We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Quality hotel for a budget stay””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
D-Villa Residence Hotel
Ranked #157 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
““Quality hotel for a budget stay””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in KL for 3 days and it was absolute enjoyment staying at D Villa, it made our trip ended perfectly here. The pool was absolutely phenomenal, great view to KLCC etc and never crowded. Hotel is a little tired overall, but the staffs are VERY friendly. The restaurant was great and we never had to wait. Our room had a kitchen & kitchenette, we fully utilised for light cooking for our supper. The receptionist was superb friendly & helpful. Overall, we had a good sleep through all nights, just room with no wifi but with LAN cable provided, hot shower, LCD TV acceptable, hotel security good, we felt safe staying inside. We’d definitely recommend it to our friends & families.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaoYungBao87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    57
    40
    19
    16
See reviews for
56
16
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

When I booked this hotel, an other address was shown on Google maps than the actual location of the hotel where I stayed. Seemed there were 2 locations of D-villa, but during the booking process this wasn't shown clearly, please pay attention while booking. The hotel itself is old, but the people are friendly and the bed- and living room were spacious and okay, not bad, not good... The location Jalan Ampang is not very strategic, you have to take a cab to the city centre. If you're lucky they drive metered, but if not, you have to bargain for a reasonable price. I had breakfast included and that was not very great, it was average with toast and salades, rice and local dishes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LobkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. We will be taking the necessary steps to rectify your comments. We do hope that you will give the opportunity to redeem ourselves in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I booked through Booking.com which said I woulld have a studion with living area kitchenette and balcony. I got none of these and the hotel manager said they did not have those anymore. Time to take them off the website eh!
This hotel wants a total revamp
Bathroom half renovated and workmanship in this hotel is very poor.
TV choice very limited
Breakfast the worst I think I have had in 25 years of travelling.
There is no pool bar as stated in the guest directory
Staff were pleasant
Good location

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. We will be taking the necessary steps to rectify your comments. We do hope that you will give the opportunity to redeem ourselves in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I felt quite sad staying in this hotel as it felt to me like somewhere that was once quite stylish with a happy ambiance, but that has been neglected over the years. It could be so lovely: we stayed in a really spacious one bed apartment with loads of room; the view from our balcony was quite spectacular, looking directly as the Petronas Towers; there is a pool on the 6th floor which could be amazing; lovely old fashioned doors into the apartments, old fashioned but lovely lifts etc.

However, the furniture seems to be from the 1980s, the balcony and bedroom doors were falling off, there was a musty smell in the apartment, the pool had tissue paper floating all over it and there was only one sun lounger!!! There are signs all over the hotel which emphasise its age and neglect; for example, at the pool there is a sign for a BBQ area but there is none; also, there are meeting rooms everywhere with nothing in them...sad. I feel like I traveled back in time :(

I wish someone would take over this block and totally renovate it because it has such potential and its location is superb.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. We will be taking the necessary steps to rectify your comments. We do hope that you will give the opportunity to redeem ourselves in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

What is it with hotels in Malaysia? I've been to the country on 4 occasions and stayed in varying degrees of hotels - but the same common theme is that they are all out-dated. This place in particular was probably a decent hotel when it first opened, but it is in definite need of some refurbishments, a lick of paint and a visit from a handyman or two. I'll get the pros out of the way firstly. Location is decent, a 15-20 walk from KLCC and the Petronas Towers and a little bit shorter to the the Ampang Park subway stop which can take you anywhere. It's also the closest accommodation to the Thai Embassy, our main reason for visiting, which is just across the road. The view from our balcony was an impressive one of the city skyline. The pool on the 6th floor is also a welcomed addition, even if there was only one sun lounger.

Okay so now for the downsides, and they're not by any means major, but more of an overall running theme. Imagine staying onboard the Titanic...after it sank. Or the Overlook hotel in the Shining. It has that kind of feel to it. Like everything has been long forgotten or abandoned in some way. The pool area was rusty and dilapadated. The breakfast area is somewhat depressing and limited. Our room, a one bed apartment, was actually really quite spacious. But the sliding doors leading out to the balcony was actually falling off the hinges and wouldn't close properly. Also the 'sliding door' into the bedroom opened up more like the wing door of a DeLorean car (see pic). There were so many broken or dodgy fixtures and electrics that it wasn't worth complaining to staff, as it would take a week to fix and we were only staying for 2 nights.

I have stayed at plenty of worse hotels, its just that it had a miserable air about the place. If I could give it a 2.5 star rating I would, but I'm being kind by rounding it up to 3. For functional stays only, don't go here for any kind of luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. We will be taking the necessary steps to rectify your comments. We do hope that you will give the opportunity to redeem ourselves in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed at D-Villa for almost one week with our children. It is close to everything and we had a good view of the Petronas Towers, but on the street so it was quite noisy. The apartment was roomy and clean and great for families. The breakfast is simple but satisfactory. The pool is on the 6th floor and nice but no room round the outside to relax. Only a MR15 taxi ride to KLCC. Overall a a good option and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Toward Petronas towers but off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBowyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

4 adults and 1 child, we chose 2 bedroom suite facing twin tower with price of RM276+ 16% tax. Main bedroom has 1 queen bed, another room equipped with 2 single beds. BTW, only 1 bathroom. 4 towels, shampoos / soups / bath gels etc. Hot shower also hair dryer.

Flat screen tv, has kitchen but I didnt see any pot to cook. May be you should ask them to bring upstairs for you.

Swimming pool a bit small but clean at level 6. There's a gym also there, you have to ask permission at receptionist to open the lock for you.

Breakfast is great. Fried bihun, Fried rice, Porridge, mee-bihun-kuew tiaw soup, bread, variety foods, cakes. The cafe is small but still ok.

At night, you can try great roti canai at ground floor mamak. Less oil but crispy! Or you might want to walk to nearby AmpWalk shopping mall / Arabian restaurant named Wadi Hadramawt (Try their lamb mandy and lamb Arayes!)

p/s: You need an access key card to use the elevator from ground floor to upstairs.

Room Tip: I read few bad reviews of family suite (smelly sofa, air cond didnt work etc). Ask for Room 1101 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karipapsayur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.5 mi away
Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
#145 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Row Hotel Suites by Lanson Place
0.7 mi away
The ZON All Suites Residences
The ZON All Suites Residences
#158 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakwood Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur
Oakwood Hotel & Residence Kuala ...
#80 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crown Regency Serviced Suites
Crown Regency Serviced Suites
#107 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Signature Hotel & Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
The Signature Hotel & Serviced S...
#111 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D-Villa Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D-Villa Residence Hotel

Property: D-Villa Residence Hotel
Address: 225 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — D-Villa Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D-Villa Boutique Apartments, a modern picturesque structure in the heart of KL offers brand new Service Apartments opened in 2009, designed to meet the demands of today's business, yet enchants the leisure traveler with an atmosphere of warmth and homeliness with services and amenities for both business & leisure pursuits. You will definitely experience a warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your D-Villa Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d-Villa Boutique Apartments Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing