We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place, clean n comfortable”
Review of Hotel YY38

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel YY38
Ranked #76 of 351 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2012

nice price nice room with window. clean, simple, colorful... staffs are very helpful. very modern for 2STARS hotel. Location near bukit bintang. A little bit off road and road is 1way only so if you're really want to stop in front of the hotel by car, have to turn a little. But not quite a problem because the location is on the corner of the street. A little bit far from station.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

While I had read all mixed reviews in this chic and colourful hotel, I took my opportunity to experience it.
The room was clean and organised, filled with basic needs such as cool air-con, complimentary unlimited usage of wireless internet access, hot shower and a good night sleep after a long day ahead. Although there is no kettle in the room, there is a water dispenser located in the hall corridor. The hotel keycard needs to be scanned in the lift before it moves to the particular floor. On top of that, there are 2 buttons next to power switches in the room. 1 is Do Not Disturb while the other is Maid To Make Up The Room. There are a number of studio units which are suitable for a group of friends and family.
Staffs are helpful and knowledgeable. Complimentary car parking is provided for all in-house guests, however it is very limited.
The location is centralised - KK Mart is located next to the hotel and 7 Eleven is located in the junction (Tingkat Tong Shin). Food is not a problem at all as a burger stall is located in just opposite KK Mart, restaurants and bars are along the street and near to Jalan Alor & Jalan Bukit Bintang as well. Shopping??? Not an issue. It takes 5 minutes walk to the shopping haven in Jalan Bukit Bintang (Pavillion, Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sg Wang Plaza, BB Plaza).
Overall, I was quite satisfied with this hotel and recommend it to my friends and family. I will come and stay at this hotel again when I'm next in town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Jalan Sahabat (next to apartments) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaseysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is indeed a budget hotel which is pretty good for the price you pay.
I had a pink non-smoking room on the 5th floor with a double bed. My room was very clean and well organised compared to the space available. I felt like in a teenage room with my pink walls, curtains and lights :) Hot water shower which was great after nearly two months of cold showers in Indonesia. They provide towels and shower gel/shampoo. You have space to put your bags, a small desk with a mirror, air-co and even a TV with English channels. Free water refill in the corridor. I am quite surprised with the previous comments actually. I had a different experience. First of all it is only RM19 from the LCCT airport and they leave you in front of the hotel. Same thing on the way back when you leave the city.
Then the location, for me ideal as I knew already the neighborhood and wanted to have a lot of facilities at a walking distance. Just down the street you will find the Tropical Spa for great massages (facial+Thai and compress massages, 2hours for only RM110), several places to enjoy delicious local food (you can eat prawns and noodles for only RM6), shops, malls, cinema, post office etc etc.
And of course with such activities around well indeed at night it is a bit noisy however I did not need earplugs and well I also did not expect that such a huge city will be quiet at night. I slept like a baby until 10 am. Plus you have a do not disturb button as in the standard hotel. Check out is at noon but you can get an extension until 2pm for free. They ask for a deposit in cash of RM50 that you get back when you leave. They have a 24hours check in so it is pretty convenient when you arrive late or go out. The woman at the reception is the most professional one and speak a very good English.
Oh and of course you also have the metro station at 5 minutes walking.
I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Well if you are noise sensitive maybe ask for the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_Mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel was very budgeted hotel. The room was cleaned and changed towels everyday.
Location also good. Staffs were kind. Although little bit noised at night. Because 24hr outside restorants are next street.
If you are considering budget & location, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No durian allowed at hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

- This hotel was a nightmare. The sheets and pillowcases and hedreddon were smelly and dirty and with stains! The curtains, too! The towels were off-white; I mean not white anymore. If you're on a budget, still you and I can consider it. Just make sure the minute you enter the room that the sheets are not re-used. Sniff! Sniff! Sniff! Well, because in the second room where I stayed, it was not really that bad compared to the first one. Secondly, the walls were dirty. Thirdly, I was asked 200 MR deposit for the safety deposit key (office) which was refundable, though... Also, just a question: What's that filthy rug doing in the room? Please throw that away. Finally, there was no fridge in the room and no hand soap provided.

+ fast and free wi-fi; quiet place to stay; good location - close to Bukit Bintang, BB Plaza, Lot 10, Pavilion, etc.; helpful and accommodating staff; affordable room rates; hotel staff responded promptly to my requests; they were quick to answer the phone; they helped me find a taxi that agreed my price. The receptionist called a taxi for me. Thanks for that. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xhai Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I was very disappointed with this hotel. Gave it 2 stars for location and security at night. It's walking distance to Bukit Bintang shopping/eating area). At check-in the staff tried hard to give us smoking rooms. At our reservation, we requested non-smoking rooms. After a period of discussing if the hotel would be responsible for any of my health related issues, the staff finally gave us 2 non-smoking rooms. The rooms have basic minimum necessities. Stains are on the sheets. Towels with holes. Walls are dirty. No a/c in the hallway. Can only get wifi if you step out of the rooms (hallway or reception area). When I returned to KL, I spent a few more dollars to stay at Alpha Genesis Hotel across the street (a better choice if you can afford a few more dollars!)

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank BeaNPCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Pros
Nice & simple lobby
Good staff
Good security
Near to convenience store
Near to cheap food eg ramly burger & kedai mamak
Room is minimal
Near to durian stall

Cons
Hard to find the area
Abit far from bkt bintang area
Very dark alley/passageway to the hotel
Dirty bed sheet
Small room
Black stain in toilet


Overall a good cheap hotel. U get what u pay

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NurainZolkiple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
D'or Hotel
D'or Hotel
#208 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.7 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,025 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
7,284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel YY38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel YY38

Address: No. 38, Tengkat Tong Shin | Off Jalan Bukit Bintang,, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £17 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel YY38 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel YY38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing