (just not the same room!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't "share" air conditioning with the room next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COWBOYSHOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I actually checked myself out of this guesthouse after seeing the room I had paid for in a couple of hours.

As per a previous negative comment, my room was a shoebox with shared air con with the room next to me (I.e you can hear every word the room next to u says) and this is not ideal for a light sleeper there is also no top sheet, and I can feel the springs through the thin mattress.

That being said, this is a BUDGET guesthouse, and after some research since this, KL is quite expensive for accommodation compared to other SE Asian cities so I believe that this guesthouse IS actually worth the money you pay for it. It does have free breakfast and wifi which are definately pluses and the family who the the guesthouse are just lovely!!!

If either of the things I mentioned above bother you, I would definately recommend spending an extra 10 ringgit or so for those little extra things. It will save you the disappointment, and save this lovely family who try very hard to make your stay a nice one, any unnecessary negative reviews from poor choice such as mine.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxxxi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

A simply wonderful place to stay for travellers. Located in Chinatown, just next to the famous Petaling Street, this place is run by a sweet Srilankan family and has all the basic necessities for a comfortable stay - aircon rooms (both single and dorms), pantry (with a basic free breakfast), wifi, TV, comfy couches, smoking room, 4 shower rooms, ever-clean interiors. This place is ideal for all kinds of travellers - the experienced world-travellers, young enthusiastic nomads looking for stop-overs, lazy bums looking for a place to chill out & relax, professionals who want to work while travelling - needless to say I got to meet one of each kind during my long stay.

What makes it different from any other travellers' hostel and more like a home is the nice, ever-smiling and caring family. And if you are lucky enough, you might even be treated to some tasty home cooked Srilankan food ! Please adopt me already !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZiggyHALman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#75 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#46 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.5 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 241 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#3 of 241 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#3 of 320 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 241 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Hub

Property: Travel Hub
Address: 5-1 Jalan Balai Polis | (Jalan Panggong), Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Hub 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Travel Hub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hub Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing