We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked for Proximity to Thai Embassy, Returning for Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
D-Villa Residence Hotel
Ranked #159 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Like most, I chose D-Villa Residence Hotel because of it's proximity to the Thai embassy and upon the recommendation of a colleague. I didn't realize when booking that there was an Indonesian national holiday that would delay my visa pick up by a day, extending my trip without a booking. Rather than take advantage of the situation and charge me the walk-in rate, D-Villa gave me nearly the same rate for the additional night and even upgraded my room. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Hotel to my friends and colleagues and will stay there next time I'm in KL.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank supadrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Public Relations Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for D-Villa Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have just returned,from a 2 night stay at the villa residence,having know about this hotel and it's proximity to the Thai consulate. And is within touching distance.
The rooms are clean and tidy and where adequate for my needs, a restaurant on site and a pizza palour.The staff where good and helpful overall a good choice, supermarkets and shops within walking distance, and a bar restaurant at another, i walked from ampamg park light railway station which takes 10 minutes,and you can connect from here all over the city,for your sight seeing requirements. Overall 9 out of 10 from me .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franktheshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Public Relations Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were three guys going to KL for the Moto GP so needed either 3 rooms or an apartment. D-Villa solved the problem with a 2 bedroom apartment which was fully self contained, very roomy and very clean. The furnishings were a little dated but clean & comfortable. The beds were extremely comfortable. There is a 24 hour front desk and the few times we needed something they were fast and efficient. The room came with breakfast included which was a great selection of local and western food. We stayed for 6 nights at a total cost of A$573 incl. breakfast for 3!
Great value. We were only a $3 cab fare from the Towers or Bin Tang Walk (BB Plaza)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Public Relations Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We, a family of 5 including children had a great time in KL. Since this was our first International holiday with kids, we were a bit concerned about the accommodation part. But we really did have a pleasant stay at D-Villa.

The D-Villa residence (known as Holiday Villa) is quite centrally located with easy access to public transport. We managed to find a luxury taxi guy at the LCCT airport who promptly dropped at the hotel for 80 MYR. The hotel staff were very friendly and gave us the room immediately, though there was an additional charge for early check-in. I then requested them to provide breakfast on the day of check-in, since we were to checkout early on the last day, which they immediately obliged to.
The rooms are pretty good, with a nice balcony. The kitchenette is okay but we did not use it much apart from the coffee maker and refrigerator.

One major irritant is that there was only one bathroom cum toilet, which is a problem especially in the mornings. The other stuff to improve is the breakfast menu. Though the spread is decent the menu never changed during our period of stay. Wish they improve on this.
The pizza place in the ground floor is very good. And they are pretty fast in delivering to the room. Apart from this we could not find any other restaurants at a walking distance.

We had to take an early morning flight on the day of departure and the staff on duty Mr.Alam took care of the cab booking at a reasonable price. He also took pains to arrange for the cab and payment with the agency even though his duty time was up. And we got a fabulous 12 seater at our disposal to reach the airport. The driver was very courteous and the drive to the airport concluded a great time we had in KL.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pradeep J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Public Relations Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear valued guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you your review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear than you had a pleasant stay with us despite the fact that our hotel only has one bathroom apartments and the breakfast menu. We took note of your complaints and has taken immediate action to improve our breakfast selection. We hope you will come again and give our breakfast another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We needed to go to the Thai embassy in Kuala Lumpur so decided to stay here because it was across the road. From the photos I saw online it looked quite good too. When we arrived (which was after check in time) our room wasn't ready. We waited an hour in the lobby and were then given a key to a room. We went up to the room and it was the most budget, filthy, smelly room I have ever been in. Totally disgusting. I asked them to just give us the room we had paid for because surely, this was not it. They asked us to wait in the room and when our room was ready they would phone us. So after two more hours of waiting, the room which we should have been given was cleaned and we were finally able to get into it. It was still dirty but thank goodness it didn't stink. It was still dirty though. The pillow cases looked like they had make up on them, in some places there looked like there was a years worth of dust built up. Two of the four towels looked like old towels you might use to dry a dog with. The shower only ran cold water. It also says there is free wifi, but it is only available in the dining area. There are so many things wrong with this place, it really needs to be renovated. It was the crappiest place I have ever stayed in and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't choose any
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Sir,

We are deeply sorry to hear that you had less than pleasant stay at
our hotel, D-Villa Residence Kuala Lumpur.

We took your complaint on the hotel's poor standard of cleanliness
very seriously and have tried to investigate your complaint based on
your Tripdadvisor review. Unfortunately there was not enough
information for us to proceed. Can you tell us what date you checked
in and if possible which room number so we that can identify the
housekeeping staff responsible.

Even though D-Villa Residence is not a new hotel, we tried our best to
provide comfortable and hospitable stay for our guests and being dirty
is simply not acceptable.

We sincerely hope that your visit to Malaysia is not marred by the
unfortunate experience at our hotel. We hope to change your mind
about us by giving you a one night complementary stay at your
convenience. Should you wish to take up this offer, please e-mail me
direct at shamsiah@holidaydvilla.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights in August while searching for an apartment nearby. I would not pay the price my company paid for this place as there are plenty of low-cost hotels that are fairly similar in quality. However, not pricey by western standards(100$/night) with breakfast. Great room with a nice view, small balcony and a decent kitchen with dishes. Had problems with our internet, so they moved us into a very large place with a huge bedroom, living room and nice, big bathroom. Internet guy was very helpful and ended up staying in contact with him as he helped us with apartment tips and his cell phone guy. Lot's of amenities in building, including a super nice barber and a delicious arabic stand with amazing falafel for 4.5rm. The breakfast was OK, but very similar noodles and chicken nuggets/hotdogs every morning. The street hawkers in the rear of the complex has great chicken curry and cheap roti canai. Nice roof top pool with a great view!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Public Relations Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment - the rooms were a good size as was the bathroom. We needed help setting the air con but the service man attended promptly.

House cleaning staff were helpful, but the reception staff were not friendly - this might just be due to language barriers.

Free wifi is available from the pizza bar if you buy something (in the foyer) or in the breakfast bar (located in the back of the building).

We had a massage (in the lobby there are little businesses) - reasonable price and not far to go.

We got a taxi easily to go to the KLCC but took a while getting one back to the hotel cos the drivers wanted bigger fares

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVillaResidence, Public Relations Manager at D-Villa Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing about it. We do hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Row Hotel Suites by Lanson Place
1.5 mi away
Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
Seri Bukit Ceylon Residences
#138 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
The ZON All Suites Residences
The ZON All Suites Residences
#174 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Signature Hotel & Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
The Signature Hotel & Serviced S...
#104 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#135 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
248 reviews
1.8 mi away
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
#119 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D-Villa Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D-Villa Residence Hotel

Address: 225 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £32 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — D-Villa Residence Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D-Villa Boutique Apartments, a modern picturesque structure in the heart of KL offers brand new Service Apartments opened in 2009, designed to meet the demands of today's business, yet enchants the leisure traveler with an atmosphere of warmth and homeliness with services and amenities for both business & leisure pursuits. You will definitely experience a warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your D-Villa Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d-Villa Boutique Apartments Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing