We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel in KL's Little India”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #107 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here early last year with 2 other friends. It was recommended by a Travel Agency in Manila and the value was surprisingly pretty cheap given its location. For its value, it is a decent budget hotel. We were concerned about the location for reasons that it was our first time in KL and that the area can get pretty busy and crowded, specially on early mornings, nights and weekends. The hotel is located in Little India and if you're into bazaars and markets, then this is the place for you. It's just walking distance from the train station and it's easy to get a cab, just few minutes from KLCC. Just get a cab along the main roads as the alleys could get very congested from trucks and people.

The hotel and rooms are average, the cleanliness is just acceptable as it totally lacks some amenities or perks, it was just simple. The staff was accommodating and helpful when needed for example, there was this night or probably too early in the morning, there were some noisy guests outside our room fixing their stuff from one room to the other, it was awful, doors were banging and people shouting with no consideration for other guests sleeping. We had to call the reception at least 3 times and they intervened at least couple of times just to make them stop and checked on us after if we were ok. They were able to resolve it so it was ok.

If you're on a budget and wants a hotel with a good location then I can recommend Starpoints Hotel.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe/Corner Room, it's more spacious and can fit at least 3 people comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Myca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

At first please accept our humble appreciation to your genorosity in review us..Thanks for remembering us even after 1 year from stay..

Thanks for encouraging us with good comments. I would suggest you to visit one more time, as we have made lot of improvements in service standard since last year..for instance entire hotel is now WIFI equipped, where as last year we have only LAN network..

hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is my second stay at the StarPoints. I came back because it is a friendly, clean, new hotel, for a reasonable price, in a location I like. Next time in KL I shall stay here. The rooftop restaurant is a pleasant place for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noosa_4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thanks for motivating comments, we appreciate your repeated patronazing of our hotel. We promise keep up our service level and keep pampering you to stay with us, every time you visit KL..

Kindly refer us to your friends and family visiting KL..

see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Front office staff are friendly and really helpful. Hotel location is around 10 minutes away from Masjid Jamek LRT station and very malay and indian food stall scattered around the vicinity which is convenient.

Room cleanness overall acceptable but lack of amenities like bath map and shower cap which i think it should has. As i traveled by car, the traffic along alley towards the hotel car park are very congested during day time due to many truck offload the goods at Hanifa shopping center. Limited car park space as some space "rented" to some of the government officer during day time.

P/S: As reminder, if you walk along the street, please take extra precaution especially your head as the birds' dropping on top of the tree expecting anytime anytime...:)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveChoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thanks for staying & glad with your comments. You inspired us to serve better. Be assured, we will keep our service standards & hotel maintenance to your level of expectation & try always to exceed!

Please note that hotel has 5+2 cars parking right in front of hotel, where you can alight your luggage, check in and request for security to assist you reach hotel main (basement) parking, where hotel has another 36 parking slots!

Please refer us to your family & friends visiting KL and hope to you see you again

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

When u enter in to Malaysia from India,u feel like home away from home,in Malaysia which is very clean,disciplined and beautiful
Star point hotel is very good place to stay,buzzing with activities
Star attractions nearby this hotel only
Staff was very lovely n smiley
We met smiley staff from hoshiarpur,Punjab
Room was labelled as superior but too small,we couldn't keep even our bags

But otherwise stay was pleasent

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanjay26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for Great review and motivating us..

I Guess you would have stayed in smallest room among supeior or more family members, otherwise our superior room size (average) being 220 to 250 Sqf, we have most spacious rooms in our category of hotels (3star) & best in our area!

Please try our Deluxe room, if you love to have better space..note that we are offering Deluxe room at slightly higher price from Superior

Thanks for staying with us & wish to see you soon again

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here on 29th and 30th of December 2013.
Goodthings:
Front office staff were good and helpful. Room AC was good. Very close to Saravana Bhavan Restaurant and Tamil movies cinema hall. Very close to all shopping are including Hanifa and Sogo. A variety of good breakfast serving Dosa Sambar Coconut chutney or Omlettee in additionl to the continental stuff - bread cornflakes etc. Room and beds were clean and good no complaints. The room had a good locker system which was very useful.
Bad Things:
The locality is very bad in terms of crowd and safety aspect though you do not feel inside the hotel. The internet is expensive and very bad in the rooms do not buy internet its not worth. the reception staff are indifferent to the guest and in replenishing the empty food containers. The one in the Breakfast was rigid and did not even smile back after i smiled at him. The toilet was too small and stinks most of the time. The Toleterries were kept only for one person even though there were 3 of us. The Lift is very bad in terms of frequncy and also only one room there for floor 6 to 14. Maintenance being done during peak new year time. surprising this.
Overall the staff are making efforts but not able to give more than 2 star for this international 3 star as they call.
Though I want to give a over all bad, the pluses are so good that the bad things can be forgotten.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at higher level as much as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ravishankar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Valued guest,

Thanks for staying with us and valuable time in reviewing us

Thanks for liking Fo & services and we are sorry for inconvenience in few areas. We have noted & implemented needful improvements in areas highlighted

Be assure of improved service from you next visit..Please keep patronazing us

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is the first hotel I have stayed in Malaysia.
Pros:-
Location is good.
Staff is very helpful n cooperative.
Rooms are clean n tidy.

Cons:-
Drainage system in the wash basin not good. It was clogging every-time I used it.

Overall, a nice place to stay as it is in the heart of Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sachugala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and liking our room, location, staff..We apologize for inconvenience with wash basin..being hotel just opened in 2010, we rarely have maintenance issues, neverthless we look into clogging complaint & assure to fix it..

Keep stayin with us everytime you visit KL and please refer us to your friends & circle..

Thanks once again for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Im still in the hotel as I write this review. Booked for 3 nights stay. Currently stayed for 1 night. Might plan to change for another hotel if I can get a refund. My experience is such:
1. Arrived late at hotel around 10pm. Hotel still has car park available.
2. The staff were friendly, seeing that I have many luggages and a infant, assisted us with the luggages.
3. Checked into the room,( we got a superior room) found that the room has really small
4. Wanted to take a shower, ,found out that no bath towels. Called reception and a towel was sent 30 mins later
5. When towel arrived, my wife showered first, realised that there was no floor mat. After showering, there was no place to dry your feet.
6. Call reception again on floor mat, they did not send. Had to go to reception to ask them to send.
7. Finally my turn to shower, what the hell, there was no shower gel. The shower gel was not refilled.
8. The water pressure is not constant, and the temperature is not constant. Water sometimes too hot or not hot.
9. Wanted to use the Internet, did a speed test, it was going at 50kb. I remember the dial up I used 15 years ago was at least 56kb.
10. Overall , all I can say is other then the staff that are nice, the rest is a major disappointment. Doesn't feel like a 3 star hotel standard. Might as well go to a 2 star hotel nearby if all u want is a bed to slp on.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joetan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAGANNADHA SAST... K, Front Office Manager at StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Thanks for your time & review. We appreciate your feed back & promise to improve on areas with objection & thankful for good comments on our staff effort..

I guess you have written this review before we met..just clarifying for our future guests info..You have booked Superior & requested for upgrade to Deluxe on day 1 & 2 and couldn't be entertained as hotel running full..As you agree, room type you have booked carries limited amenities being economy type room

You didn't mention, upon your request you were changed to higher floor, better room next day. Also you miss to mention, that hotel allowed you to check out with refund (you have booked non-refundable, free night stay offer!), just because you decided to check out if upgrade cannot be offerred!

Thanks for feed back and we assure you to improve on areas you suggested..hope you consider our sincerere efforts and continue to patronaze us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
#211 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Frenz Hotel
Frenz Hotel
#161 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Campbell Hotel
Grand Campbell Hotel
#154 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#244 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Medan Tuanku
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur - Me...
#115 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Orchard
Hotel Grand Orchard
#159 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 149 Jalan Masjid Ind, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £17 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
StarPoints Hotel in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Reserve now and get instant confirmation online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Zenrooms, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing